Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important general resources for researching the Middle Ages, as well as sections on religion, women, and specific countries.
Not Sure Where To Start?
Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of
the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship
relating to that topic. They often have good bibliographies that can lead you to other books and articles on the topic.
Bibliographies are great for finding out what has been written/is available on a specific topic.
- Medieval Germany: Research and Resources
- John Eldevik. Washington, DC, German Historical Institute, 2006
- Dana Call Number: Ref. Z2237 .E54 2006
- A Cumulative Bibliography of Medieval Military History and Technology
- Kelly DeVries. Leiden, Brill, 2002.
- The most comprehensive guide to literature relating to medieval military history.
- Dana Ref. U37 .D48 2002
- Medieval Warfare Bibliography
- Partially annotated annual (1998- ) bibliography of books and
articles dealing with medieval military history, including works on the
Crusades and Military Orders.
- Medieval Science and Technology: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography.
- Claudia Kren. New York, Garland Pub., 1985.
- Dana Ref. Q124.97 .K74 1985
The Middle Ages
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages
- New York, 1982-2003. 13 volumes.
- About 5000 signed articles, with bibliographies, on all aspects of
medieval civilization from about 500 to 1500 AD. The premier
encyclopedic resource for medieval studies, this is an excellent
starting point for research! [Sample Pages]
- DANA Call Number: Ref. D114.D5 1982
- Ancient Europe: 8000 BC to 1000 AD: An Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
- Peter Bogucki and Pam J. Crabtree, editors. New York, Thompson/Gale, 2004.
- Vol. 2 includes signed entries with bibliographies on the early
Middle Ages on subjects such as state formation, coinage, gender,
agriculture, and clothing; and on groups such as the Goths, Huns,
Scythians, Slaves, and Vikings. Strong archaelogical focus.Rutgers-restricted Access
- Middle Ages Reference Library
- Judson Knight and Judy Galens, editors. Detroit, Gale, 2001.
- Electronic version of the 5-volume set. "Almanac" offers essays within
a chronological and geographical framework. Volumes 2 and 3 consist of
biographical entries; while volume 4 offers primary documents.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2d edition
- New York, Thomson Gale, 2002-2003.
- About 12,000 signed articles with bibliographies [Sample Pages];
useful for biographical and hagiological information, as well as
articles relating to the history of theological and doctrinal issues. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopaedia Judaica. 2nd edition
- Detroit, Macmillan Reference USA, 2007.
- Thousands of signed articles, most with bibliographies, on all
aspects of Judaism, Jewish life and history. The standard encyclopedia. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopaedia of Islam.
- New edition. 13 volumes. Leiden, Brill. 1960-2006.
- Articles on all aspects of the Islamic world, the standard reference
work for Islamic Studies. Includes extensive bibliographies.
- DANA Call Number: Ref. DS37 .E523 Rutgers-restricted Access
- The Crusades: An Encyclopedia.
- Alan V. Murray, editor. 4 vols. Santa Barbara, Calif, ABC-CLIO, 2006.
- 1000 signed entries, with brief bibliographies, on topics, individuals, families and dynasties, anonymous works, places and countries. If you're working on the Crusades this is the place to start!
- Dana Call Number: Ref. D155 .C78 2006
- Cambridge Histories Online: Religious Studies
- Includes The Cambridge History of the Bible; The Cambridge History of Christianity; The Cambridge History of Islam; and The Cambridge History of Judaism.
- Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
- Edited by Katharina M. Wilson and Nadia Margolis. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2006. 2 vols.
- 300 signed one to ten-page entries with bibliographies relating to
the history of women from the 3rd to the 15th centuries. Most entries
are biographical but there are many entries on topics such as
childrearing, clothing, convents, dowry, law, medicine, music, etc. [Sample Pages]
- DANA Call Number: Ref. HQ1143 .W643 2004
- Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
- James S. Donnelly Jr., editor. Farmington Hill, MI, Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
- More than 400 signed entries on historical, social, and cultural
topics relating to Irish history from prehistory to the present.
Includes 150 primary documents. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia
- Edited by E. Michael Gerli. New York, Routledge, 2003.
- Over 800 signed entries with brief bibliographies on people,
events, institutions and topics relevant to Spain and Portugal from 470
- Dana Call Number: Ref. DP99 .M33 2003
The Cambridge Histories
The Cambridge Histories are scholarly, highly respected volumes of essays on the histories of countries and subjects. Each chapter is generally accompanied by an extensive bibliography. Among the volumes currently available online:
- Cambridge History of the Byzantine Empire c.500-1492
- Jonathan Shepard, editor. New York, Cambridge University Press, 2008. Rutgers-restricted Access
- New Cambridge Medieval History
- Rosamond McKitterick, editor. 8 volumes. New York, Cambridge University Press, 1995-2005. Rutgers-restricted Access
- The Cambridge History of Medieval Political Thought c.350-c.1450
- J.H. Burns, editor. The Cambridge History of Political Thought v.2. New York, Cambridge University Press, 1988. Rutgers-restricted Access
Topical dictionaries may have shorter entries focusing on people and terms.
- Dictionary of Medieval Knighthood and Chivalry: Concepts and Terms
- Bradford B. Broughton. New York, Greenwood Press, 1986.
- DANA Call Number: Ref. CR4505 .B76 1986 [Sample Pages]
- The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal: A Biographical Dictionary
- Clayton J. Dees. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001.
- Short signed entries with brief bibliographies on leading cultural figures of the late Middle Ages.
- DANA Call Number: Ref. CB 353 L38 2001