Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Medieval History: Basic Resources: Primary Sources

Finding Published Sources

To look for published collections of primary sources, you can search IRIS with the subject keywords followed by the word "sources." For example:

church middle ages sources
women middle ages sources
crusades sources

Finding Primary Sources

EuroDocs: History of Medieval & Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
Links to collections of documents

Medieval Sourcebook
Paul Halsall's (Fordham University) compilation of online texts for classroom use. Selected and excerpted texts; full texts of medieval sources arranged according to type; saints' lives; and law texts. Good, partially annotated index to other Byzantine and Medieval Studies sites.

ORB--Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
A peer-reviewed scholarly site which includes the ORB Encyclopedia: a topically arranged index to original articles, primary sources, bibliographies, images, and links; ORB Online Textbooks; the ORB Reference Shelf: a large collection of links to excerpts and full texts of primary and secondary sources; and the ORB Text Library: a collection of transcriptions and/or translations of important medieval texts that have not previously been accessible in print or electronic format.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.