Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Intro to American Studies: Basic Resources: Finding Books, Journals & Media

This guide focuses on basic resources that you can use when seeking information or materials relating to American Studies.

Need a book?

While we are operating under COVID restrictions, if you need a physical copy of a book from Dana or another Rutgers Library, you can request the book by bringing up the record for the book in QuickSearch, logging in with your NetID, and clicking on the Request link. You'll receive an email when your materials are ready for pickup, with instructions for making an appointment to pick up at Dana. Or, you can request delivery by mail by selecting Personal Delivery > Home Address in QuickSearch.

Please note that we cannot provide access to physical copies if there is an online version available in our collections.

Book not at Rutgers?

The fastest way to get a copy of a book that is not owned or not available (checked out/on Reserve/missing etc.) at the Rutgers Libraries is to request it through E-Z Borrow. E-Z Borrow books are normally received within about five working days.

If a book is not owned by the Rutgers Libraries and is not available via E-Z Borrow or UBorrow, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request.

Library Catalogs

Rutgers Library Catalog (QuickSearch)
Search all Rutgers Libraries for books, journals, videos, and other materials.
Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Catalog of the New York Public research library "devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world." The Schomburg Center contains over 5,000,000 items. [Note: When beginning a search session, select "Schomburg General Research & Reference" from the pull-down menu under "Collections".]  The Schomburg is in the process of making many of its resources available in the NYPL Digital Gallery.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL is consortium of North American university and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, foreign dissertations, archives, and other expensive or hard to find materials. CRL's Black Studies collection includes the microfilmed records of the American Colonization Society (1792-1965), the George Washington Carver Papers (1860-1975), portions of the Papers of the NAACP, and the U.S. Committee on Fair Employment Practices Records. As Rutgers is a CRL member, these materials are considered part of Rutgers' collections and can be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan. In addition to the materials listed in their catalog, CRL also supports and provides access to special collections such as ethnic and African-American newspapers.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.