Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Immigrant States: Jersey’s Global Routes: Statistics and Reports

Sociology 920:271; W&GS 988:271; LHCS 595:271; American Studies 050:271

Statistical Databases

Use the databases below to help you find demographic, social and economic data. Note: Some databases require RU Login from off-campus.

Social Explorer provides convenient access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study.  Social Explorer's strength is its interactive mapping tool that allows data to be easily visualized, as well as the easy creation of data extracts.

Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. The Millennial Edition is divided into five sections broadly covering: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Covers colonial period to the present day.

LexisNexis Statistical Insight enables easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.


Some examples of data available from the American FactFinder:

People reporting single or multiple ancestry
Citizenship status
Place of Birth by Citizenship Status
Sex by Age by Citizenship Status
Sex by Age by Nativity
Year of Entry by Citizenship Status
Place of Birth for Foreign-Born
Geographical Mobility in the Past Year by Race (or by Citizenship Status)
Means of Transportation to Work by Citizenship Status
Means of Transportation to Work by Language spoken at Home and Ability to Speak English

 

Publications and Research Guides

Statistical Publications

Office of Immigration Statistics (Dept. of Homeland Security)

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States

 

Resource Guides

Program on Immigration and Democracy (Eagleton Institute of Politics)

Facts about Immigration to New Jersey

New Jersey Cultural Heritage Organizations Directory

New Jersey Geneology Guide

This guide contains links to a variety of databases including ship passenger roles, statistical information, and city directories.

Immigrant Arrivals: A Guide to Published Sources (Library of Congress)

 

Reports

NJ Governor's Blue Ribbon Advisory Panel on Immigrant Policy

Congressional Quarterly Researcher

This database contains reports of public opinion and legislative action on a variety of topics, including immigration.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Featured Topic: Immigration

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.