Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Social Foundations of Education: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the or the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

Education Abstracts/Full Text
The basic index for finding articles relating specifically to the applied and theoretical aspects of education. Indexes over 500 English language journals in education. Indexes many journals back to 1983, and, beginning with 1994, includes many full text articles.
Rutgers-restricted Access
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center
The premier resource for educational research, the ERIC database contains more than one million abstracts covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. 1966+
Rutgers-restricted Access
Sociologial Abstracts 1963-
Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, as well as to books reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.
Rutgers-restricted Access.
PsycINFO (Including PsycARTICLES) 1840-
Comprehensive index to the the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, and education. Covers some 2000 journals, as well as book chapters and dissertations. Includes full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Rutgers-restricted Access

There are also two other indexes that may be especially useful when dealing with public policy issues.

Public Affairs Information Service
1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues.
Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975- Index to over 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields.
Rutgers-restricted Access

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.