Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Persistent Links: Adding a proxy prefix

How to create persistent links to Library e-resources for linking in courseware, email, etc.

How to obtain a link

Many library databases provide a Persistent Link. Unfortunately, many database vendors employ different linking strategies. We have tried to provide directions for some of our heavily used databases and formats. Please contact a librarian if the directions you need are not here.

Since some databases only provide citations to articles, the full text of the article must be found through "Get it at R" so that a persistent link can be formulated. It is important to verify the full-text before creating a persistent link.

Warnings!

Please note that vendor database content may change from time to time. Although article links may be persistent, it is possible they may not be permanent. For this reason, you are encouraged to test your links regularly and update them as needed.

We also suggest you use a different browser to test the persistent link with proxy prefix.  For example, generate the link in Firefox, and then copy and paste it in Chrome to make sure that the link is working properly.  Why?  You may have logged in on Firefox earlier.  The link may therefore stop working when that login information is not longer stored temporarily in your browser.  Testing the link in a different browser ensures that such information does not interfere with the testing of the persistent link.

Databases versus vendors

Because we purchase multiple indexes and databases from one vendor, we have tried to provide vendor instructions for our major vendors such as EBSCO, JSTOR and Proquest. In addition, several other databases use a DOI number (Document Object Identifier).  We have tried to present several methods of creating a persistent link. If you are not sure which instructions to use, the database description page provides vendor information. If the vendor you need is not listed, please contact us at elibrarian@libraries.rutgers.edu.

Create proxied links for off-campus users

For persistent links to work from off-campus, this proxy prefix must be added to the beginning of the URL link: 

http://login.proxy.libraries.rutgers.edu/login?url=

Simply add the prefix to the front of the URL yourself or use the proxy link generator in the blue box below.

An example of a persistent link with Rutgers proxy prefix looks like the following:

persistent link with proxy prefix

Proxy link generator

Step 1. Paste your persistent URL here
 
Step 2. Click the "Create link" button below
 
Step 3. Copy and use the converted link below for your course


Press Ctrl and C to copy the link. Paste it to your course in Blackboard, Canvas, Moodle, and Sakai.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.