Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Political Science Research: Government, Public Policy, & Ethics

This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on topics relating to public policy, United States political affairs and to international affairs.

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
1949- . Index to 650 journals representing all the major religious faiths, as well as some 14,000 multi-authored works, relating to Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Philosopher's Index
1940- Index to over 480 journals worldwide, as well as books, relating to social and political philosophy and concepts, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of religion, etc.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Government, Public Policy & Ethics

Roberts, Robert North. Ethics in U.S. Government: An Encyclopedia of Investigations, Scandals, Reforms, and Legislation. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2001.
Dana Call Number: Ref. JK268 .E7R556 2001

U.S. Office of Government Ethics
Includes sections on Law and Regulations, Federal Ethics Documents and Publications, and summaries of Common Ethics Issues.

Historical Summary of Conduct Cases in the House of Representatives
Summary table of cases from Rep. Matthew Lyon in 1798 ("disorderly behavior," spat on Rep. Roger Griswold) to Tom Delay in 2004.

Government Ethics
Online resources (overview, issues, articles on government ethics and on social policy, cases, decision making resources, and ethics sites) from the Makkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University.

CRT Principles for Government

Social Policy

Andre, Claire, Velasquez, Manuel, and Mazur, Tim. "Affirmative Action: Twenty-Five Years of Controversy," Issues in Ethics 5(2), Summer 1992.

Law, Ethics and Affirmative Action in America
Webcast of a symposium held at the University of Cincinnati College of Law on October 7, 2003.

Stoll, David. "In Focus: The Immigration Debate," U.S. Foreign Policy in Focus 2(31), 1997.

Velasquez, Manuel. "Immigration: Is Exclusion Just?," Issues in Ethics 7(2), Spring 1996.

Cook, Martin. "Immigration and Ethics," Issues in Ethics 7(2), Spring 1996.

Ethics Updates: Punishment and the Dealth Penalty
Collection of resources including a Bibliographic Survey on Punishment and the Death Penalty from Lawrence M. Hinman at the University of San Diego.

Global Policies: The Ethics of War and Intervention

Just War Theory
From the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Ethics of War, Peace, & Terrorism
Resources from Lawrence M. Hinman at the University of San Diego.

Coady, C.A.J. "Ethics of Armed Humanitarian Intervention," Peaceworks 45 (July 2002).

Fixdal, Mona and Dan Smith. "Humanitarian Intervention and Just War," Mershon International Studies Review (1998) 42, 283-312.

Pfaff, Tony. Peacekeeping and the Just War Tradition U.S. Army War College, Strategic Studies Institute, September 2000.

Walzer, Michael. Just War and Humanitarian Intervention
Webcast of a presentation delivered at the University of San Diego on January 28, 2000. Video.

JustWarTheory.com
Outstanding site maintained by Mark Rigstad (Oakland University). Extensive, critically annotated guide.

Bioethics and New Technologies

Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Stephen G. Post, editor in chief. 3rd ed. New York, Macmillan Library Reference, 2004. 5 vols.
Off Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Dana Call Number: QH332 .E52 2004

The Concise Encyclopedia of the Ethics of New Technologies. Edited by Ruth Chadwick. San Diego, Academic Press, 2000.
Dana Call Number: QH332 .C66 2001

Ethics Updates: Bioethics, Cloning, & Reproductive Technologies
Extensive list of resources from Lawrence Hinman at the University of San Diego.

Ethics of Human Cloning and Stem Cell Research
"Summary Notes for Members of the California State Legislature."

Wachbroit, Robert. Genetic Encores: The Ethics of Human Cloning
A report from the Institute for Philosophy & Public Policy.

Bostrom, Nick. Ethical Issues in Advanced Artificial Intelligence
"This paper surveys some of the unique ethical issues in creating superintelligence..."

Artificial Intelligence: Ethical & Social Implications
Annotated list with links to articles, reports, broadcasts, and news items. From the American Association for Artificial Intelligence.