Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Political Science Research: Public Policy & Public Opinion

This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on topics relating to public policy, United States political affairs and to international affairs.

Public Policy Issues

CQ Researcher
Extensive collection of weekly reports from Congressional Quarterly. Each report offers data, a variety of opinion, and a bibliography on a specific 'hot' issue.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Almanac of Policy Issues
Background information, archived documents, and links on major U.S. public policy issues.

Public Agenda Online
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization, Public Agenda offers background information, in-depth analyses and opinion studies on a variety of public policy issues.

 

Public Opinion Polls

iPoll
A compilation of over 500,000 questions from public opinion polls from 1935 to the present. Limited to polls of the U.S. population at the national level.
Off-Campus Link Restricted Access

Polling the Nations
"A compilation of the full-text of the questions and responses from over 14,000 national, state and local surveys conducted since 1986 by some 700 polling organizations in the United States and eighty other countries."
Off-Campus Link Restricted Access

Gallup Poll
Includes summaries of recent Gallup public opinion polls. Access to back files of full reports requires a subscription.

Gallup Poll Briefing
2000- Weekly summary and analysis of the latest Gallup Poll findings. Off-Campus Link Restricted Access

Gallup Poll summaries are also available in:

Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing (print edition) 2002-
Ref HM261 .A1G34

Gallup Poll Monthly 1989-2002 Ref HM261 .A1G3

Gallup Report 1981-1989 Ref HM261.G35

Gallup Opinion Index 1967-1981 Ref. HM261.G35

The Harris Vault
Database of results of telephone and online public opinion surveys by HarrisInteractive from 1963 to the present

Washington Post Public Opinion Poll Archive
The Washington Post regularly polls Americans on questions of national interest.

CBS News Polls
Approximately a six-month archive.

Pew Research Center Survey Reports
Formerly the Times Mirror Center for People and the Press, the Pew Research Center studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Reports back to 1987 available.

New Jersey Polls

Eagleton Poll Archive
Survey results and questionnaires from the quarterly Rutgers Eagleton Institute's survey of New Jersey residents on questions of political and social interest from 1971 to the present.

Quinnipiag University Poll: New Jersey
Surveys of New Jersey residents concerning political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern from 1997 to the present.