Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Medieval History: Basic Resources: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

Basic Indexes

Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text is the basic index for finding articles in the humanities disciplines, including history. It indexes over 550 of the core, English language journals in history, literature, art and music, philosophy and religion. It indexes many journals back to 1984 and, beginning with 1995, includes many full-text articles. Rutgers-restricted Access.

International Medieval Bibliography
1967-. Index of journal articles, conference papers and collected essays on all subjects related to the Middle Ages between 400-1500 AD. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Related Indexes

ATLA Religion Database
1949- Index of journal articles, books, book chapters on biblical study, church history and history of major religions. Over 600 journals indexed. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
1994- .Index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages (450 A.D. to 1500 A.D., with Russia extended to 1613). Over 400 journals indexed.

Index of Christian Art
Index of iconographic themes and concepts in early Christian and Medieval art in all media and in all geographic areas. Includes some images. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The Journals bibliography is a searchable index to the complete runs of over 630 scholarly journals relating to the period 400 to 1700 A.D; while the Books bibliography includes citations for monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays. Rutgers-restricted Access.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
1975- . Searchable bibliography of articles, books, proceedings, and dissertations. Integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Can't resist the urge to Google?

  • Google Scholar
  • Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports. Links to the full-text of articles from open access (available without a subscription) journals and preprint repositories.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.