Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

New Jersey: Women's History

Resources, both printed and digital, to assist in performing research on New Jersey history.

Electronic Resources

Women's History Resources: A Guide to Manuscripts and Archival Collections (Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University Libraries)
Extensive guide to primary source material held by Special Collections and University Archives.

New Jersey Women and Politics Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers University.

New Jersey Women's History
Featuring a variety of material on New Jersey women's history dating from the 18th-20th centuries, including a large collection of images of primary sources, this site is the result of a collaborative venture of the Women's Project of New Jersey in collaboration with the Rutgers University Libraries' Margery Foster Center, Scholarly Communication Center, Special Collections and University Archives, the Alice Paul Institute, the New Jersey Historical Society and the New Jersey Historical Commission.

Institute for Women's Leadership, Rutgers University
The Institute, which is comprised of a consortium of eight units of Rutgers, "examines leadership issues and advances women's leadership in education, research, politics, science, the arts, the workplace and the world."

Local Resources

Heacock, Nan. Battle Stations!: The Homefront World War II. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press, 1992.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D810.W7H43 1992

Karnoutsos, Carmela Ascolese. New Jersey Women: A History of Their Status, Roles, and Images. Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1997.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HQ1438.N5K37 1997
ALEXANDER DOCNJ HQ1438.N5K37 1997
ROBESON STACKS HQ1438.N5K37 1997
DANA DOCNJ HQ1438.N5K37 1997

Liebowitz, Debra J. and Carroll, Susan J. Women and American Politics: A Research Agenda for the 21st Century. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for the American Woman and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, 1996.

SPCOL/UA R-PUBS HQ1391.U5L54 1996
DOUGLASS STACKS HQ1391.U5L54 1996

League of Women Voters. Women's Guide to Rights and Resources in New Jersey. Trenton, NJ: League of Women Voters of New Jersey Education Fund, 1999.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ KFN1881.W65 1999
ALEXANDER REF KFN1881.W65 1999
ROBESON REF KFN1881.W65 1999
DANA STACKS KFN1881.W65 1999
DOUGLASS REF KFN1881.W65 1999

McCormick, Richard P. Equality Deferred: Women Candidates for the New Jersey Assembly, 1920-1993. [New Brunswick, NJ]: Center for the American Woman and Politics, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, 1994.

SPCOL/UA SNCLY2 F139.M17 1994
SPCOL/UA R-PUBS F139.M17 1994
ALEXANDER STACKS F139.M17 1994
ROBESON STACKS F139.M17 1994
DANA ARCHIV F139.M17 1994
DOUGLASS STACKS F139.M17 1994
CARR STACKS F139.M17 1994

McGoldrick, Neale and Margaret Crocco. Reclaiming Lost Ground: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage in New Jersey. [New Jersey: s.n.], 1993.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ JK1911.N5M14 1992
ALEXANDER STACKS JK1911.N5M14 1992
ROBESON STACKS JK1911.N5M14
DOUGLASS STACKS JK1911.N5M14 1992
CARR STACKS JK1911.N5M14 1992

Preservation Partners. Women's Place in New Jersey History. Crosswicks, NJ: Preservation Partners, 2004.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HQ1438.N5P74 2004

Schaefer, Christina K. The Hidden Half of the Family: A Sourcebook for Women's Genealogy. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1999.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ CS61.S33 1999
ALEXANDER REF CS61.S33 1999

Wagle, Elizabeth Pearce. New Jersey Women, 1770-1970: A Bibliography. Rutherford, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1978.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HQ1438.N5S73 1978
ALEXANDER STACKS Z7964.U49S73
ROBESON REF HQ1438.N5S73 1978
DOUGLASS REF HQ1438.N5S73 1978
CARR STACKS HQ1438.N5S73 1978

Women's Project of New Jersey, Inc. Past and Promise: Lives of New Jersey Women. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1990 [First edition]; Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 1997 [Second edition].

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HQ1438.N5P37 1990
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HQ1438.N5P37 1997 [2 copies]
ALEXANDER STACKS HQ1438.N5P37 1990
ALEXANDER REF HQ1438.N5P37 1990
ART STACKS HQ1438.N5P37 1990
ROBESON REF HQ1438.N5P37 1990
DANA REF HQ1438.N5P37 1990
DOUGLASS REF HQ1438.N5P37 1997
DOUGLASS STACKS HQ1438.N5P37 1997

CARR STACKS HQ1438.N5P37 1990

Library Associate I

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.