Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

New Jersey: Libraries, Repositories, and Historical Societies

Resources, both printed and digital, to assist in performing research on New Jersey history.

Other Major Repositories

Atlantic County Library
40 Farragut Avenue
Mays Landing, NJ  08330
Phone: 609-625-2776
Fax: 609-625-8143
[Be sure to see their digitized collection of wills, records of guardianship,orphans' court, and letters of administration.]
 
Burlington County Historical Society
http://08016.com/bchs.html
451 High Street
Burlington City, NJ  08016
Phone: 609-386-4773
Fax: 609-386-4828
 
Burlington County Library
http://www.bcls.lib.nj.us/
5 Pioneer Boulevard
Westampton, NJ  08060
Phone: 609-267-9660
Fax: 609-267-4091
[Be sure to check out their genealogy guides and extensive online indexes.]
 
City of Camden, Municipal Clerk
520 Market Street
City Hall, Room 105
P.O. Box 95120
Camden, NJ  08101
Phone: 856-757-7223
Fax: 856-757-7220
[The Office of Records Managment, in partnership with the Office of Information Technology, has made historical and genealogical records of Camden available online. Be sure to read the instructions, and please note that the database apparently does not work with Firefox. Google's Chrome is the preferable alternative.]
 
Genealogical Society of Bergen County
P.O. Box 432
Midland Park, NJ  07432
 
Jersey City Public Library: New Jersey Room
http://www.jclibrary.org/service/njroom.php
Jersey City Public Library
472 Jersey Avenue
3rd Floor
Jersey City, NJ  07302
Phone: 201-547-4503
 
Monmouth County Historical Association Library and Archives
http://www.monmouthhistory.org/
Main Museum
70 Court Street
Freehold, NJ  07728
Phone: 732-462-1466
Fax: 732-462-8346
 
Monmouth County Library (Lower Level)
125 Symmes Drive
Manalapan, NJ  07726
Phone: 732-308-3771
Fax: 732-780-4458
 
Newark Public Library: Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center
http://www.npl.org/Pages/Collections/njic.html
Newark Public Library
3rd Floor, Main Library
5 Washington Street
Newark, NJ  07102
Phone: 973-733-7775
Fax: 973-733-7835
 
New Jersey Historical Society
http://www.jerseyhistory.org/
52 Park Place
Newark, NJ  07102
Phone: 973-596-8500
Fax: 973-596-6957
[Library hours by appointment only: Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday, 12:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.]
 
New Jersey State Archives
http://nj.gov/state/archives/index.html
225 West State Street
Department of State Building
Level 2
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ  08625-0307
Phone: 609-292-6260
Fax: 609-396-2454
[Be sure to see their many searchable databases.]
 
New Jersey State Library
http://www.njstatelib.org/
185 West State Street
Trenton, NJ  08625-0520
Phone: 609-292-6274
 
North Jersey History and Genealogy Center
http://www.jfpl.org/NJHistoryHome.cfm
Morristown & Morris Township Joint Free Public Library
1 Miller Road
Morristown, NJ  07960
Phone: 973-538-3473
 
Plainfield Public Library
http://www.plainfieldlibrary.info/
800 Park Avenue
Plainfield, NJ  07060
Phone: 908-757-1111
[Be sure to see their index of obituaries and biographical articles that appeared in the Courier News from the mid-1920s to the mid-1980s.]
 
 

Library Associate I

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.