Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Newark Experience: Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries

Newark Business Today

ReferenceUSA
Search the "US Businesses" database for directory information on businesses currently located in Newark. Rutgers-restricted Access
Newark's Largest Businesses Ranked by Number of NJ Employees
njbiz. December 30, 2013.

Archival Collections

Newark Business Collection (1807-2005)
Newark Public Library collection. Pamphlets, catalogues, business cards, ink blotters, and other printed material related to the promotion and history of various Newark businesses.
Business and Industrial Coordinating Council (BICC) Collection
Established in 1963, the Council was formed to address issues of employment inequities. The collection, which includes reports, minutes, training manuals, and budgets, has been digitized by the Newark Public Library.
"Newark at Work" Research Materials (ca. 1936-1942)
Part of the Work Projects Administration (WPA) New Jersey Writers' Project Historical Records Survey, the collection consists of extensive research materials, including typed extracts from many publications as well as original interviews carried out by project staff. The firms visited range from those with a handful of workers to those with hundreds of employees. New Jersey State Archives.

Economic and Business Statistics

QuickFacts: Newark City, New Jersey
Basic demographic, economic, and business statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Newark: Selected Economic Characteristics
Estimates from the 2017 American Community Survey.
Newark-Union, NJ-PA: Economy at a Glance
Monthly statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

See also the "Employment and Economic Health" section of the Newark By the Numbers guide.

Newark in the Survey of Business Owners

Metro Newark!

The publications of the Greater Newark Chamber of Commerce (and the earlier Newark Association of Commerce and Industry) highlighted Newark programs and events; included features on prominent Newarkers and Newark (and North Jersey) institutions; and included a lot of local advertising.

Newark Commerce
Newark, N.J., Greater Newark Chamber of Commerce, 1956-1967. Available?
Newark!
Newark, N.J., Greater Newark Chamber of Commerce, 1967-1975. Available?
Metro Newark!
Newark, N.J., Greater Newark Chamber of Commerce, 1975-1987. Available?
Metro Newark!
June/July 1980 issue.

Entrepreneurship

Immigrant Entrepreneurship, Institutional Logics, and Informality: A Study of Entrepreneurs and Urban Entrepreneurship Policy in Newark, New Jersey
Lutisha S. Vickerie. (Ph.D. Thesis) Rutgers University--Newark, 2018.
"This qualitative study profiles the way immigrant entrepreneurs from African and Caribbean countries navigate a different institutional environment than their home country."
Urban food entrepreneurship, governance, and economic development in the post-industrial cities of Newark, New Jersey and Dayton, Ohio
John C. Jones. (Ph.D Thesis) New Jersey Institute of Technology, 2018.
"This dissertation documents urban food entrepreneurship in the post-industrial communities of greater Newark, New Jersey and greater Dayton, Ohio. The dissertation examines both: a) the characteristics of existing enterprises; and b) the network of laws, policies, regulations, and incentives that affect them."

Women in the Labor Force

Women's Labor in the Global City. Carmen-Laura Lovin. (Ph.D Thesis), Rutgers University New Brunswick, 2014.
"This dissertation explores depictions of working women in three transnational urban spaces, Sibiu (Romania), Berlin (Germany) and Newark (New Jersey, USA)." Available?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.