Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Immigrant States: Jersey’s Global Routes: Immigration in the News

Sociology 920:271; W&GS 988:271; LHCS 595:271; American Studies 050:271

Finding News Articles in Library Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch

This database contains the full text of over 300 local and national ethnic newspapers and magazines around the US. You can set up an RSS feed or email alert for a topic of interest or a particular search. Highly recommended.

Access World News

This database contains a searchable collection of New Jersey newspapers, in addition to hundreds of newspapers from around the world.

Current News Articles from Google News

Below are recent articles from Google News which mention both "Immigration" and "New Jersey"

Loading

Televised and Radio News Transcripts

The Factiva database contains televised and radio broadcast transcripts from a variety of stations, including ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, Fox, BBC, NPR and PBS.

To search transcripts, enter the database. Select "Source" from the left hand search bar, then select "Publications by Type" from the "Select Source Category" drop-down menu.

Click the blue arrow next to the transcript you want to search. This will paste the code for that broadcast into the search box above. You may want to change the default date for the search (it will automatically search for the past 3 months unless changed). Clicking search will display all transcripts, or you can add your keywords at that point (remember to separate them with "AND")

You may see a screen showing no results, because the Multimedia tab displays first: Make sure you click on the tab for "Publications"