Skip to main content
Have a question about the Catalog?
Need a book not at Dana?
If a book that you need is not available (not owned/checked out) at the Dana Library, but is available from another Rutgers Library, you can request delivery of that book to Dana by bringing up the record for the book in the Catalog and clicking on the Book Delivery/Recall button. Show Me
Book not at Rutgers?
The fastest way to get a copy of a book that is not owned or not available (checked out/on Reserve/missing etc.) at
the Rutgers Libraries is to request it through E-Z Borrow. E-Z Borrow books are normally received within about five working days.
Tell Me More
If a book is not owned by the Rutgers Libraries and is not available via E-Z Borrow, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request.
Tell Me More
Need published collections of primary source materials?
Search the Rutgers Catalog (and other library catalogs) using the subject keywords and the word "sources." For example
or a keyword search "and sources."
fannie lou hamer and sources
You can also modify your subject search with the keywords: "archives," "correspondence," "diaries," "interviews," "personal narratives," or "memoirs."
- Newark Law
- Camden Law
- Rutgers Law library materials are not listed in the Rutgers Library Catalog. So if your topic is in some way law-related, be sure and use the Law library catalogs.
- Newark Public Library Catalog
- The Library's New Jersey Information Center
has a wealth of materials on New Jersey, Essex County, and Newark.
Anyone who lives, works, attends school, or owns property in the City
of Newark is entitled to a free Newark Public Library card. The Library
Catalog also includes the holdings of the Newark Museum and the New
Jersey Historical Society.
- New Jersey Historical Society.
- The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark
has a rich collection of archival and other materials relating to the
political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey.
Their book holdings are included in the Newark Public Library Catalog; you can also browse the Finding Aids to
NJHS collections. Note:
Due to severe funding issues, the New Jersey Historical Society Library
is currently open 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday
by appointment only.
- The New York Public Library
- One of the great research libraries of the world with some 45 million items
in its collections. The catalog includes materials from the Schomburg
Center for Research in Black Culture, as well as the New York Public
Library for the Performing Arts (Lincoln Center).
- Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- Catalog of the New York Public research library "devoted to
collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting
the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world."
The Schomburg Center contains over 5,000,000 items held in five
divisions: Art and Artifacts Division, General Research and Reference
Division, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, Moving Image
and Recorded Sound Division, and Photographs and Prints Division. [Note: When beginning a search session, select "Schomburg Center"
from the pull-down menu on the right.] The Schomburg is in the process of making many of its resources available in the NYPL Digital Gallery.
- Center for Research Libraries
- CRL is consortium of North American university and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents,
foreign dissertations, archives, and other expensive or hard to find materials. As Rutgers is a CRL member, these materials are considered part of Rutgers' collections and can be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan. In addition to
the materials listed in their catalog, CRL also supports and provides access to special collections such as ethnic and African-American newspapers.
Subjects:African American Studies
, American Studies
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies