Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some Important Social Sciences Databases
Current issues database of well-researched reports on "hot topics".
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Interdisciplinary database that includes sociology, social work, psychology, anthropology, foreign affairs, and many other subjects. Try this:
Core database in the field of sociology.
PsycINFO (Including PsycArticles)
Online version of the Psychological Abstracts, a core database in psychology.
Business Source Premier
Indexes important journals in business and economics as well as in public service and administration. Try this:
Indexes articles in economics. Try this:
Source of articles published in ethnic media. Not always a good source of scholarly or peer reviewed material, but the focus helps find relevant discussions of many issues. Try this:
Du Bois W E B and Washington, Booker T.
PAIS International and Archive
"Covers literature from 1972 to the present in the fields of economics, political science, public policy, business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, and government." -- from the Rutgers database page. The PAIS Archive has material from as early as 1915. Originally based upon the collections at the Economics and Public Affairs Division of the New York Public Library.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
"Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy" -- from the Rutgers database page.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text material in news and business as well as case law and law reviews. Law reviews are excellent sources for the non-attorney because they treat legal subjects for the most part without specialized legal language.