Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Academic Integrity Workshops: Dealing with References

This guide accompanies the Academic Integrity Workshops in Newark

"Automatic" Bibliographies

Ways to Create "Automatic" Bibliographies

 

  1. RefWorks

 Format and manage your List of Works Cited, working bibliography, and annotated bibliography with RefWorks.   RefWorks suggests that you pick a new password for yourself, something different from your Net ID. This gives you just a bit of added protection from hackers. Install the Write-n-Cite (ProQuest for Word) feature to use your own references in Microsoft Word. (See the RefWorks Tools menu for download instructions.)

 More info on RefWorks:

RefWorks_Quick_Start_Guide.pdf

RefWorks: Logging in as a Rutgers User (one of a series of YouTube videos from librarians at the Library of Science and Medicine, Rutgers)

Installing ProQuest for Word
Guidance in using the RefWorks plugin for Microsoft Word to allow you to insert references into your writing.

 

      2. Database Output

 The Ebsco and ProQuest database families, among others, will produce very good MLA bibliographies.  Always check their output against your MLA style manuals (see MLA Citation Page) to make sure all the elements are correct.

 

Citation Managers

MLA Style Info

Find Out about Constructing the List of Works Cited and More on the MLA Citation Page.

Find Out How to Prepare "Instant" MLA Bibliographies from Ebsco.

MLA in Microsoft Word

Creating an MLA paper with citations and a bibliography  (Microsoft)
Videos about using the References function in Microsoft Word to create an MLA-style paper.

In-Text Citations

Examples of MLA In-Text Citations (Author-Page Format) from the Purdue OWL (http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/02/):

 

Romantic poetry is characterized by the "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (Wordsworth 263). Author-Page. Note that no comma is used in MLA between the author and the page number.

 

Wordsworth stated that Romantic poetry was marked by a "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (263). Page only because author was already mentioned in the sentence.

 

Wordsworth extensively explored the role of emotion in the creative process (263). Page only because author was already mentioned in the sentence. Note that an in-text citation has to be used even though this is a paraphrase and not an exact quote.

 

Your Works Cited entry for all these in-text citations would look like this:

 

 

Works Cited

 

Wordsworth, William. Lyrical Ballads. London: Oxford U.P., 1967.  Print.

    

 

For more information, go to the In-Text Citations Page of the Purdue Online Writing Laboratory (OWL).

 


Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.