Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Want to know if the Rutgers Libraries own a particular film?
Enter the title into the QuickSearch Browse search box.
DVDs and VHS cassettes are on shelves on the lower level of Dana Library near the group lounge area. Simply take the empty box for the item you want upstairs to the Circulation Desk located in the first floor lobby of the library. Circulation staff will retrieve the tape, CD or DVD for you and check it out to you just as they would a book.
Most circulating DVDs owned by the Media Center in New Brunswick are eligible for the Rutgers Delivery Service.
Smithsonian Global Sound Over 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music. Rutgers-restricted Access
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions). Rutgers-restricted Access
Streaming Video Collections
- The Rutgers Libraries subscribe to a wide range of video and audio databases. You'll find the full list here
- Swank Digital Campus
- has an inventory of over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows. Because this service is maintained to support classroom instruction, the films available through Swank will vary from semester to semester. What we have access to any particular semester depends on what Rutgers faculty requested for that semester. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Has an inventory of some 30,000 documentaries, as well as classic, foreign, and indie films. Producers include the Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, and First Run Features. As is the case with Swank, what is accessible from Kanopy will vary from semester to semester and is determined by faculty request. Rutgers-restricted Access
Radio, Television, and Film
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
- Includes Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Film Literature Index
- Index to scholarly and popular film and television periodicals worldwide from 1976 to 2001. Search or browse citations.
- Paley Center for Media Database
- The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs. The Edward John Noble Scholars Room has carrels equipped with an audio/visual monitor for viewing and listening to the Paley Center's collection of programs and computers that access the library's database. Use of the Scholars Room is available to students and others affiliated with educational organizations at a rate of $15 per day; The Scholar's Room is open: Wednesdays to Sundays 12:00 to 6:00 pm, and 12:00 to 8:00 pm on Thursdays.
- American History in Video
- Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage. Rutgers-restricted Access
Finding Early Film Reviews
- Film Review Index. 2 vols
- Patricia King Hanson & Stephen L. Hanson, editors. Phoenix, Ariz., Oryx Press, 1986-
- One of the best sources for finding early film reviews, the Film Review Index cites reviews to over 7000 feature films released between 1914 and 1985. Vol. 1: 1882-1949; Vol. 2: 1950-1985. In addition to popular magazines, the index also lists reviews in trade publications, newspapers, anthologies, and selected books.
- Dana Call Number: Ref. PN1995 .F513 1986
- Once you have the list of sources in which a specific film was reviewed, you will need to go to the Rutgers Library Catalog to find out if that source is available at Rutgers.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .
- Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982. An excellent source for finding film reviews.