Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Theater: Indexes

General guide to print and online resources for theater studies

Electronic and pring indexes

Black Drama

Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the 21st century by over 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. The collection includes more than four hundred previously unpublished plays by writers such as Amiri Baraka, Ed Bullins, Randolph Edmonds, Femi Euba, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. The collection also contains other material related to theatre history, including playbills, photographs, ephemera, and posters.

Factiva

Factiva is a collection of major global newspapers, magazines, financial reports, investment analyses, historical market data, and other publications. Although Factiva’s primary focus is business, and it is updated daily with the most recent publications, it includes reviews of theater, films, etc.

HistoryMakers

HistoryMakers is a collection of video oral history interviews with African Americans who have made significant contributions in a wide variety of fields, including the arts. The collection, with over 3000 interviews, helps form a more complete and inclusive record of American history and educates viewers about the achievements of African Americans.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes critical scholarship on literature including plays, language, linguistics, folklore, film, etc. in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials. It includes more than 2,000,000 citations drawn from 4400 journals and series and from 1000 book publishers. Indexing of e-journals, online bibliographies, electronic monographs, and scholarly Web sites is now included.

Play Index

The Wilson Play Index is an online version of the print Play Index. It covers over 30,000 plays written in or translated into English from Antiquity to present that have been published individually and in anthologies from 1949-present. In addition to standard searching capability, users can search by cast gender and number or by the age group for which it was written. Records include requirements for scenery, cast, and music, as well as an abstract and subject descriptions in addition to links to additional online information. Links to full-text plays accessible online.

Variety obits: An index to obituaries in Variety  [print}

Call #: Alexander Library PN1583.P4

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.