Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

New York Since 1898: Finding Archival Collections

Rutgers Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives
Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources of a rare, unique, or specialized nature.

Microforms in Alexander Library

Microforms in Alexander Library
Searchable inventory of a substantial portion of the microfilm, microfiche, microprint and microcard collections of manuscripts, pamphlets, government publications, etc. held at Alexander Library, the primary social sciences and humanities research library of the University. It also includes selected holdings for other Rutgers libraries.

Archival Databases/Guides

Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Archival Finding Aids Hosted at New York University
Search across finding aids for collections in the Fales Library & Special Collections (NYU); the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives; New York University Archives; and the New York Historical Society.

Collections of New York Materials

New York City Department of Records and Information Services
Includes the Municipal Archives--which includes office records, manuscript materials, still and moveing images, ledger volumes, vital records, maps, blueprings, and sound recordings accessioned from more than 100 city agencies; The City Hall Library-the statutory depository for all official reports and studies published by New York City government agencies--and the Municipal Records Management Division.
New York Historical Society
The library at the New-York Historical Society is one of the oldest independent research libraries in the United States. Collection strengths include the local history of New York City and State. NYHS collections include 2 million manuscripts, 500,000 photographs, 400,000 prints, 350,000 books and pamphlets, 150,000 architectural drawings, 20,000 broadsides, 15,000 printed maps, 10,000 newspapers and 10,000 dining menus.

Items located at NYHS can be found by search Bobcat, the catalog of the NYU libraries.

Finding Aids for NYHS Manuscript Collections are also available; portions of some important collections are also available digitally.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Cities and Buildings
Includes many collections that focus on New York City, including maps and atlases, photographs, architectural plans, postcards, etc.
NYC Images: Byron Company Collection Online
The Byron Company Collection at the Museum of the City of New York includes over 22,000 photographs of New York City and its environs taken by the Byron Company between 1890 and 1942.

Harlem History
Digital documents, images, oral histories, and interviews relating to the history of Harlem. From the Institute for Research in African-American Studies at Columbia University.
New York City Mayors
Finding aids to the personal papers and official documents (on microfilm) of Mayors Fiorello H. LaGuardia, Robert F. Wagner, Abraham D. Beame, and Edward I. Koch.
New York City Housing Authority Collection
Repository at the LaGuardia and Wagner Archives of LaGuardia Community College/CUNY (Long Island City, Queens). Late 1920s to the 1990s.