Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for News Photos?
DailyNewsPix: Photo Archive of the New York Daily News
Includes current photographs as well as historic images edited from more than six million prints and negatives in the Daily News library. The collection includes staff material dating back to the paper's founding in 1919, and other material dating back to 1880.
Getty Images: The New York Daily News
The Getty Daily News Photo Archive catalogs over 100,000 images that date back to 1919.
New York Times: Photographs: New York
New York Times Photo Archives. The Tumultuous Fifties: A View from the New York Times Photo Archives. New Haven, Yale University Press, 2001.
While articles in the Historical New York Times include photographs, some photographs may be omitted due to copyright issues. These photographs are available on the microfilm edition.
New York Newspapers
- "Tabloids and the City: the New York Daily News, the New York Daily Mirror, and the New York Evening Graphic,"
- Aurora Wallace, Newspapers and the Making of Modern America: A History, Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2005, Chapter 2. Available?
- Jazz Journalism: The Story of the Tabloid Newspapers
- Simon Michael Bessie. New York, Russell & Russell, 1969 [c1938].
- Dana Call Number: PN4888 .T3B4 1969 Available?
- Tell It to Sweeney, the Informal History of the New York Daily News.
- John Arthur Chapman. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1961. Available?
- The Evening Post: A Century of Journalism
- New York, Russell & Russell, 1968 [c1922]
- The Story of the New York Times: The First 100 Years, 1851-1951.
- Meyer Berger. New York, Arno Press, 1970 [c1951]. Available?
- "A height deemed appalling: Nineteenth-century New York newspaper buildings."
- Aurora Wallace. Journalism History 31 (4) Winter 2006, 178-189.
- "In the last quarter of the nineteenth century in New York, the largest newspapers were concentrated along a short stretch of Park Row in lower Manhattan. In this high profile location, the Tribune, the Times, and the World used architecture as a means to forge their corporate identity in the minds of city dwellers."
- Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
New York In the News: Recent Articles
- Access World News
- Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the full text of the New York Daily News (1995- ), the New York Post (11/21/1999- ), and the New York Times (1985- ), as well as other general and ethnic New York newspapers. Also includes transcripts from WABC, WCBS, WNBC, and WNYW news broadcasts (11/20/2006- ). Rutgers-restricted Access
New York In the News: Historical Accounts
Historical New York Times
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The four most recent years are not
included, use WestLaw Campus Research.
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
- Search or browse the Brooklyn Daily Eagle from 1841 to 1902. The Daily Eagle was published as a daily newspaper for 114 years; among the editors of the Eagle were Walt Whitman, Thomas Kinsella, St. Clair McKelway, Cleveland Rodgers, and Frank D. Schroth. A project of Brooklyn Public Library.
- Chicago Defender
- The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the
de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975.
- Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
- Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. For this period includes New York newspapers Irish World and American Industrial Liberator (1890-1899), and the New York Evening Post (1890-1898).
- Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
- New York State Historical Newspapers
- Search pdfs of individual pages of New York State newspapers. Searching is a little ackward: It would appear that the best way to search for the word "negro," for example, in the New York Evening Post in 1920 would be to enter negro new york evening post 1920 as your search term and select "all of the words" from the pull-down menu.
- Chronicling America: Search the Newspaper Pages
- An ongoing project of the Library of Congress to digitize America's historical newspapers. From New York currently includes the Evening World (8/1/1890-3/31/1909); the New York Tribune (1880-1922); and The Sun (7/1/1879-12/31/1910).
- TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- Index to material in the collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive. The database includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) and a daily news program from CNN. Abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Programs include:
- ABC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
- CBS Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
- NBC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
For a fee, the Archive will make copies and lend individuals DVDs of specific broadcasts. You can place an Interlibrary Loan Request for a program. However the Rutgers Libraries will only pay for the first $20 of the fee; the requester would be responsible for the remaining amount. Clips from some broadcasts are also available freely on the site. Rutgers-restricted Access
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies