Videos on the U.S. and American Studies

The Big H 2006? +

Joshua Brown, Stephen Brier, and American Social History Project

A film-noir detective story that is also an introduction to the history of working people and the problems of understanding the past. Private-eye Clio Malarkey investigates "How things got to be the way they are," and in the process learns the importance of studying United States history as well as the dangers of misinterpreting it. 1 videodisc (26 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3213

 

Daughters of free men 2006?

Kate Pfordresher, Joshua Brown, Stephen Brier, and American Social History Project

In this dramatized narrative illustrated with photographs and illustrations from nineteenth century books and periodicals, young Lucy Hall describes the working conditions at the Merrimack Textile Mill in Lowell, Massachusetts in the 1830's and leads the young women in a strike when conditions and wages become intolerable. 1 videodisc (27 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3205

 

Emerson the ideal in America c2007

Jim Manley, David A Beardsley, Stephen D Newman, and Ralph Waldo Emerson Institute

"The first video biography of 'America's Founding Thinker,' Ralph Waldo Emerson. Emerson's belief in 'the infinitude of the private man' still resonates with spiritual seekers today. Most people know Emerson's essay, 'Self-Reliance,' but there is much more to the fascinating life of the man and his circle, which included Henry David Thoreau, Walt Whitman, and Margaret Fuller. The video features interviews with well-known Emerson scholars, including Robert D. Richardson Jr., author of Emerson: The mind on fire. You will never look at Emerson--or yourself--quite the same way again"--Cover. 1 videorecording (53 min.)

MEDIA 10-1468

 

Emma Goldman c2004

Mel Bucklin, Mark Samels, Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), Nebraska Educational Television Network, WGBH (Television station : Boston, Mass.), PBS Home Video, WGBH Educational Foundation, and Nebraskans for Public Television, Inc

A biography of the notorious lecturer, writer, and publisher, including perspectives offered by historians Oz Frankel, Barry Pateman, and Robert Rosenstone; biographer Alice Wexler; novelist E. L. Doctorow; poet Andrei Codrescu; and playwrights Tony Kushner and Martin Duberman. (PBS website). 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.)

MEDIA 10-1847

 

God in America how religious liberty shaped America 2010

David Belton, Cathleen O'Connell, Callie Taintor Wiser, Sarah Colt, Thomas Jennings, Greg Barker, Julie Powell, David Espar, Marilyn H Mellowes, Campbell Scott, Philip Sheppard, WGBH (Television station : Boston, Mass.), WGBH Educational Foundation, and PBS Distribution (Firm)

Tells the sweeping and dramatic story of religious life in America, examining more than 500 years of American religious history, from the voyage of Christopher Columbus to the 2008 presidential election. Examine this history as it has played out in public life, exploring the complex interaction between religion and democracy in the United States; the origins of the American concept of religious liberty; the dynamics of the ever-evolving American religious marketplace; and more. 3 videodiscs (ca. 6 hr.) :

MEDIA 10-2301

 

Hooked illegal drugs and how they got that way c2008

Tom Yaroschuk, Barbara Rosenblat, Tera Media (Firm), History Channel (Television network), and Arts and Entertainment Network

There has been a "drug culture" since the dawn of civilization. HOOKED explores the world of illegal drugs, meeting with pharmacologists and scientists to learn exactly what effect they have on us and exploring the social and legislative changes that have transformed (and, some would argue, created) the drug culture of the 20th century. Outspoken advocates on both sides of the "war on drugs" illuminate this polarizing issue, and fascinating accounts and artifacts illustrate the role of drugs throughout history. 2 videodiscs (ca. 200 min.)

MEDIA 10-1288

 

The Jewish Americans c2008

David Grubin, Liev Schreiber, Greater Washington Educational Telecommunications Association, JTN Productions, WETA-TV (Television station : Washington, D.C.), David Grubin Productions, WNET (Television station : New York, N.Y.), PBS Home Video, and Paramount Home Entertainment (Firm)

Chronicles the 350 year saga of immigrants who gradually wove themselves into the fabric of American life without abandoning their traditions. 2 videodiscs (345 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3419

 

Mafia The history of the Mob in America 2001, c1993

Bill Kurtis, Arts and Entertainment Network, A & E Home Video (Firm), and Osterlund Company

2 videodiscs (ca. 250 min.)

MEDIA 10-315

 

The national parks America's best idea: Episode one: The scripture of nature (1851-1890) c2009

Dayton Duncan, Ken Burns, Peter Coyote, John Muir, Florentine Films, WETA-TV (Television station : Washington, D.C.), Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), PBS Home Video, PBS Distribution (Firm), and National Parks Film Project, LLC

In 1851, word spreads across the country of a beautiful area of California' Yosemite Valley, attracting visitors who wish to exploit the land's scenery for commercial gain and those who wish to keep it pristine. Among the latter is a Scottish-born wanderer named John Muir, for whom protecting the land becomes a spiritual calling. In 1864, Congress passes an act that protects Yosemite from commercial development for "public use, resort and recreation" the first time in world history that any government has put forth this idea and hands control of the land to California. Meanwhile, a "wonderland" in the northwest corner of the Wyoming territory attracts visitors to its bizarre landscape of geysers, mud pots and sulfur pits. In 1872, Congress passes an act to protect this land as well. Since it is located in a territory, rather than a state, it becomes America' first national park: Yellowstone. 1 videodisc (139 min.)

MEDIA 10-1624

 

The national parks America's best idea: Episode two: The last refuge (1890-1915) c2009

Dayton Duncan, Ken Burns, Peter Coyote, Florentine Films, WETA-TV (Television station : Washington, D.C.), Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), PBS Home Video, PBS Distribution (Firm), and National Parks Film Project, LLC

By the end of the 19th century, widespread industrialization has left many Americans worried about whether the country will have any pristine land left. At the same time, poachers in the parks are rampant, and visitors think nothing of littering or carving their names near iconic sites like Old Faithful. Congress has yet to establish clear judicial authority or appropriations for the protection of the parks. This sparks a conservation movement by organizations such as the Sierra Club, led by John Muir; the Audubon Society, led by George Bird Grinnell; and the Boone and Crockett Club, led by Theodore Roosevelt. The movement fails, however, to stop San Francisco from building the Hetch Hetchy dam at Yosemite, flooding Muir's "mountain temple" and leaving him broken-hearted before he dies. 1 videodisc (ca. 155 min.)

MEDIA 10-1625

 

Perils of the new land films of the immigrant experience (1910-1915) 2008

Giorgio Bertellini, Shelley Stamp, Philip Carli, Rodney Sauer, Thomas A Edison, George Beban, Clara Williams, J. Frank Burke, Ethel Grandin, Matt Moore, Jane Gail, Thomas H Ince, Reginald Barker, Eugene Nowland, George Loane Tucker, Walter McNamara, Harry Beaumont, Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra, Paramount Pictures Corporation, New York Motion Pictures Corporation, Universal Film Manufacturing Company, and Flicker Alley (Firm)

Four films that address the immigrant experience in the United States in the early twentieth century. 2 videodiscs (ca. 194 min.)

MEDIA 10-1427

 

A ride along the Lincoln Highway c2008

Rick Sebak, WQED (Television station : Pittsburgh, Pa.), and  PBS Home Video

Examines some of the history of the road, which runs from New York City to San Francisco and shows some of the joys of riding along it today. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 10-1596

 

Route 66, an American odyssey c2002

John Paget, James Jenner, Bobby Troup, and Pacific Communications (Firm)

Documentary about the building of Route 66 and its golden days.  Route 66 was once the main highway from Chicago to Los Angeles. Covers the 1920s through the 1990s. 1 videodisc (115 min.)

MEDIA 10-1608

 

Royal rule and religious revival c1993

Explores the political, social, and religious conditions of colonial New Jersey under royal rule, including property disputes between the proprietors and occupants of the newly-unified colony and the effects of the widespread religious revival known as the Great Awakening which swept the colonies at the time. 1 videocassette (26 min., 20 sec.)

MEDIA 10-3858

 

Tea Party etiquette 2006?

Joshua Brown, Stephen Brier, and American Social History Project

In this dramatized narrative illustrated with photographs and illustrations from nineteenth century books and periodicals, a poor shoemaker from colonial Boston, George Robert Twelves Hewes, describes his experiences in the struggle for American independence, revealing how working people helped make the American Revolution and how they were changed in the process. 1 videodisc (28 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3206

 

Treasures 5 2011

Celebrated is the dynamic, gender-bending, ethnically diverse West that flourished in early movies. Presented is the American West as it was recorded and imagined in the first decades of motion pictures. "Brings together 40 silent and early sound films--narrative shorts and features, documentaries, promotional films, newsreel stories, and travelogues--showcasing the American West as it was recorded and imagined from 1898 to 1938." -- Booklet, p. viii. 3 videodiscs (596 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3741

 

Treasures from American film archives 50 preserved films c2005

The 4 part DVD set is an anthology of films from 18 American film archives. Films include documentaries, newsreels, the earliest American movies, avant-garde and independent works, pioneering special effects, amateur and home movies, animated and industrial films, and silent movies from the first hundred years of motion pictures (1893-1985). Program 3 of this 4 part set contains 10 films. 1 videodisc (ca. 161 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3737 disc 3

 

Treasures from American film archives 50 preserved films c2005

The 4 part DVD set is an anthology of films from 18 American film archives. Films include documentaries, newsreels, the earliest American movies, avant-garde and independent works, pioneering special effects, amateur and home movies, animated and industrial films, and silent movies from the first hundred years of motion pictures (1893-1985). Program 2 of this 4 part set contains 14 films. 1 videodisc (ca. 164 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3737 disc 2

 

Treasures from American film archives 50 preserved films c2005

The 4 part DVD set is an anthology of films from 18 American film archives. Films include documentaries, newsreels, the earliest American movies, avant-garde and independent works, pioneering special effects, amateur and home movies, animated and industrial films, and silent movies from the first hundred years of motion pictures (1893-1985). Program 4 of this 4 part set contains 12 films. 1 videodisc (ca. 160 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3737 disc 4

 

Treasures from American film archives 50 preserved films c2005

The 4 part DVD set is an anthology of films from 18 American film archives. Films include documentaries, newsreels, the earliest American movies, avant-garde and independent works, pioneering special effects, amateur and home movies, animated and industrial films, and silent movies from the first hundred years of motion pictures (1893-1985). Program 1 of this 4 part set contains 14 films. 1 videodisc (ca. 157 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3737 disc 1

 

Treasures III social issues in American film, 1900-1934 2007

The third program in a series of 48 movies that helped change America. During the first decades of the 20th century no issue was too controversial for movies ... from prohibition to abortion, unions, atheism, the vote for women, worker safety, juvenile justice, homelessness and immigration, these films became the catalyst for social change. 1 videodisc (193 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3739 disc 3

 

Treasures III social issues in American film, 1900-1934 2007

The fourth and final program in a series of 48 movies that helped change America. During the first decades of the 20th century no issue was too controversial for movies ... from prohibition to abortion, unions, atheism, the vote for women, worker safety, juvenile justice, homelessness and immigration, these films became the catalyst for social change. 1 videodisc (182 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3739 disc 4

 

Treasures III social issues in American film, 1900-1934 2007

The second program in a series of 48 movies that helped change America. During the first decades of the 20th century no issue was too controversial for movies ... from prohibition to abortion, unions, atheism, the vote for women, worker safety, juvenile justice, homelessness and immigration, these films became the catalyst for social change. 1 videodisc (188 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3739 disc 2

 

Treasures III social issues in American film, 1900-1934 2007

The first program in a series of 48 movies that helped change America. During the first decades of the 20th century no issue was too controversial for movies ... from prohibition to abortion, unions, atheism, the vote for women, worker safety, juvenile justice, homelessness and immigration, these films became the catalyst for social change. 1 videodisc (177 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3739 disc 1

 

Unchained memories readings from the slave narratives c2003

Jacqueline Glover, Thomas Lennon, Mark Jonathan Harris, Ed Bell, Angela Bassett, Michael Boatman, Roscoe Lee Browne, Don Cheadle, Ossie Davis, Ruby Dee, Robert Guillaume, Jasmine Guy, C. C. H Pounder, Roger Guenveur Smith, Courtney B Vance, Vanessa Williams, Oprah Winfrey, Alfre Woodard, Whoopi Goldberg, Juliet Weber, HBO Documentary Films, Library of Congress, and HBO Video (Firm)

When the Civil War ended in 1865, more than 4 million slaves were set free.  By the late 1930's, 100,000 former slaves were still alive. In the midst of the Great Depression, journalists and writers traveled the country to record the memories of the last generation of African-Americans born into bondage. Over 2,000 interviews were transcribed as spoken, in the vernacular of the time, to form a unique historical record. 1 videodisc (75 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 22 10-405

 

The way West how the West was lost and won 2006

David G McCullough, Russell Baker, Ric Burns, Lisa Ades, Steeplechase Films Inc, and PBS Home Video

Chronicles the final decades of the American frontier from the time of the Gold Rush until after the last gasp of the Indian wars at Wounded Knee. 2 videodiscs (360 min.)

MEDIA 10-2075

 

We all fall down the American mortgage crisis c2009

Gary Gasgarth, Kevin Stocklin, Paul Sorvino, Second Act Films (Firm), and Icarus Films

A chronicle of America's mortgage finance crisis, from the mortgage system as it existed in the 1930s to its current state of disrepair. The film interviews various experts in the field, seeking to provide audiences with clearly stated explanations of how the typically stable U.S. mortgage loan came to represent massive instabilities of the American economy. 1 videodisc (66 min.)

MEDIA 10-1830

 

The West c2010

Ken Burns, Stephen Ives, Geoffrey C Ward, Dayton Duncan, Jody Abramson, Michael Kantor, Peter Coyote, Insignia Films, WETA-TV (Television station : Washington, D.C.), Florentine Films, Time Life Video & Television, West Film Project, Inc , Greater Washington Educational Telecommunications Association, PBS Home Video, and Paramount Home Video (Firm)

Chronicles the history of the American West, starting with the first European explorations and ending with the beginning of the 20th century. Examines the impact of the white settlers on the lives of the Native Americans and the land. Also discusses the Gold Rush, the Civil War, the building of the transcontinental railroad, the battle of Little Bighorn, and the massacre at Wounded Knee. 5 videodiscs (711 min.) :

MEDIA. MEDIA 10-3704 discs 1-3 10-3704 discs 4-5

 

1877 the grand army of starvation 1984

Stephen Brier, Charles Musser, and James Earl Jones

Re-enactment of the great railroad strike and general uprising of 1877. In the summer of that year, a rebellion by hundreds of thousands of Americans paralyzed the nation. Outraged by the excessive greed of railroad "barons" and the misery of a four-year depression, railroad strikers and sympathizers across the country clashed with police, militia, and federal troops, leaving over one hundred dead and thousands wounded. 1 videocassette(25 min.)

MEDIA D-446

 

50 great years in American military history 1997

This program chronicles the distinguished history of the US armed  forces. Starting in 1775,it highlights the 50 landmark years in American military development, from the biggest battles... to the smallest details in the advancement of soldiers. sailors, airmen and marines that make up our great military. 1 videocassette (45 min.)

DANA 1112

 

Abraham Lincoln 1980, 1930

Joseph M Schenck, D. W Griffith, Stephen Vincent Benét, Walter Huston, Una Merkel, Ian Keith, and Henry B Walthall

Dramatization of Lincoln's entry into politics, his romance with Ann Rutledge and his years as president of the nation during the Civil War. 1 videocassette (85 min.)

MEDIA 2-2848

 

Abraham Lincoln a new birth of freedom 1992

Andrew Young, Bill Jersey, and Judith Leonard

Describes Abraham Lincoln as a person and tells of his responsibility in bringing an end to slavery in the United States. 1 videocasssette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4003

 

Across the sea of grass 1991

Ned Kelly, Susan Western, and George Page

Trace the journey of Lewis and Clark and other early pioneers of the land beyond the Mississippi who made their way across the plains that were home to buffalo, grizzly bear, pocket gophers, pronghorn antelope, and tribes of Mandan, Sioux and Pawnie.  See how thousands of these determined settlers turned these wild lands into wheat fields.  And understand why the destruction of the vast buffalo herds had such an impact on the Indian population who depended on them. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4201

 

All across America  1997

Michael Murphy and Mark Zwonitzer

Documents the Irish immigration to the United States in the 19th century. The Irish were poorly received in America, nevertheless they spread out across the country and built communities for themselves. The success of three individuals--John L. Sullivan, John Mackay, and Marcus Daly--is highlighted. 1 videocassette (115 min.)

MEDIA 2-4273

 

America 1996

D. W Griffith, Paul Killiam, Robert W Chambers, Lionel Barrymore, Neil Hamilton, Erville Alderson, Carol Dempster, Killiam (Paul) Collection (Library of Congress), and Critics' Choice Video (Firm)

Includes excerpts from D.W. Griffith's epic historical spectacle on the American Revolution. The history of the American Revolution, based on a story by Robert Chambers, was shot in the Williamsburg Restoration and on plantations along the James River. 1 videocassette (ca. 95 min.)

MEDIA 2-6855

 

American dreaming Atlantic City's casino gamble 1990

Michael Penland and Rochelle Oliver

Combines unique archival footage with testimony from embattled residents to trace the rise and fall of Atlantic city, as well as the current attempt to revitalize this famous resort city by legalizing casino gambling. 1 videocassette (ca. 52 min.)

MEDIA 2-1800

 

The American president 2000

Philip B Kunhardt, Philip B Kunhardt, Peter W Kunhardt, Richard E Neustadt, Hugh Sidey, and Philip B Kunhardt

Nearly one in five American presidents has died in office. The vice presidents who succeeded them were often chosen because of their electoral advantage rather than their equality to the office of president. This episode profiles John Tyler, Millard Fillmore, Andrew Johnson, Chester A. Arthur and Harry Truman. 1 videocassette (55 min.)

MEDIA 2-4318

 

Arguing the world 1997

Joseph Dorman and Alan Rosenberg

Traces the lives of Daniel Bell, Nathan Glazer, Irving Howe and Irving Kristol as young idealists at City College in the 1940s, their controversial role in the McCarthy era, their battle with the New Left in the sixties, and their vastly differing political views today. 1 videocassette (107 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 1192 2-3828

 

Asylum 1988

Sarah Mondale, Sarah B Patton, and Joan MacIntosh

Follows society's struggle to find a humane and effective means of caring for the mentally ill. Features archival footage and interviews with former patients of St. Elizabeth's Hospital, national mental institution for over 130 years. 1 videocassette (57 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 264 2-2527

 

Benjamin Franklin 2002

Ellen Hovde, Muffie Meyer, Ronald Blumer, Colm Feore, Richard Easton, and Dylan Baker

2 videocassettes (210 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-4367 cassette 1 2-4368 cassette 2

 

The Best of see it now 1991

Mike Wallace, Edward R Murrow, Bernard Birnbaum, and S Roberts

Murrow's award winning program "See it now" invited viewers to witness history and to meet the people directly shaping events. 1 videocassette (90 min.)

MEDIA 2-2480

 

Buffalo Creek revisited 1985

Mimi Pickering, Scott Faulkner, Herby Smith, and Marty Newell

Presents a documentary on the aftermath of the collapse of a company-owned coal-waste dam that took more than 125 lives in the West Virginia coal mining region of Buffalo Creek in 1972. Uses newsreel footage, old photographs, newspaper headlines, aerial views, and an automobile tour. 1 videocassette (31 min.)

MEDIA 2-2525

 

Carved in silence Felicia Lowe

Documentary about Chinese immigration to the United States and the discriminatory U.S. immigration policy toward Asians. Tells the dramatic story of Angel Island where Chinese Americans were detained and vigorously questioned for sometimes up to three years before being allowed to enter the country. 1 videocassette (45 min.)

MEDIA 2-3913

 

The chair 1998

Michael Pennington and Nicholas O'Dwyer

Documentary that traces the development of the electric chair including the involvement of Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse. Documents the cruelty of the first use of the electric chair to execute a convicted felon. 1 videocassette (49 min.)

MEDIA 2-3961

 

The colonization of North America: English settlements c2003

Ned Rodgers, Greg Heimer, Full Circle Entertainment, Goldhil Home Media International (Firm), and Goldhil Video (Firm)

Part 1. Studies the 17th century settlement of Roanoke, a small island on the coast of present-day North Carolina, whose settlers vanished without a trace. Also examines the Dutch settlement of new Netherlands in the Hudson Valley and New Sweden in the Delaware Valley. Part 2. Looks at the second permanent English settlement, in Plymouth, Mass. and other settlements along the Eastern seaboard. Also explores Puritan intolerance and the Salem Witch Trials. 2 videocassettes (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 2-7178, 7179

 

The D & R 1974

Cliff Crawford and Jean Shepherd

Presents a history of the Delaware and Raritan Canal, once the busiest and most valuable waterway in the United States. Tells of its construction, life along the prosperous canal, its abandonment, and its subsequent recreational use. 1 videocassette (29 min.)

MEDIA D-60

 

Dark passages 1995

Tanya Hart, Valerie F Whitmore, Wally Ashby, Louis Gossett, and Margaret Avery

Employs a mixture of interviews, slave narratives, and dramatization. Tells the story of the impact of the Atlantic slave trade. 1 videocassette (50 min.)

DANA 1831

 

Death runs riot 1996

Stephen Ives, Ken Burns, Peter Coyote, Jody Abramson, and Michael Kantor

In the 1850s, as more American pioneers poured west, they brought with them the nation's oldest, most divisive issue--slavery--and the rough frontier would supply the sparks that would ignite the Civil War. Indians would be dragged into "the white man's war," while the besieged Mormons would commit the worst massacre of innocent pioneers in American history and a young writer named Sam Clemens would find adventure in Nevada's silver camps. And as the bitter Civil War drew to a close, celebrated Union heros such as George Armstrong Custer and William Tecumseh Sherman would use the tactics which had defeated the South against the Native Americans of the West. 1 videocassette (84 min.)

DANA. MEDIA. MEDIA 1266 2-3222 2-4233

 

The Donner Party 1992

Ric Burns, Lisa Ades, and David G McCullough

Tells the story of the ill-fated Donner Party and their doomed attempts to get to California in 1846. 1 videocassette (84 min.)

MEDIA 2-2142

 

Edison's miracle of light 1996

Matthew Collins, John Walter, David G McCullouch, and Peter Coyote

The history of Thomas Edison's invention of the light bulb and his subsequent battle with George Westinghouse over the type of electric current to be used are covered. The launching of the Edison General Electric Company is also discussed. 1 videocassette (57 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2908 2-4065

 

Emerson the ideal in America c2007

Jim Manley, David A Beardsley, Stephen D Newman, and Ralph Waldo Emerson Institute

"The first video biography of 'America's Founding Thinker,' Ralph Waldo Emerson. Emerson's belief in 'the infinitude of the private man' still resonates with spiritual seekers today. Most people know Emerson's essay, 'Self-Reliance,' but there is much more to the fascinating life of the man and his circle, which included Henry David Thoreau, Walt Whitman, and Margaret Fuller. The video features interviews with well-known Emerson scholars, including Robert D. Richardson Jr., author of Emerson: The mind on fire. You will never look at Emerson--or yourself--quite the same way again"--Cover. 1 videorecording (53 min.)

MEDIA 10-1468

 

Emma Goldman c2004

Mel Bucklin, Mark Samels, Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), Nebraska Educational Television Network, WGBH (Television station : Boston, Mass.), PBS Home Video, WGBH Educational Foundation, and Nebraskans for Public Television, Inc

A biography of the notorious lecturer, writer, and publisher, including perspectives offered by historians Oz Frankel, Barry Pateman, and Robert Rosenstone; biographer Alice Wexler; novelist E. L. Doctorow; poet Andrei Codrescu; and playwrights Tony Kushner and Martin Duberman. (PBS website). 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.)

MEDIA 10-1847

 

An empire of reason 1998

Ellen Hovde, Muffie Meyer, Ronald Blumer, and Cokie Roberts

A presentation of how T.V. newscasters might have covered the ratification fight that went on in the states after the Constitution was written. The convention in New York in July, 1788 is specifically highlighted. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-3710

 

The first measured century 2000

John C Sorensen, John Mernit, Vincent J Cannato, and Ben J Wattenberg

Looks at American history through data and measurement, revealing how the lives of everyday Americans have changed over the last century. Includes commentary by Theodore Caplow, a professor of sociology, and Bruce Geelhoed of Ball State University's Center for Middletown Studies. 2 videocassettes (185 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-4343 cassette 1 2-4344 cassette 2

 

Freedom, a history of US 2003

Joy Hakin, Peter W Kunhardt, Philip B Kunhardt, Philip B Kunhardt, Nancy Steiner, Joy Hakim, Katie Couric, and Eric Foner

This video looks at Susan B. Anthony and women's right to vote. It looks at the Gilded Age and the labor movement. Abuse of John D. Rockefeller's Standart Oil Company is exposed. The Statue of liberty, the child labor issue and America's first social worker are examined. 1 videocassette (ca. 50 min.)

DANA 1781

 

The Garcia family 1982

Margaret M Sloane and Maria Mar

The Puerto Rican American story is told through an overview of Puerto Rico's history, a survey of the development of Puerto Rican American communities in the United States through a century of change, and the experiences of several generations of the Garcia family. 1 filmstrip ([126] fr.)

DANA 98

 

Gold fever 1997

Harris Yulin, Susan Steinberg, Ian Bodenham, and David G McCullough

"Tells the personal stories of a handful of the prospectors who, in January 1898, traveled to the Klondike in search of easy wealth, but instead came upon conmen, thieves and avalanches"--Container. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4005

 

Golden twenties 198-?

Frederick Lewis Allen, Robert Q Lewis, Allen Prescott, Red Barker, Elmer Davis, and Richard De Rochemont

Recalls the historic events, fashions, and personalities in the news during the 1920's. 2 videocassettes (ca. 67 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2006 cassette 1 2-2007 cassette 2

 

The Grandest enterprise under God 1996

Stephen Ives, Ken Burns, Peter Coyote, Jody Abramson, and Michael Kantor

After the Civil War Americans embarked on one of the greatest technological achievements of the age--building the first transcontinental railroad to conquer forbidding mountains, harsh deserts and awesome distances. Railroads soon transformed the West, bringing European farmers, while cowpokes such as Teddy Blue Abbott would ride dusty cattle trails to deliver herds to railheads such as Dodge and Abilene, while buffalo hunters such as Frank Mayer would drive a magnificent animal to near extinction. 1 videocassette (86 min.)

DANA. MEDIA. MEDIA 1267 2-3223 2-4234

 

The great encounter 1991

Peter Crawford, George Page, and Steve Nicholls

Witness the struggles of the early English colonists of Roanoke Island, the Chesapeake Bay area, and the Pilgrim settlements of Massachusetts as they fought to establish dominion over the land.  Then contrast the European wilderness encounters with the spiritual beliefs of the Cherokee and Powhatan Indians who recognized seasonal rhythms and respected wildlife . 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4198

 

The great hunger 1997

Michael Murphy, Thomas Brown, Thomas Lennon, and Jane West

Follows the Irish immigration to America. This episode explores the great potato famine, which precipitated the mass emigration. 1 videocassette (85 min.)

MEDIA 2-4272

 

Hawaii's last queen 1997

Vivian Ducat

This is a biography of Hawaii's last monarch, Queen Liliuokalani, who fought wealthy white sugar growers in their efforts to assume political control of Hawaii.  She yielded her throne in 1893, surrendering at gun point to U.S. Marines. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA     DANA 2-4006         1021

 

The Helping hand 1984

Janet Roach, Bill D Moyers, and Bernard A Weisberger

Looks at how the New Deal helped to create jobs during the Depression. Interviews former Civilian Conservation Corps workers who benefited from these programs. 1 videocassette (VHS) (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-87

 

High tide of the Confederacy 1987

Peter Batty

The going gets tough for everyone in 1862, even for President Lincoln. His military commanders are squabbling, his political popularity is waning, and the North seems unable to exploit its industrial and numerical superiority. The South learns that neither strength or time are on their side, and help from Europe won't materialize. The pace begins to quicken in the summer of 1863. The Union's decisive victory at Gettysburg where one-third of General Lee's forces are destroyed, and the capture of the strategic port of Vicksburg on the Mississippi River one day later, mark a crucial turning point. 1 videocassette (51 min.)

MEDIA 2-497

 

Hooked illegal drugs and how they got that way c2008

Tom Yaroschuk, Barbara Rosenblat, Tera Media (Firm), History Channel (Television network), and Arts and Entertainment Network

There has been a "drug culture" since the dawn of civilization. HOOKED explores the world of illegal drugs, meeting with pharmacologists and scientists to learn exactly what effect they have on us and exploring the social and legislative changes that have transformed (and, some would argue, created) the drug culture of the 20th century. Outspoken advocates on both sides of the "war on drugs" illuminate this polarizing issue, and fascinating accounts and artifacts illustrate the role of drugs throughout history. 2 videodiscs (ca. 200 min.)

MEDIA 10-1288

 

Industrialization & urbanization (1870-1910) c1996

Henry Nevison, Dana Palermo, Art Levy, Jonathan Zimmerman, Margaret Hennessy, Hollis Payer, InVision Communications, and Schlessinger Video Productions

Examines the railroads; the rise of heavy industry and the birth of corporate America; extractive industries; the cattle frontier and the Homestead Act of 1862; mechanized farming and the argicultural revolution; immigration and the migration west; the rise of the industrial cities; pollution; and the birth of the conservation movement. 1 videocassette (ca. 35 min.)

MEDIA 2-6605

 

Into the rising sun 1999

Alice Milheiro, Kaye L Gustafson, M. Melanie Pefinis, Luc Cuyvers, and John Vermilye

While Christopher Columbus charted a route West from Europe, there was another set of adventurers whose exploits were at least as influential.  Part history, part travelogue, 'Into The Rising Sun' is the story of those men:  Portuguese explorers who charted the course east to India, mapping the coastline of Africa and establishing the beginning of a world economy. 4 videocassettes (208 min.)

DANA. DANA. DANA. DANA 1396 cassette 1 1396 cassette 2 1396 cassette 3 1396 cassette 4

 

The Iron road 1990

Neil Goodwin, David G McCullough, and Leif Ancker

With the discovery of gold in 1849 in the Californian hills, fortune hunters poured into the western United States so fast that, in 1850, California was added to the union as a state.  Here is the story of the completion of the transcontinental railroad which reduced the cross-country trip to just nine and one half days, and meant for the first time that the United States was truly united. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-1358 2-4022

 

Jefferson's blood c2000

Thomas Lennon, Shelby Steele, PBS Video, WGBH Educational Foundation, and Lennon Documentary Group

Examines Thomas Jefferson's life and follows the descendents of Jefferson and his slave Sally Hemings as they search their family history and sort out their place along America's blurred color line. 1 videocassette (87 min.)

MEDIA 2-6704

 

Juvenile justice in the United States a video history 1992

Jack Tanzman and Mark Schaeffer

Presents a brief history of progress made in the American juvenile justice system over the past 200 years. Includes rare archival photographs, contemporary footage, and interviews with experts in the field. 1 videocassette (24 min.)

MEDIA 2-5376

 

Lakota woman 1994

Irene Bedard, Fred Berner, Mary Brave Bird, Tantoo Cardinal, Richard Erdoes, Pato Hoffmann, Bill Kerby, Frank R Pierson, Joseph Runningfox, August Schellenberg, Floyd Red Crow Westerman, and Hanay Geiogamah

"This is the inspiring, true story of the 1973 uprising that united Native Americans in their fight for survival.  One woman rises from ignorance and fear to meet the challenge of her proud heritage during a bloody seige in which 2,000 Native Americans stood their ground and vowed never to be silent again"--Container. 1 videocassette (113 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 1160 2-2607

 

Last Pullman car 1996

The story of the closing of the last factory in America to manufacture subway and railroad cars.  Shows the confrontation between Pullman workers fighting to save their jobs and the modern Pullman conglomerate. 1 videocassette (56 min.)

DANA 925

 

Legacies of social change 100 years of professional social work in the U.S 2001

Jacqueline Offenbach, Eric Christenson, and Kirk Penberthy

"This two-part video takes viewers through the birth and growth of social work in the United States.  Many of social work's early and recent leaders are featured. 1 videocassette (53 min.)

MEDIA 2-5000

 

Lewis & Clark the journey of the Corps of Discovery 1997

Dayton Duncan, Ken Burns, and Hal Holbrook

Tells the story of the most important expedition in American history, led by Captains Meriwether Lewis and William Clark. 4 videocassettes (220 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA 2-4248 cassette 1 2-4249 cassette 2 2-4250 cassette 3 2-4251 cassette 4

 

The life and times of Judge Roy Bean  1972, 1989

John Huston, John Foreman, John Milius, Paul Newman, Jacqueline Bisset, Tab Hunter , Stacy Keach, Roddy McDowall, Anthony Perkins, Anthony Zerbe, Ava Gardner, and Victoria Principal

A western saga about the frontier legend Judge Roy Bean (Newman) who waltzes into the tiny Texas town of Vinegaroon and decides to take over. 1 videocassette (124 min.)

MEDIA 2-3374

 

Living on the edge  1991

George Page and Paul Reddish

Beginning with the first Spanish explorers searching for gold, journey through the harsh terrain of the American Southwest and learn how plants, animals and early pioneers, from priests to miners, adapted to the desert.  Understand the relationships that Native Amerian Papago and Pima tribes had with the arid land.  And see how irrigation brought water to the region and forever changed its natural history. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4203

 

Mafia The history of the Mob in America 2001, c1993

Bill Kurtis, Arts and Entertainment Network, A & E Home Video (Firm), and Osterlund Company

2 videodiscs (ca. 250 min.)

MEDIA 10-315

 

A Man, a plan, a canal, Panama 1987

Carl Charlson and David G McCullough

Construction of the 50-mile canal across the Isthmus of Panama took 33 years and cost the United States and France more than $600 million and over 25,000 lives. However, by the time it was completed, the canal was recognized as the engineering marvel of its day. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-2008

 

The Merlin family 1982

Paul Kresh, Milton Meltzer, and Eli Wallach

The story of American Jews is told through an overview of their history, a survey of the development of Jewish American communities in the United States through a century of change, and the experiences of several generations of the Merlin family. 1 filmstrip ([133] fr.)

DANA 103

 

Mill times 2002

David Macauley, Larry Klein, Mark Olshaker, and David Macaulay

Live action segments follow the Industrial Revolution from Manchester, England to Lowell, Massachusetts. The animated story centers on a small New England community similar to Pawtucket, Rhode Island, where the first textile mill was established in America. 1 videocassette (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4016a

 

Monkey trial 2002

Christine Lesiak and Linda Hunt

The trial of John Scopes, a Tennesee biology teacher arrested in 1925 for teaching Darwin's theory of evolution. The Scopes trial was America's first major media event. 1 videocassette (90 min.)

MEDIA 2-4048a

The most valuable Englishman ever 200-

Kenneth Griffith, John Hefin, Michel Pearce, British Broadcasting Corporation, and Global Visions (Firm)

In what may be his greatest masterpiece, Kenneth Griffith explains the "why's" in the life of Thomas Paine -- possibly doing justice to his memory. 1 videocassette (ca. 90 min.)

MEDIA 2-6867

 

Mount Rushmore 2002

Mark Zwonitzer and Michael Murphy

Chronicles the story of sculptor Gutzon Borglum and the massive project of sculpting Mount Rushmore in the midst of adversity and an economic depression. 1 videocassette (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4363

 

The national parks America's best idea: Episode one: The scripture of nature (1851-1890) c2009

Dayton Duncan, Ken Burns, Peter Coyote, John Muir, Florentine Films, WETA-TV (Television station : Washington, D.C.), Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), PBS Home Video, PBS Distribution (Firm), and National Parks Film Project, LLC

In 1851, word spreads across the country of a beautiful area of California' Yosemite Valley, attracting visitors who wish to exploit the land's scenery for commercial gain and those who wish to keep it pristine. Among the latter is a Scottish-born wanderer named John Muir, for whom protecting the land becomes a spiritual calling. In 1864, Congress passes an act that protects Yosemite from commercial development for "public use, resort and recreation" the first time in world history that any government has put forth this idea and hands control of the land to California. Meanwhile, a "wonderland" in the northwest corner of the Wyoming territory attracts visitors to its bizarre landscape of geysers, mud pots and sulfur pits. In 1872, Congress passes an act to protect this land as well. Since it is located in a territory, rather than a state, it becomes America' first national park: Yellowstone. 1 videodisc (139 min.)

MEDIA 10-1624

 

The national parks America's best idea: Episode two: The last refuge (1890-1915) c2009

Dayton Duncan, Ken Burns, Peter Coyote, Florentine Films, WETA-TV (Television station : Washington, D.C.), Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.), PBS Home Video, PBS Distribution (Firm), and National Parks Film Project, LLC

By the end of the 19th century, widespread industrialization has left many Americans worried about whether the country will have any pristine land left. At the same time, poachers in the parks are rampant, and visitors think nothing of littering or carving their names near iconic sites like Old Faithful. Congress has yet to establish clear judicial authority or appropriations for the protection of the parks. This sparks a conservation movement by organizations such as the Sierra Club, led by John Muir; the Audubon Society, led by George Bird Grinnell; and the Boone and Crockett Club, led by Theodore Roosevelt. The movement fails, however, to stop San Francisco from building the Hetch Hetchy dam at Yosemite, flooding Muir's "mountain temple" and leaving him broken-hearted before he dies. 1 videodisc (ca. 155 min.)

MEDIA 10-1625

 

Not for ourselves alone the story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony 1999?

Ken Burns, Paul Barnes, and Geoffrey C Ward

The dramatic, little-known story of one of the most compelling friendships in American history.  Elizabeth Stanton and Susan Anthony were born into a world ruled entirely by men.  By the time their lives were over, they had changed for the better the lives of a majority of American citizens. Their personal relationship was often turbulent but they never wavered in their shared belief that equality was the birthright of every woman, and for more than half a century led the fight to make that dream a reality. An account of these two women's struggle against slavery and for women's suffrage in the United State is provided. 2 videocassettes (3 hrs., 30 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA                                       DANA 2-4300 cassette 1 2-4301 cassette 2         1361

 

The Only rule is win 1989, 1988

Bill Kurtis and Arthur Barron

This program looks at the origin of the FBI and the wartime Office of Strategic Services (OSS), the forerunner of the CIA. This brief history considers several critical events that shaped the operating style of the agency. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-1779

 

The orphan trains 1995

Janet Graham, Edward Gray, Stacy Keach, David G McCullough, Josh Waletzky, and Kenneth Lewis

An examination of the results of the Children's Aid Society in New York which from 1853 to 1929 send over 100,000 unwanted and orphan children from the city to homes in rural America. 1 videocassette (57 min.)

DANA. MEDIA. MEDIA 1019 2-3086 2-4067

 

Our American landscape 1997

Enjoy the natural beauty of America while learning fascinating information and little know facts about each state. Visit the highest mountains, the lowest deserts and the biggest swamplands on this whirlwind,  state-by-state trip across America. 1 videocassette (50 min.)

DANA 1116

 

Out of Ireland 1995, 1994

Paul Wagner, Ellen Casey Wagner, Kerby A Miller, Kelly McGillis, Neil Means, and Reid Occhslin

Examines the history of the seven million Irish who emigrated to America in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries including the causes of the exodus and the immigrant experience in the United States.  Uses photographs, archival footage, manuscript material and interviews with Irish immigrants to describe their experiences and the profound influence they have had on American culture. 2 videocassettes (167 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA 2-3115 cassette 1 2-3116 cassette 2 2-4211 cassette 3 2-4212 cassette 4

 

Perils of the new land films of the immigrant experience (1910-1915) 2008

Giorgio Bertellini, Shelley Stamp, Philip Carli, Rodney Sauer, Thomas A Edison, George Beban, Clara Williams, J. Frank Burke, Ethel Grandin, Matt Moore, Jane Gail, Thomas H Ince, Reginald Barker, Eugene Nowland, George Loane Tucker, Walter McNamara, Harry Beaumont, Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra, Paramount Pictures Corporation, New York Motion Pictures Corporation, Universal Film Manufacturing Company, and Flicker Alley (Firm)

Four films that address the immigrant experience in the United States in the early twentieth century. 2 videodiscs (ca. 194 min.)

MEDIA 10-1427

 

The Promised land 1997

An eight part series presenting American history through its visual art, painting, sculpture, architecture and monuments. In this second segment early settlers in the "Promised land" strive to carve out an identity in a virgin land while in the West, Spanish missions use art to convert the natives. In the East, plain Protestant settlers are suspicious of art's pleasures while in Virginia, an exiled aristocracy, strives to recreate its ideal of England. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4079

 

Public trust or private property 1993

Mary Megee

Edwin Newman hosts this look at the history of television broadcasting policy in the United States. Beginning with the government's early decision to give away this valuable resource, progressing through the phases of regulation and deregulation, the question of public interest, and the fairness doctrine it comes to present questions of balancing the public control of a very powerful medium with the desire of corporations to maximize profits. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-2344

 

The Real west 1990

Don Bower and John Bianco

A story of the American West, using vintage photographs and new film.  Tells about hardship, hunger, failure, and murder, the wild fun of gold rushes, the cow towns, and the peace officers who were cowards; describes an army whose task it was to vanquish a people fighting for its homeland and worthless men who have become heroes on television. 1 videocassette (54 min.)

MEDIA 2-1209

 

Remember the alamo c2004

Joseph Tovares, Hector Elizondo, PBS Video , WGBH (Television station : Boston, Mass.), WGBH Educational Foundation, and La Plaza (Firm)

Examines the history and causes of the Texas Revolution. 1 videocassette (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4397

 

The Revolutionary War 1992

Jack Hanrahan, Marlene Carabello, and Dan Dalton

With still photos and live action, various facets of the American Revolution are portrayed. 2 videocassettes (ca.100 min.)

DANA. DANA 1177 cassette 1 1177 cassette 2

 

The Richest man in the world Andrew Carnegie 1997, 1999?

Austin Hoyt, Gilda Brasch, and David Ogden Stiers

Using archival film and photographs; interviews with historians, writers, and relatives; and new cinematography, this film documents the life of Andrew Carnegie from his impoverished beginnings in Dunfermline, Scotland to his family's arrival in Pittsburgh in 1848. 2 videocassettes (117 min.)

MEDIA.                                                  MEDIA 2-4076 cassette 1 2-4077 cassette 2    2-3119

 

A ride along the Lincoln Highway c2008

Rick Sebak, WQED (Television station : Pittsburgh, Pa.), and  PBS Home Video

Examines some of the history of the road, which runs from New York City to San Francisco and shows some of the joys of riding along it today. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 10-1596

 

Roger Kennedy's Rediscovering America 1991

Roger G Kennedy and Jonathan Donald

Takes the viewer on a search for American landmarks that begins in Columbus, Ohio where remains of a great civilization of long ago was virtually ignored for many years. Ancient North Americans built over a half a million prehistoric earthworks, many larger than the pyramids of Egypt. Host Roger Kennedy attempts to make a connection betwen the landmarks of the mound builders and the architecture of Thomas Jefferson and Louis H. Sullivan. 1 videocassette (47 min.)

DANA 229

 

Route 66, an American odyssey c2002

John Paget, James Jenner, Bobby Troup, and Pacific Communications (Firm)

Documentary about the building of Route 66 and its golden days.  Route 66 was once the main highway from Chicago to Los Angeles. Covers the 1920s through the 1990s. 1 videodisc (115 min.)

MEDIA 10-1608

 

The Salem witch trials 1997

James Fonda, William D Russell, Milton Geiger, and Walter Cronkite

The Salem Witch Trials dramatized for television as a news broadcast. 1 videocassette (26 min.)

MEDIA 2-5700

 

Seeing red, stories of American Communists 1993

James Klein, Julia Reichert, and Pete Seeger

Probes the reasons why a number of politically conscious persons were drawn to the Communist party in the period from the Great Depression until the 1950s. Explores the McCarthy hearings in detail and shows Pete Seeger singing a number of period songs. 1 videocassette (100 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 885 2-2907

 

Slave ship c2001

Richard Rivera, Noah Morowitz, Alfre Woodard, Matter/Rivera Productions, Discovery Channel (Firm), Films for the Humanities (Firm), Discovery Channel University, and Raitre/Format (Firm)

"Over 150 documented mutinies occurred aboard slave ships between 1699 and 1845; only once, in the case of the Amistad, did slaves successfully return to Africa. Using that remarkable and anomalous incident as a focus, this program takes an in-depth look at the slave trade"--Container. 1 videocassette (52 min.)

MEDIA     DANA 2-6810         1094

 

Slavery and the making of America c2005

Dante J James, Gail Pellett, Chana Gazit, Leslie D Farrell, Morgan Freeman, WNET (Television station : New York, N.Y.), and Ambrose Video Publishing

This program examines the history of slavery in the United States and the role it played in shaping the new country's development. 4 videodiscs (240 min.)

DANA. DANA. DANA. DANA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA 155 v.1 155 v.2 155 v.3 155 v.4 10-403 v.1 10-403 v.2 10-403 v.3 10-403 v.4

 

Speeches of our founding fathers and the American revolution 1997

Denis Mueller

"The events that led to America's independence from England inspired many great thinkers and doers."--Container. This feature presents a number of writings and speeches by prominent founding fathers including George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Thomas Paine, Benjamin Franklin and others. 1 videocassette (40 min.)

DANA 1168

 

The Spirit of Crazy Horse 1990

Milo Yellow Hair, Michael Dubois, Kevin McKiernan, and James Locker

Documents the struggle of the Oglala Sioux to preserve their heritage and to reassert their ownership of the Black Hills. Discusses in detail the events surrounding the 1973 American Indian Movement occupation of Wounded Knee, South Dakota and the conflict which followed. The current situation on the reservation is also surveyed. 1 videocassette (59 min.)

MEDIA 2-4175

 

The spirit of pioneer women 1993

William J Burling, Francie Rottmann, and Susanne Carter

Depicts the daily lives of North American pioneer women through diary and journal excerpts, historical photos, and music of the era. Though confronted by hardships, loneliness, and poverty, pioneer women sustained a love of the land and an indomitable spirit which made the settling of the West possible. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

DANA 1139

 

The Statue of Liberty 1993, 1985

David G McCullough, Geoffrey Ward, and Ken Burns

Documentary focusing on the background of the design, the construction of "Liberty," and transporting it across the Atlantic. The concept of liberty as symbolized by the statue is discussed. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

DANA 259

 

The Statue of Liberty 1996

Ken Burns, Buddy Squires, Bernard A Weisberger, Geoffrey C Ward, and David G McCullough

Features archival photographs, paintings and drawings to tell the story of the statue's construction and installation, along with readings from diaries, letters and newspaper accounts. Part 2 includes interviews with New York Governor Mario Cuomo, writers James Baldwin and Jerzy Kosinski and musician Ray Charles. Film clips show Charlie Chaplin, Jimmy Stewart and Charlton Heston in Hollywood episodes with the statue. 1 videocassette (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 2-4216

 

The story of slavery 2000

Richard Arsenault and David House

Traces the history of slavery in the United States. 1 videocassette

DANA 1805

 

Success 1997

Oren Jacoby, Thomas N Brown, and Michael Murphy

Contrasts the lives of two successful Irish-Americans--Joseph P. Kennedy Sr. and Eugene O'Neill--showing how they exemplify Irish assimilation to American society. 1 videocassette (59 min.)

MEDIA 2-4275

 

The Sun shines bright 1990

Charles Winninger, Arleen Whelan, John Russell, Merian C Cooper, Herbert J Yates, John Ford, Stepin Fetchit, Laurence Stallings, and Irvin S Cobb

Vivid and compelling tale about a Fairfield, Kentucky judge whose compassionate nature involves him in romantic and racial affairs packed with political suicide. 1 videocassette (92 min.)

MEDIA 2-2846

 

The Supreme Court 1976

Ernest Skinner, Warren E Burger, and Tom C Clark

Examines the origins, development, and day-to-day workings of the United States Supreme Court.  Includes appearances with commentary by Chief Justice Warren E. Burger, retired Associate Justice Tom C. Clark, Supreme Court librarian Edward G. Hudson, and others. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

MEDIA 2-2437

 

The Supreme Court's holy battles 1989

Karen Thomas

In eighteenth century America, Virginia's citizens debated the proper relationship between religion and government in a democratic society...The PBS television documentary, the Supreme court's holy battles, hosted by Roger Mudd, explores this history and the continuing debate over the role of religion in American life. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-826

 

Surviving the dust bowl 1998

Chana Gazit, David Steward, Laura Ozment, Maria Nicolo, Liev Schreiber, and David G McCullough

"They were called 'Black Blizzards,' dark clouds reaching miles into the sky, churning millions of tons of dirt into torrents of destruction. For ten years beginning in 1930, dust storms ravaged the parched and overplowed southern plains, turning bountiful wheat fields into desert. Disease, hardship and death followed, yet the majority of people stayed on, steadfastly refusing to give up on the land and a way of life"--Container. 1 videocassette (57 min.)

MEDIA 2-4265

 

The telephone 1997

David G McCullough, Karen Goodman, Morley Safer, Bruce Shaw, and Kirk Simon

Tells the story of an invention that forever changed the way the world interacts. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-3118 2-4007

 

They came for good a history of Jews in the United States c2001

Amram Nowak, Manya Starr, Amram Nowak Associates, and Shanachie Entertainment Corp

Chronicles the first major split in the practice of Judaism where conservative and reform movements vied for Jewish souls, while on the battlefields of the Civil War, Jews were profoundly divided along regional lines and took up arms on both sides. 1 videocassette (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA 2-6281

 

TR 1999?

David G McCullough and Jason Robards

Theodore Roosevelt's magnetic personality and genius for publicity made him a legend in his own time. He is portrayed as a deft politician and a skillful diplomat. This film illustrates Roosevelt's role in creating the modern presidency. 4 videocassettes (240 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA 2-4072 cassette 1 2-4073 cassette 2 2-4074 cassette 3 2-4075 cassette 4

 

TR the story of Theodore Roosevelt 1996

David G McCullough, Jason Robards, David Grubin, Geoffrey C Ward, and Theodore Roosevelt

Roosevelt's magnetic personality and genius for publicity made him a legend in his own time. He is portrayed as a deft politician and a skillful diplomat. This film illustrates Roosevelt's role in creating the modern presidency. 2 videocassettes (240 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2911 cassette 1 2-2912 cassette 2

 

The two New Jerseys 1993

David Steven Cohen, Louis Presti, Celeste Holm, and Bob Szuter

Explores the social and political events which surrounded the formation of the two separate colonies of East and West Jersey through their eventual unification under Queen Anne in 1702. Disputes with the governor of New York over territorial jurisdiction, as well as the transfer of land ownership from Quaker to Anglican and its social implications are focused upon. 1 videocassette (26 min., 3 sec.)

MEDIA 2-2422

 

U.S. & the world (1865-1917) c1996

Henry Nevison, Dana Palermo, William Hewitt, Charles Hardy, Hollis Payer, InVision Communications, and Schlessinger Video Productions

Examines the slaughter of the buffalo and the conquest of the American West; the Dawes Act and its impact on Native Americans; from isolation to empire; the Spanish-American War; the Filipino insurrection; America in the Caribbean and the Panama Canal; the Roosevelt Corollary to the Monroe Doctrine; dollar diplomacy; intervention in Latin America. 1 videocassette (ca. 35 min.)

MEDIA 2-6609

 

Ulysses S. Grant 2002

Liev Schreiber, Adriana Bosch, and Elizabeth Deane

A biography of Ulysses S. Grant, one of America's most paradoxical leaders, a brilliant military strategist who rose from obscurity to the presidency. 2 videocassettes (180 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-4046a cassette 1 2-4047a cassette 2

 

Unchained memories readings from the slave narratives c2003

Jacqueline Glover, Thomas Lennon, Mark Jonathan Harris, Ed Bell, Angela Bassett, Michael Boatman, Roscoe Lee Browne, Don Cheadle, Ossie Davis, Ruby Dee, Robert Guillaume, Jasmine Guy, C. C. H Pounder, Roger Guenveur Smith, Courtney B Vance, Vanessa Williams, Oprah Winfrey, Alfre Woodard, Whoopi Goldberg, Juliet Weber, HBO Documentary Films, Library of Congress, and HBO Video (Firm)

When the Civil War ended in 1865, more than 4 million slaves were set free.  By the late 1930's, 100,000 former slaves were still alive. In the midst of the Great Depression, journalists and writers traveled the country to record the memories of the last generation of African-Americans born into bondage. Over 2,000 interviews were transcribed as spoken, in the vernacular of the time, to form a unique historical record. 1 videodisc (75 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 22 10-405

 

Up from city streets 1997

Richard Ben Cramer, Thomas Lennon, Maria Patrick, and Michael Murphy

Documents the experiences of Irish immigrants to the United States during the 19th century. Follows the life of Al Smith as it describes the rise of Irish Americans to positions of influence in the cities. 1 videocassette (85 min.)

MEDIA 2-4274

 

Violence an American tradition 1996, 1995

Julian Bond, Edward Asner, Robby Benson, Jill Clayburgh, Peter W Kunhardt, and Philip B Kunhardt

"From the punishment of defenseless Native Americans by Christopher Columbus 500 years ago, to the domestic and racially motivated assaults that run rampant today. American history is permeated by acts of violence. Using archival photos and footage, as well as the words of both historial figures and current experts in sociology, medicine and history, this program explores the recurring patterns of violence that have emerged in our society as as result of insurrection, anger, prejudice, and ignorance. "--Container. 1 videocassette (55 min.)

MEDIA 2-3433

 

The voyage of La Amistad a quest for freedom 1998

Alfre Woodard, Charles Durning, Brock Peters, H. D Motyl, and Warneke J Smith

Chronicle of the story of the abducted Africans and their battles for freedom, first on the Amistad and then as they stood trial in a strange land, taking their case all the way to the Supreme Court with various abolitionists and former president John Quincy Adams leading the way. 1 videocassette (70 min.)

DANA 1858

 

We all fall down the American mortgage crisis c2009

Gary Gasgarth, Kevin Stocklin, Paul Sorvino, Second Act Films (Firm), and Icarus Films

A chronicle of America's mortgage finance crisis, from the mortgage system as it existed in the 1930s to its current state of disrepair. The film interviews various experts in the field, seeking to provide audiences with clearly stated explanations of how the typically stable U.S. mortgage loan came to represent massive instabilities of the American economy. 1 videodisc (66 min.)

MEDIA 10-1830

 

We the people the story of the Constitution of the United States 1997

Corey Morris

Examines life under the Articles of Confederation, the Constitutional Convention, the Federalist Papers, and the struggle for ratification, the powers the Constitution gives to the federal government, states, and the people, and the Bill of Rights and amendments made to the Constitution. 1 videocassette (23 min.)

DANA 1096

 

Who built America? 1987

Explores the social history of working Americans.  Concentrates on events and issues of the 19th century. 7 videocassettes (175 min.)

DANA. DANA. DANA. DANA. DANA. DANA. DANA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA. MEDIA 123 cassette 1 123 cassette 2 123 cassette 3 123 cassette 4 123 cassette 5 123 cassette 6 123 cassette 7 2-975 cassette 1 2-976 cassette 2 2-977 cassette 3 2-978 cassette 4 2-979 cassette 5 2-980 cassette 6 2-981 cassette 7

 

Who owns the past? 2000

N. Jed Riffe, William Smock, George Burdeau, Joe Crivelli, Rick Giachino, and Linda Hunt

Explores the attitudes and behavior of European Americans toward the remains of Native Americans from the earliest European settlement in America to the 1990's with the discovery of "Kennewick Man" by the Columbia River in Washington, whether those remains were located in burials or the result of death in battle. The late 20th century movement by Indians to reclaim their ancestors' remains succeeded to a considerable degree, but conflicts with goals of scientists continue. 1 videocassette (ca. 57 min.)

DANA 1423

 

The wilderness idea 1989

Lawrence R Hott, Diane Garey, Ken Chowder, Hume Cronyn, Gifford Pinchot, and John Muir

Tells the story of the two founders of American conservation, John Muir and Gifford Pinchot, and their historic battle over whether a remote valley in California, Hetch Hetchy, should be dammed and flooded to form a reservoir. The battle reflected the two sides of the conservation issue--absolute protection of wilderness lands versus careful management and use of nature to serve human needs. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-2596

Wiping the tears of seven generations 1991

Gary Rhine, Fidel Moreno, and Hannah Fixico

Explores the history of the Lakota (Sioux) within the context of European-America's westward migration, which culminated in the Massacre at Wounded Knee. The program focuses on a Lakota ceremony called Washigila, or "Wiping the Tears", which was held in December 1990. The Bigfoot Memorial Ride, in which 300 Lakota Sioux horseback riders traveled 250 miles in two weeks through 70-below temperatures was the Washigila for the entire Lakota Nation. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-1683

 

The Wobblies 1979

Stewart Bird, Deborah Shaffer, and Roger G Baldwin

Former members of the Industrial Workers of the World reveal their feelings, motivations, beliefs, and actions.  Uses union songs, posters, paintings, archival stills, and rare newsreel footage to trace the causes and effects of the one big industrial union that welcomed unskilled, Black, and female workers into its ranks during the early part of this century.  Includes words of famous industrialists, financiers, and other Wobbly opponents as well. 1 videocassette (89 min.)

MEDIA 2-1696

 

Yesterday's witness a tribute to the American newsreel 1985

Christian Blackwood, Lowell Thomas, Ed Herlihy, and Harry Von Zell

Traces the history of the American newsreel by incorporating Newsreel footage of some of the most exciting events covered-from the silent days to the mid-century. 1 videocassette (52 min.)

MEDIA 2-1259