Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

New Jersey: War: 20th Century

Resources, both printed and digital, to assist in performing research on New Jersey history.

Local Resources

World War I

Campbell, Charles A. Women and the War: A Sermon Prelude. [Elizabeth, NJ: s.n., 1918].

SPCOL/UA SNCLY D639.W7.C36 1918

Engineers Club of Trenton, NJ. Trenton's Own Company of Engineers: Its Experiences and Exploits With Some Facts About Its Organization and Personnel. [Trenton, NJ], [1919?].

SPCOL/UA SNCLY D570.13 104th.A6

Letters of Thanks to the Princeton Red Cross from Nurses and Patients in European Hospitals and Accounts of Work by Distributing Agents. [Princeton, NJ]: Princeton University Press, [1916].

SPCOL/UA SNCLY D638.U5L47 1916

Meehan, Thomas Francis. History of the Seventy-Eighth Division in the World War, 1917-18-19. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1921.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D570.3.78th.M4

New Jersey. Commission on Military Training in High Schools. New Jersey Says: "No!" Report of the Commission on Military Training and Instruction in High Schools to the New Jersey Legislature, Session of 1917. Reprinted in Full by the American Union Against Militarism. Washington, DC, 1918.

SPCOL/UA SNCLY U437.N53

Raritan Arsenal. A History of the Activities at Raritan Arsenal During the World War. [Metuchen, NJ], 1919.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ UF544.N5R2H

Rutgers College. War Service Bureau. Inventory to the Records of the Rutgers College War Service Bureau, 1917-1919.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV RG 33/C0

The Rutgers College War Service Bureau was founded with the intention of keeping the Rutgers students, alumni, and staff in touch with one another as they served in World War I. The records contain letters from members of the Rutgers community regarding their activities during the war on the home front and abroad. It also contains bulletins from Earl Reed Silvers, the director of the War Service Bureau, about activities at Rutgers during the war.

Tenney, Marion Louise (ed.) War Activities of the Borough of Roselle, Union County, New Jersey. Roselle, NJ: The Borough, 1920.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F144.R865T46 1920

Wall, John P. New Brunswick, NJ in the World War, 1917-1918. [New Brunswick, NJ: S.M. Christie Press, 1921].

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D570.85.N31N35
ALEXANDER STACKS D570.85.N31N35 [2 copies]
ANNEX STACKS D570.85.N31w


World War II

American Red Cross. The Oranges and Maplewood Chapter. The War Years, September 1, 1939-September 2, 1945. West Orange, NJ: Midland Press, [1945].

SPCOL/UA STACKS D809.U6A43 1945
DANA STACKS D809.U5A43 1945

Brown, J. Douglas. The Industrial Relations Section of Princeton University in World War II: A Personal Account. Princeton, NJ: Industrial Relations Section, Department of Economics, Princeton University, 1976.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HD5724.B73
ALEXANDER STACKS HD5724.B73
DANA STACKS HD5724.B73

Coyne, Kevin. Marching Home: To War and Back With the Men of One American Town. New York: Viking, 2003.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D769.85.N31F743 2003
ALEXANDER STACKS D769.85.N31F743 2003
ROBESON STACKS D769.85.N31F743 2003
An account of World War II as experienced by the men of Freehold, NJ.

Dawidoff, Nicholas. The Catcher Was A Spy: The Mysterious Life of Moe Berg. New York: Vintage Books, 1995.

D810.S8B4693 1995
Born in Newark, NJ and educated at Princeton, major-league baseball player Moe Berg became a spy for the OSS during World War II.

Edge, Walter E. The New Jersey State Government's Share in Reconversion From War to Peace. Trenton, NJ: [s.n.], 1945.

SPCOL/UA SNCLY D769.85.N3E33 1945

Johnson, Melissa A. Princeton, Forward March!: A Guide to World War II Collections at Princeton University. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Library, 1992.

SPCOL/UA SNCLY2 D735.P75 1992
ALEXANDER STACKS Z6207.W8P746 1992
ROBESON STACKS D735.P75 1992

Kindre, Tom. The Boys from New Jersey. Victoria, BC: Trafford Publishing Co., 2004.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D769.85.N3B69 2004

Experiences of New Jersey men in World War II.

Martucci, William C. To Secure These Rights: A Study of the Political Concerns and Development of the Black Community in Newark, New Jersey During the Second World War, 1941-1945. (Thesis). New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University, 1974.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F144.N6M38

McBride, William, Carl Ek and Rodney L. Odell. Anybody Here from Jersey?: The Collected Stories of the Herald-News War Correspondents. Passaic, NJ: The Herald-News, 1945.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D769.85.N3H4
ROBESON STACKS D769.85.N3H4

Micheletti, Laura A. Carrying On: Students at New Jersey College for Women and World War II. New Brunswick, NJ: 1999. ("A thesis submitted to the History Honors Program and the Women's Studies Honors Program at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey...")

SPCOL/UA R-PUBS D810.E45N49 1999

Mischlich, Marston A. Atlantic City Answers the Call to World War II: How It and the Surrounding Area Contributed to the War Effort. California: California State University, Dominguez Hills, 1998. (Thesis).

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D769.N5.M678

Preil, Joseph J. (ed.) Holocaust Testimonies: European Survivors and American Liberators in New Jersey. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2001.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ D804.195.H74 2001
ALEXANDER STACKS D804.195.H74 2001
ROBESON STACKS D804.195.H74 2001
NEWARK STACKS D804.195.H74 2001

Rutgers Defense Council. Inventory to the Records of the Rutgers Defense Council, 1941-1945.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV RG 41/H1

Records maintained by Dean Norman C. Miller, who served as Chairman of the Council from December 1941 to June 1945. They include correspondence, mostly between Miller and other university administrators, as well as various statements and memoranda relating to defense activities on Rutgers' New Brunswick campuses. Also included are forms relating to Rutgers' function as a center for information on civilian defense, and U.S. Government bulletins, charts and communications on civil defense, air raid instructions, and materials and rosters for fire fighting and first aid training courses. Most of the material is from 1942, when local defense activities were being arranged and organized. Virtually all the correspondence, which comprises the bulk of the material, deals with the administrative and organizational activities of the council. Communications from the U.S. Government provide a detailed account of civil defense procedures deemed necessary for the protection of east coast residents against possible foreign hostilities. Within the General Correspondence series are several documents which highlight the history of the Rutgers Defense Council, and present a picture of university life and concerns during wartime. The Subject File series includes documents that relate the Council's activities to national defense efforts in general, and materials indicating the wide scope of the Rutgers community's involvement in campus civil defense activities.

Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II. Guide to Interview Transcripts, 1994-[ongoing].

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV R-MC 025

Transcripts of oral history interviews with alumni and alumnae of Rutgers College and Douglass College, concentrating on World War II. Also includes transcripts of interviews with several non-Rutgers affiliated individuals.

Rutgers University Oral History Archives of World War II. Guide to the Rutgers University Veterans History Collection, 1942-1995; bulk 1942-1946.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV R-MC 074

This collection is comprised of materials donated by the participants of the Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War and the Cold War. These include diaries, a scrapbook, a musical album, a US Army-issue New Testament, memoirs, correspondence, military and veteran's organizations publications, maps, military records, photographs, Rutgers memorabilia and clippings.

Scagliotta, Edward G., 1927-. Guide to the World War II and Postwar Letters of Edward G. Scagliotta, June 1945-October 1946.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV R-MC 073

The collection consists of 202 letters written to and by Edward G. Scagliotta while he served in the US Navy. Primary correspondents include Edward's mother, Anne Scagliotta, and girlfriend, Louise Maimone. Also included is a Christmas card and an un-mailed post card.

Schmidt, George P. Proposals for Post-War Education of Returning Service Women at New Jersey College for Women. [New Jersey: s.n., 1943].

SPCOL/UA R-PUBS LD7251.N25332S3 1943


Vietnam War

Douglass College. Office of the Dean. Inventory to the Records of the Dean of Douglass College (Group II), 1965-1981.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV RG 19/A0/02

Records generated by the Office of the Dean of Douglass College during the administrations of Margery Somers Foster, Paula P. Brownlee, and Jewel Plummer Cobb, 1965-1981. During this time period Rutgers University witnessed enormous change, much of which had an impact on Douglass College, including the move to turn the previous all-male Rutgers College into a coeducational unit of the university, student protests over civil rights and the Vietnam War, and a major reorganization of Rutgers that transformed Douglass College from an academic college to a residence college. The records vividly document the position of the Douglass College deans in reaction to these events.
 

Leifer, Neil and Robert F. Dorr. USS New Jersey: The Navy's Big Guns: From Mothballs to Vietnam. Osceola, WI: Motorbooks International, 1988.

SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ VA65.N5L44 1988

New Jersey Vietnam Veterans' Memorial: Dedication, May 7, 1995: To Remember, To Heal, To Honor.
Trenton: New Jersey Vietnam Veterans' Memorial Foundation, [1995].

SPCOL/UA SNCLY2 DS559.84.N5N49 1995

Rutgers University. Office of the President. Records of the Rutgers University Office of the President (Mason Welch Gross), 1936, 1945-1971. Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University Libraries.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIVE RG 04/A16

Administrative records generated by the Office of the President at Rutgers University during the administration of Mason Gross, 1959-1971. These records document a period of enormous growth of the university, as well as a time of social upheaval and political protest. The records also include Gross' speech and writing files and his faculty papers as Professor of Philosophy.

Rutgers University. Office of Public Information. Inventory to the Records on the Vietnam War Teach-Ins at Rutgers University, 1965-1966.

SPCOL/UA ARCHIV RG 07/A2/01

Correspondence, newspaper clippings, statements, and reports related to the controversy surrounding the three "Teach Ins" held at Rutgers University in 1965. The bulk of the public comment was sparked by Rutgers Professor Genovese's April 23, 1965 "Teach In" statement, "I do not fear or regret the impending Viet Cong victory in Vietnam. I welcome it," and the University's subsequent handling of the matter. The "Teach In" at which Genovese made his statement was a discussion of American foreign policy in Vietnam organized by Rutgers College Faculty. Items addressing this issue also represent the bulk of the materials in the collection.

US Military Personnel Who Died: (Including Missing and Captured, Declared Dead) in the Vietnam War, 1957-1986. Washington, DC: Office of Secretary of Defense, [1986?].

SPCOL/UA SNCLY2 DS559.U5 1986

Library Associate I

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.