Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Terrestrial Vegetation of the United States: Finding articles

Designed to provide information sources and search ideas for students in Plant Ecology, 21:120:370:01

Searching indexes for article citations

The terms you identified to locate books in the Online Catalog may be used to search for journal articles. When you find relevant articles, look for the subject headings that have been assigned to the article for more possibilities to search. The following journal indexes have plant ecology related content.

  • Agricola (1979+ )     A database focusing on agriculture from the National Agricultural Library.  Help available from the search screen.
  • BIOSIS Previews (1990+ )  Provides comprehensive coverage of the discipline of biological sciences.  Help available from the search screen.  Vendor also has an introductory training video available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBBwWntMN5w
  • CAB Abstracts (1973+ )  Comprehensive database covering the applied life sciences including agriculture, plant science and environmental science.  CABI offers a series of resource guides at http://www.cabi.org/default.aspx?site=170&page=2043
  • Proquest Environmental Science Collection (1967+ )  Collection contains environmental science related full-text articles to provide comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serial.  Includes citations drawn from Ecology Abstracts and Environmental  Sciences and Pollution Management.  Help available from search screen.

You might also try keyword searches on ScienceDirect (1995+ ) or Web of Science (1994+ )

Finding articles in pdf/fulltext

Finding full text in PDF or html

1.  The article is linked to full text from the citation record in the database.  You may see “Full text” or the Adobe Acrobat PDF symbol after the citation, abstract and subject headings.

2.  Click on "Full text" or PDF in the citation record.  You will be connected immediately to the article or to the publisher's page for the article where you can the select PDF.  If the University Libraries does not subscribe to the journal, you will see a page offering you the option to perform a quick search of the library catalog which includes records of all journal holdings owned by the University Libraries.  By clicking on “Search the library catalog by Title,” you can verify that electronic access is not available.  You may also discover that print holdings are held in one or more of the Rutgers libraries.  This may influence your decision to check the shelf or request an electronic copy of the article.

3.  Search the library catalog directly to find information about all journal holdings including their extent and their format.

  • In the center of the page, you'll see a gray search box where Articles is the default.  Use the "Journals" tab, third from the left, to find the journals owned by the University Libraries.  Enter the title you want to know more about.  The journal title is often labeled “Source” in article citations.
  • Look at the journal record.  Following the bibliographic description, you may see the identifier: “Electronic Access.”  The coverage dates will be included in the link so you’ll know in advance whether your article will be included.  When you open the link, you will see a list of volumes, issues and dates or you may see the publisher's page for the journal.  If this is the case, look for "Past Issues" or "Archive."  Then you're all set to use the volume and issue numbers or the date of the article to connect to fulltext.

4.  Consult the listing of Electronic Journals and Publications: https://browzine.com/libraries/1726/subjects

When your article isn't available at Rutgers...

When the University Libraries doesn’t own a journal title you want, you may request a copy of the article from another academic library.  This process usually takes 2-4 days, and you will be notified by email when the article has arrived.  The email message will contain a link to your article. 

Directions for this process may be found on the following pages:
https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/how_do_i/article-request 
https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/borrow-access-request/ill

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.