Electronic Resources
Geology and Earth Sciences [Rutgers Restricted]
(via Rutgers University Libraries - Find Articles - Indexes and Databases)
Environmental Science [Rutgers Restricted]
(via Rutgers University Libraries - Find Articles - Indexes and Databases)
New Jersey Environmental Digital Library
(via Rutgers University Libraries - Find Articles - Indexes and Databases)
New Jersey Historical Maps (Rutgers Cartography Department, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey)
Large website featuring over 200 maps from Special Collections and University Archives of the Rutgers University Libraries.
New Jersey Municipalities Search (State of New Jersey)
Database searchable by county, municipality name or legislative district.
Nova Cæsarea: A Cartographic Record of the Garden State, 1666-1888 (Princeton University Library)
Very nice website with many maps (which can be enlarged to show display more detail), by John Delany, Curator,
Historic Maps Collection. Companion site to an exhibit (August 16, 2014-January 25, 2015) and a published volume (in a regular or special edition).
Environmental Studies: New Jersey Resources.
Rutgers University Libraries - Research Resources - Subject Research Guides.
Local Resources
Special Collections and University Archives has a large collection of New Jersey maps, a description of which can be found here. Finding aids are available at the Special Collections Reference Desk for our collections of Early Maps, Manuscript Maps, Wall Maps and Atlases of New Jersey Municipalities. April Carlucci's Guide to New Jersey Maps in Special Collections and Archives, Rutgers University Libraries (see below) is also available at the Reference Desk in the New Jersey Room.
Carlucci, April. Guide to New Jersey Maps in Special Collections and Archives, Rutgers University Libraries. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Libraries, 1986.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ GA195.N5C37 1986 [copy also available at reference desk]
ALEXANDER REF GA195.N5C37 1986 REF [2 copies]
ROBESON REF GA195.N5C37 1986
DANA REF GA195.N5C37 1986
DOUGLASS REF GA195.N5C37 1986
CARR REF GA195.N5C37 1986
LSM REF GA195.N5C37 1986
Extensive guide to maps in Special Collections and University Archives. Most of these maps are located in the map case near the back of the New Jersey Room. Note that this volume describes many, but not all, of the maps in Special Collections.
A PDF file of an abbreviated version of the guide is also available.
Kelland, Frank S. and Marylin C. Kelland. New Jersey, Garden or Suburb?: A Geography of New Jersey. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt Publishing Co., 1978.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F140.K29N
New Jersey Department of Transportation. Local Names. [Trenton, NJ]: New Jersey Department of Transportation, 2002.
SPCOL/UA SCLNJ F132.N482 2002
Alphabetical listing of names of locales, areas and municipalities in New Jersey, along with the incorporated municipality and county in which each is located.
Siegel, Michael. Mapping New Jersey: An Evolving Landscape. Edited by Maxine N. Lurie and Peter O. Wacker; Cartography by Michael Siegel. New Brunswick, NJ: Rivergate Books, 2009.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ G1255.S5 2009
ALEXANDER REF-FO G1255.S5 2009
Stansfield, Charles A. A Geography of New Jersey: The City in the Garden. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1998.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F134.S79 1998
Snyder, John P. The Mapping of New Jersey: The Men and the Art. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1973.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ GA439.S64
ALEXANDER STACKS GA439.S64
ROBESON STACKS GA439.S64
DANA STACKS GA439.S64
DOUGLASS STACKS GA439.S64
Snyder, John P. The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries, 1606-1968. Trenton, Bureau of Geology and Topography, 1969. See also 1988 supplement (below).
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F142.B7S6 SNCLNJ [2 copies]
ALEXANDER DOCREF F142.B7S6 [2 copies]
ALEXANDER STACKS F142.B7S6
ROBESON REF F142.B7S6
ROBESON STACKS QE141.A19 no. 67
DANA REF QE141.A19 no.67
LSM DOCNJ QE141.A19 no.67
See also the 1988 supplement (below).
Also available as a pdf file from the New Jersey Geological Survey. Includes both the original 1969 publication and the 1988 supplement.
Snyder, John P. The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries. 1988 Supplement. [Trenton]: New Jersey Dept. of Environmental Protection, Division of Water Resources, Geological Survey, 1988.
SPCOL/UA SNCLY2 F142.B7S6 suppl.
Stansfield, Charles A. New Jersey: A Geography. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1983.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F134.S8 1983
Wacker, Peter O. and Paul G. Clemens. Land Use in Early New Jersey: A Historical Geography. Newark: New Jersey Historical Society, 1995.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ HD266.N5W33 1995
