Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Biology of Cancer: Searching Medline

Designed to help students in 21:120:402:01 find appropriate resources for their paper and poster assignments

Finding articles using Medline

Medline may be accessed from the Libraries home page by clicking on the link, View All Databases, under the search box in the gray area.  The link takes you to the Indexes and Databases page. You'll see two listings, one by broad subject area and the other by title.  Select Medline from the title list.  Or click on Medline here and then click on Connect to begin searching.

A guide to help you search Medline follows: 

Search tip

Search tip:  When you search Medline and the number of articles retrieved seems overwhelming, use the limiting function to restrict your results.  Look for "Review article" in the brief list that displays under the Search box.  When you search for an article for your poster, click on Additional Limits and look for Publication Type.  When you use the pulldown menu, go to Clinical Trial Phase II or Clinical Trial Phase III, whichever is appropriate.

To connect to pdf or full-text articles from your Medline search, you may see Full Text in the side bar to the right in the article record.  If there is no Full Text link, please click on  Get it at R.  You may be taken directly to the full text or to a publisher's site for the article where you'll find pdf as a display choice.  When pdf or full-text is not immediately available, you'll see a screen with a brief citation for your article and some more choices such as searching the online catalog.  Under the header, More Options, you are given the opportunity to "Request this item via interlibrary loan."  Please click here to obtain a copy of the article sent to your desktop.  The process takes 24 hours or less.

 The following video has more information:

Requesting an article

Life Sciences Librarian

Ann Vreeland Watkins's picture
Ann Vreeland Watkins
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library
185 University Ave
Newark, NJ 07102-1814
ann.watkins@rutgers.edu
(973) 353-3809