Skip to main content

Political Science Research: Europe

This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on topics relating to public policy, United States political affairs and to international affairs.

Maps

Europe Maps
From the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Russia and the Former Soviet Republic Maps
From the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Regional Studies: Europe

Europe

ERPA: European Research Papers Archive
Index to online working papers relating to European Integration research.

European Integration Current Contents
View or search tables of contents of 108 journals relevant to European Integration research - law, human rights, economics, history and political sciences. Coverage from 1998 for most journals.

Eastern Europe

Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei Online
Index to approximately 3 million articles published in Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975. Includes journals from the social sciences, humanities, natural sciences, and popular literature. Requires Cyrillic input; virtual keyboard provided. A project of the Indiana University Digital Library Program.

Constitution of the Russian Federation

CIA Declassified Documents: The Princeton Collection
A collection of declassified analytic documents on the former Soviet Union, produced by the CIA's Directorate of Intelligence between 1951 and 1991. Documents were originally released for a 2001 conference held at Princeton University that focused on the role of intelligence in the Cold War.

Ukraine Since Independence
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.8/2004.

NATO and the Russian Federation
NATO Library Thematic Bibliographies No.2/2005.

Barometer Surveys
Survey of Eastern European post-Communist countries. "Each survey uses a questionnaire with innovative indicators specially relevant in transition societies: support for democracy and undemocratic alternatives; corruption; attitudes to enlarging Europe; coping with a multiplicity of economies, monetized and non-monetized; relative affluence and destitution; and demographics: age, education, gender, urban/rural residence, etc." Only abstacts are available online. From the Centre for the Study of Public Policy (CSPP) at the University of Aberdeen.