Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Political Science Research: Data

This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on topics relating to public policy, United States political affairs and to international affairs.

Data Analysis

Quantitative Data Analysis: An Introduction
U.S. General Accounting Office. GAO Report to Program Evaluation and Methodology Division. GAO/PEMD-10.1.11. May 1992.

Need Data from an Earlier Census?

Historical Census Browser
Generate selected characteristics of the population down to the state and county level from 1790 to 1960.

The 1980 and 1970 Census of Population are located in the Census area in the Dana Library Reference Room. Population characteristics for the nation and by state (including county, central city, and place data) are available in the General Social and Economic Characteristics volumes:

1980 CENSUS OF POPULATION, General Social and Economic Characteristics, U.S. Summary (C3.223/7:980)

1980 CENSUS OF POPULATION, General Social and Economic Characteristics, Pt. 32 New Jersey (C32.223/7:980/c32)

1970 CENSUS OF POPULATION, General Soical and Economic Characteristics, New Jersey (C3.223/9:970/C32)

You will need to use the Table Finding Guide in the front of each volume to locate the data that you need.

Finding Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The basic databook for U.S. national-level statistics.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Access to data from more than 70 organizational sources. Most data series focus on recent years and a few prior decades, although some data series extend back to the 19th century. Rutgers-restricted Access

SourceOECD
Online library of publications, including 24 periodicals as well as many statistical series, from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Focuses on the OECD's thirty member countries, although information on the some 70 other countries and non-governmental organizations with whom the OECD has an active relationship if also available.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

UNdata
Search a large collection of UN databases. Includes data on internatinal trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, and transport, as well as demographic and social statistics. Data can be output in comma-delimited (.csv), Excel spreadsheet (.xls), or HTML formats.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

ICPSR

ICPSR Data Access & Analysis
Rutgers is a member of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, a hugh social sciences data archive hosted at the University of Michigan. Rutgers users can download ICPSR data sets and use them to generate charts, graphs, or other statistical reports.
Off-Campus Access Note: If you're a Rutgers user connecting from off-campus you must use the off-campus link if you're planning on downloading data.

Agriculture

National Agricultural Statistics Service
Statistics from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Statistics
International statistics.

What's in the Food You Eat Search Tool
Nutrient profiles for 13,000 foods commonlhy eaten in the U.S. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Food Environment Atlas
From the Economic Research Service of the USDA. Currently includes 168 indicators of the food environment in 3 categories: Food Choices—Indicators of the community's access to and acquisition of healthy, affordable food; Health and Well-Being—Indicators of the community’s success in maintaining healthy diets; and Community Characteristics—Indicators of community characteristics that might influence the food environment.

U.S. Demographics

American FactFinder
Select query elements to create maps and view data tables based on the 2010 Census, Census 2000, the 1990 Census, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census. See definitions of the major geographic units for which census data is available.

U.S. Census of Governments

Census of Governments: Federal, State, and Local Governments
Covers government organization, public employment, and government finance. Most data available back to 1992.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice: Statistics
Part of the Rutgers Libraries Criminal Justice Research Guide.

Women

The World's Women, 2000: Trends and Statistics. 3rd edition. New York, United Nations, 2000.
Data documenting progress for women worldwide in six areas: health, human rights and political decision-making, work, education and communication, population, and families.
Dana Call Number: Ref. HQ1154 .W675 2000

The World's Women 2005: Progress in Statistics
"Focuses on [the] issue of national reporting of sex disaggregated statistics in such areas as demographics, health, education, work, violence against women, poverty, human rights and decision-making..reviews and analyses the current availability of data and assesses progress made in the provision of national statistics, as opposed to internationally prepared estimates, relevant to gender concerns during the past 30 years."

GenderStats: Database of Gender Statistics
Gender statistics and indicators by country and region. Includes indicators for themes that range from health and education to political participation and poverty. Sex-disaggregated data for some themes are limited or not available. Based on national statistics, UN databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. Maintained by the World Bank Group.

Women in Politics

Center for American Women and Politics
Current and historical data on women office-holders and candidates, as well as data on the gender gap and voting patterns. The Center also makes available various reports on women candidates and elected officials.

Women in Parliaments: World and Regional Averages
Current summary data plus archived data back to 1997. The Inter-Parliamentary Union's PARLINE Database also allows you to search for the results of the most recent election in all countries where a national legislature exists.