Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Political Science Research: Finding Scholarly Articles

This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on topics relating to public policy, United States political affairs and to international affairs.

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the   button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

Political Science, Public Policy & International Affairs
Gender Studies
Agriculture
Philosophy & Religion
History
Economics
Communications & Sociology
Criminal Justice

Political Science, Public Policy and International Affairs

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975- Index to over 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Public Affairs Information Service
1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
1991- Database of full-text working papers, research reports, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and journal articles relating to international affairs.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

PROL: Political Research Online
Search over 72,500 preprints, conference papers, and other research papers relating to political science. Project of the American Political Science Association.

Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Index with abstracts to books, articles and reports produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics. From the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

Gender Studies

Women's Studies International
1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text access to global information on women found in journals, research reports, newspapers, pamphlets, and fact sheets.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
gender Inn: Women's and Gender Studies Database
Index to over 8400 citations pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature.

Agriculture

CAB Abstracts
1973- . The most comprehensive resource for international agriculture and related resources. Among the areas covered are Agriculture, including crop science and protection as well as applied economics, and Human Health, Food and Nutrition, including food science. Indexes more than 9,000 sources including international peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, academic books, and technical reports.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Agricola
1979- . National Agriculture Library index to agricultural literature, including agriculture, agronomy, biotechnology, crop management, and food and nutrition.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Philosophy and Religion

ATLA Religion Database
1949- . Index to 650 journals representing all the major religious faiths, as well as some 14,000 multi-authored works, relating to Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Philosopher's Index
1940- Index to over 480 journals worldwide, as well as books, relating to social and political philosophy and concepts, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of religion, etc.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies
Index to selective articles relating to Jewish studies and Israel. From the Jewish National and University Library. 1966-
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

History

America: History and Life
1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Historical Abstracts
1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Economics

EconLit
Most comprehensive index to economic literature. 1969-
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Communications and Sociology

Communication & Mass Media Complete 1900s-
Full-text coverage for more than 280 titles plus abstracts for many more.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access.

Sociologial Abstracts 1963-
Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, as well as to books reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Comprehensive index to journals, books, government publications, dissertations, and reports relating to criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present. Until very recently, this index was based on materials found in the Criminal Justice Collection located in the Rutgers Center for Law and Justice in Newark, and remains the most complete catalog for that collection.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access