Skip to main content

The Newark Experience: Newark Maps

Newark Wards

Newark Wards 2012. From Newark Open Data. Includes shapefiles for doing more advanced mapping work in GIS programs like ArcGIS, QGIS and CartoDB.

2001 Newark Wards Map. From the Newark Public Library Digital Collection.

Newark Ward Boundaries (2000)

1992 Newark Ward Maps: Map 1 Map 2 NPL Digital Collection.

1982 Newark Ward Maps: Map 1 Map 2 NPL Digital Collection

1953 Newark Ward Map NPL Digital Collection

Newark Wards, 1930

Map of the City of Newark 1908 street map, including ward divisions and proposed streets. NPL Digital Collection.

1860 Newark City and Map of West Orange NPL Digital Collection

1873 Map NPL Digital Collection

Newark Ward Maps, 1859-1915

Newark 1853. Shows each ward.

Newark Neighborhoods

Target Neighborhoods
Census tract maps for Newark neighborhoods including: Fairmont, Vailsburg, Clinton Hill, Weequahic, West Side Park, South Ironbound, Mt.Pleasant/Lower Broadway, Seventh Avenue, Lower Roseville, and North Broadway. These are target neighborhoods for the Newark Neighborhood Stabilization Program (2009).

More Maps

To locate other Newark maps in Rutgers collections search the Catalog by clicking on the SUBJECT keywords below:

newark maps

Fire Insurance Maps

Map of the City of Newark 1850
Fire insurance map of Newark in 1850, with all buildings outlined and all major property owners indicated with annotation. NPL Digital Collections.
Fire Insurance Map of Newark, N.J. [1868]
Newark, VanDuyne & Sherman, Civil Engineers & Surveyors, 1868. NPL Digital Collection.
Digital Sanborn Maps: New Jersey
Searchable by city and date. Extremely detailed, large scale plans of New Jersey cities and towns drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. Includes the size, outline, and often the function, of each building. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Includes maps of Newark for 1892, 1908-09, 1926-1931, and 1926-1950. Rutgers-restricted Access
Princeton University Digitized Sanborn
Princeton has digitized its extensive Sanborn map collection. Includes maps of Newark for 1892, 1908, 1909, 1917, 1918, 1920, 1922, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1930, 1931 and the Newark Central Business District (CBD) for 1904.
Fire Insurance Maps from the Sanborn Map Company Archives : Late 19th century to 1990, New Jersey [microform]
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1992.24 microfilm reels
Detailed maps of 167 New Jersey cities and towns covering the period 1945-1991. These maps were not deposited with the Library of Congress and are not duplicated in the set above. Includes maps of Newark for 1968 (Reel 15), 1973 (Reels 14, 15, and 16), 1987 (Reel 15),
1988 (Reels 15 and 16), and 1989 (Reel 14).
Alex: Microfilm 2754

Newark Map Collections

The Newark Archives and Records Management Center has digitized over 8,000 Newark maps, including individual street maps, dating from the mid-19th century to the present. Maps are indexed by street name and by date, and are available for viewing only in the Archives Reading Room. More from the Newark Archives Project.

The Newark Public Library Cummings New Jersey Information Center's Newark Maps collection consists of about 500 maps and architectural drawings dating from the early 19th century to the 2000s. Almost 350 of these are available online as part of the Newark Public Library Digital Collection.

Newark Maps and Atlases

Historical Map of Newark, New Jersey, 1666-1916
Compiled for the 250th celebration by Edward S. Rankin, C.E., August 1916, revised January 1918.
Maps of the City of Newark, 1666-1915
43 maps from the collection of the Newark Public Library, digitized as part of a "Mapping Newark" project (2002-2003) funded by the New Jersey Historical Society and Rutgers University.
Newark Mountain circa 1696.
Map. Reconstruction (2005) of land holdings and roads for a portion of what was then Newark Township by Charles T. McGrath.
Newark Mountain: Third Division of Land Circa 1696 A.D..
Charles T. McGrath Jr. 2005.
Documentation for the above.
1764 Ball Map of the Newark Mountain Purchase Claim
Copy: of a Map made by Thomas Ball of the New Ark Mountain Purchase Claim Done in 1764. [inscription]
Newark about 1776
From the Newark Public Library Digital Collection
Map of Essex County, New Jersey: With the Names of Property Holders, &c.
Newark, H.A. Belding, 1850.
Inset of Newark with index.
Map of Building Lots Belonging to the Smith & Alling Land Co. Situated in the 5th Ward of the City of Newark
Newark, N.J., Dunn & Thompson, Surveyors, March 1851.
Newark, circa 1859
Street map hand colored to show wards and war numbers. Stephen Dod for B.T. Pierson's Newark Directory.
1872 Map of the City of Newark
F.W. Beers map from the 1872 State Atlas of New Jersey.
Combined Atlas of the State of New Jersey and the City of Newark : From Actual Surveys & Private Plans
Griffith Morgan Hopkins. Engraved by Edward Busch. Philadelphia, G.M. Hopkins & Co., 1873.
Special Collections Call Number: SNCNJF G1383 .N532H Available?
Digitized (jpeg) copy also available from NJIT.
Newark, circa 1874
Bird's eye view. Zoomable map from the Library of Congress Panoramic Maps series.
Holbrook's Map of the City of Newark, 1875
Newark, A.S. Holbrook's Printing Office, 1875.
Street map hand colored to show wards and ward numbers.
Holbrook's Map of the City of Newark, 1876
Newark, A.S. Holbrook's Printing Office, 1876.
Street map hand colored to show wards and ward numbers.
Holbrook's Map of the City of Newark, 1878
Newark, A.S. Holbrook's Printing Office, 1878.
Street map hand colored to show wards and ward numbers.
Holbrook's Map of the City of Newark, 1879
Newark, A.S. Holbrook's Printing Office, 1879.
Street map hand colored to show wards and ward numbers.
Holbrook's Map of the City of Newark (1881)
Newark, circa 1895
Bird's eye view. Zoomable map from the Library of Congress Panoramic Maps series. See detail of the area where Rutgers-Newark is now located.
Devine's Newark City Street Guide
Terence Devine.. Newark, N.J., 1886
Atlas of the City of Newark, New Jersey: From Official Records, Private Plans & Actual Surveys
Scarlett and Scarlett. Newark, N.J., 1889
37 detailed maps. Includes information on land owners and building materials.
Special Collections Call Number: XFOLIO G1259 .N5S33
Digited version is also available from NJIT.
Atlas of the City of Newark, New Jersey: From Official Records, Private Plans and Actual Surveys
Elisha Robinson. New York, E. Robinson, 1901.
Special Collections Call Number: SNCLXF G1259 .N5R6 1901
Newark, 1904
Place cursor anywhere on map and click on the zoom icon in the lower right to open map to full size. From the Old Newark site.
An Examination of Old Maps of Northern New Jersey with Reference to the Identification of the Nutley Area, and Washington's Route Across It, and to the Boundary Dispute Between Newark and Acquackanonk.
Elizabeth Stow Brown. Paterson, N.J., Press Printing and Publishing, 1907.
Map of the City of Newark 1908
Street map, including ward divisions and proposed streets. From the Newark Public Library Digital Collection.
Atlas of City of Newark, New Jersey.
Compiled from actual surveys, official records and private plans by J.M. Lathrop and J.G. Ogden. Philadelphia, Pa. : A.H. Mueller, 1911-1912. 2 volumes.
Special Collections Call Number: SNCLXF G1259.N5.L3 1911
Vol. 1 and Vol.2 digitized by the NJIT Library.
New Map of Newark, Harrison, Kearny, Irvington and East Newark
Newark, N.J., Interstate Map Company, 1915.
Newark: Location and Popular Names by Which the Different Sections of the City are Known
1922. Boundaries of various Newark neighborhoods. NPL Digital Collection
Robinson's Atlas of the City of Newark, New Jersey. Compiled From Official Records, Private Plans and Actual Surveys.
Elisha Robinson. Newark, N.J., E. Robinson, 1926-1927. 3 vols.
Vol 1: Embracing the section of the City North from Penn. R.R. Market Street and South Orange Avenue to 12th Street to Central Avenue; Vol. 2:Embracing the Section of the City South to Market Street and South Orange Avenue, the Vailsburg Section and West to Broad Street., Poinier Street and Elizabeth Avenue to City Line; Vol. 3: Embracing the Section of the City South and East from Penna. R.R. and Market Street to Broad Street, to Poinier Street, to Elizabeth Avenue thence to City Line.
Detailed maps show buildings, dwellings and businesses, and indicate building materials, ward lines, water pipes, sewers, and paved or unimproved streets.
Dana Call Number: NEWARK G1259 .N5R63 1926
A Sight-seeing Tour of Newark, New Jersey
Under the direction of Ann Milne and Mildred VerSoy Harris. Newark, N.J. : Francis H. Budd & Co., 1933.
Publication of students of Franklin Academy.
Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY F144.N5S545 1933
Map of the City of Newark Showing Building Zones 1940
Residential, business, and industrial zones. From the NPL Digital Collection.
Newark, 1944
Place cursor anywhere on map and click on the zoom icon in the lower right to open map to full size.
Boundary Map of Newark Colleges Expansion Project [2/27/1961]
Map of area cleared for expansion of Rutgers Newark and NJIT. From the Newark Public Library Digital Collection.
Downtown Newark, 1966
Includes the "new" Rutgers-Newark site as well as the "old" location at Fulton and Rector streets. From the Old Newark site.
1967 U.S. Geological Survey Map of the Elizabeth Quadrangle (includes Newark)
Place cursor anywhere on map and click on the zoom icon in lower right to open map to full size.

1967 Essex County Road Map

Newark Central City Area Study 1968 Map
1993 Newark Map
Map of the City of Newark 2000
With neighborhood (e.g., "University Heights;" "Lower Clinton Hill") names. NPL Digital Collection
Map of the City of Newark 2007
NPL Digital Collection
1910 Map of Newark with Areas Where Different Nationalities Predominate
The Changing Landscape of Newark
Digitized maps from Rutgers Cartography.