Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Social Welfare Policy and Services: African-Americans, Latinos, Immigrants

Resources that you can use when seeking information on current and historical social welfare policies, issues, and services in the U.S.

What's Here?

A selection of resources about the history, issues, characteristics, and policies relating to specific groups.

African-American, Hispanics/Latinos, Immigrants

African-Americans

Some relevant subject headings that you can use in the Catalog include:

African Americans History
Slavery Law and Legislation
African Americans Social Conditions
African Americans Civil Rights History
Discrimination in Employment United States History

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York, Macmillan, 1996. 5 vols plus Supplement (2001).
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas. 2nd edition. Detroit, Macmillan, 2006. 6 vols.
Signed entries covering all aspects of African-American history and life. While the 2d edition expands the scope of the work beyond North America, it has only a little more than half of the number of entries found in the first edition. Many of the U.S.-centered articles (for example, entries on states and major cities) are not available in the 2d edition. About half of the articles that appear in both have been updated in the 2d edition. Bibliographic references. Together, a good starting point for research.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 2006. Rutgers-restricted Access

Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. Edited by John Randall Miller and John David Smith. New York, Greenwood, 1988.
Extensive collection of articles relating to slavery in the U.S. Bibliographic references.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E441 .D53 1988

Slavery in New York
New York Historical Society exhibit. Looks at slavery in New York from the 1600s to 1827 when it was legally abolished in New York State.

Aptheker, Herbert. A Documentary History of the Negro People in the United States. 3 vols. New York, 1969.
Compilation of documents, including petitions, speeches, testimonies, reports, letters, and other writings, covering the years 1661 to 1945.
Dana Call Number: E185. A58

Carlton-LaNey, Iris. " African American Social Work Pioneers' Response to Need," Social Work 44(4), July 1999, 311-321.
"Discusses the fundamental values and principles that guided African American social work practice at the beginning of the century." Rutgers-restricted Access.

O'Donnell, Sandra M. "The Care of Dependent African-American Children in Chicago: The Struggle Between Black Self-Help and Professionalism," Journal of Social History 27, Summer 1994, 763-776.
"The African-American self-help tradition of caring for dependent children in Chicago was undermined by the increased organization and professionalization of social welfare provisions during the Progressive and the post-World War I eras." Rutgers-restricted Access.

Minter, Thomas K. and Alfred E Prettyman. "Education," Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York, Macmillan, 1996, vol. 2, pp. 846-876.
Overview of the history of African-American education from slavery thru current issues involving school choice. Includes a lengthy bibliography.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996.

Flicker, Douglas J. "From Roberts to Plessy: Educational Segregation and the 'Separate But Equal' Doctrine," The Journal of Negro History 84(4), Autumn 1999, 301-314.
Traces the history of legalized educational segregation. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Murray, Charles A. Losing Ground: American Social Policy, 1950-1980. New York, Basic Books, 1984.
Dana Call Number: HN59 .M87 1984

Bane, Mary Jo. Race, Poverty and Public Policy. March 2005

Alston, Reginald J. "African Americans with Disabilities and the Social Security Administration's Return-to-Work Incentives," Journal of Disability Policy Studies 14(4), Spring 2004, 216-221.
Review of SSCI policies and the cultural variables specific to African Americans that may negate return-to-work incentives. Restricted Access

Quadagno, Jill. " Race and American Social Policy," National Forum 76(3), Summer 1996, 35-38. Restricted Access

Williams, David R. and Jackson, Pamela Braboy. "Social Sources of Racial Disparities in Health," Health Affairs 24(2), March/April 2005, 325-334. Rutgers-restricted Access

Waites, Cheryl, ed. Social Work Practice with African-American Families: An Intergenerational Perspective. New York, Routledge, 2008.
Dana Call Number: HV3181 .S613 2008

Hispanics/Latinos

Latino Encyclopedia. Richard and Rafael Chabran, editors. New York, Marshall Cavendish, 1996. 6 vols.
More than 1900 entries ranging from several paragraphs to signed full-length articles with annotated bibliographies relating to the Latino experience in the United States.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E184 .S75L57 1996.

Latinos in the United States: A Historical Bibliography. Albert Camarillo (ed.), Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-Clio, 1986.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E184 .S75L38 1986

Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo

Gutmann, Myron P. "A New Look at the Hispanic Population of the United States in 1910", Historical Methods 32(1), Winter 1999, 5-19. Restricted Access.

"From Exclusion to Expulsion: Mexicans and Tuberculosis in Los Angeles, 1914-1940," Bulletin of the History of Medicine 77(4), 2003, 823-849.
"The identification of tuberculosis with Mexicans during the 1920s...figured prominently in efforts to restrict their immigration in the 1920s, and in the deportation and repatriation drives of the 1930s." Restricted Access.

Excerpt from California Mexican Fact-Finding Committee, Mexicans in California. Report of Governor C C Young's Mexican Fact-Finding Committee. Sacramento: State Printing Office, 1930.

McKay, Robert R. Mexican Americans and Repatriation
From the Handbook of Texas Online.

Martinez-Ebers, Valerie et at. "Latino Interests in Education, Health, and Criminal Justice Policy," PS: Political Science and Politics 33(3), September 2000, 547-554. Restricted Access

The Social Security Program and Reform: A Latino Perspective. June 2005
From the National Council of La Raza.

Canino-Arroyo, Maria Josefa. "Reflections on Latino Advocacy and Welfare Reform in New Jersey," Centro Journal 15(1), Spring 2003, 176-195.

Immigrants

To find books on immigrants in the United States search The Library Catalog. Some relevant subject headings include:

Immigrants United States
Immigrants United States Social Conditions
United States Emigration and Immigration
United States Emigration and Immigration Government Policy

Encyclopedia of American Immigration. James Ciment, Immanuel Ness, editors. Armonk, N.Y., M.E. Sharpe, 2000. 4 vols.
Immigration history; immigration issues (causes, demographics, acculturation, laws and legislation, politics, economics, etc.); and immigration documents (laws, treaties, court cases, reports, etc.).Volumes 3 and 4 contain articles on specific immigrant groups in America.
Dana Call Number: Ref. JV6465.E53 2000

Padilla, Yolanda C. " Immigrant Policy: Issues for Social Work Practice," Social Work 42(6), November 1997, 595-606. Rutgers-restricted Access

Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 1990
22 Detailed tables.

Claghorn, Kate Holladay. " The Foreign Immigrant in New York City," Reports of the Industrial Commission 15, 1901, 465-492.

"Biological Aspects of Immigration," Testimony of Harry L. Laughlin before the House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization, April 16-17, 1920.

Park, Yoosun and Kemp, Susan P. "'Little Alien Colonies': Representations of Immigrants and Their Neighborhoods in Social Work Discourse, 1875-1924," Social Service Review 80, 2006, 705-734. Rutgers-restricted Access

Barry, Tom. Immigration Debate: Politics, Ideologies of Anti-Immigration Forces. June 17, 2005.
An Interhemispheric Resource Center (IRC) Americas Program Special Report.

Katz, Michael, Stern, Mark J., and Fader, Jamie J. " The Mexican Immigration Debate: The View From History," Social Science History 31(2), Summer 2007, 157-189. Rutgers-restricted Access

Mexican Assimilation in the United States
Edward P. Lazear. March 2005.

Legislating Immigration

Eugenic Laws Restricting Immigration
Virtual exhibit with accompanying essay by Paul Lombardo. From the Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement

Executive Summary: U.S. Immigration: A Legislative History
"Highlights the history of U.S. immigration legislation and the parallel rise and fall in numbers and changing ethnic makeup." From the Population Resource Center.

Federal Immigration Reform Bills. August 1, 2005.
"In this Congress, more than fifty bills on immigration reform have been introduced to date."

S.2611: Comprehensive Immigration Reform Act of 2006: Summary
Summary of the bill passed by the U.S. Senate on May 25, 2006.

2007 Enacted State Legislation Related to Immigrants and Immigration. August 6, 2006
"As of July 2, 2007, no fewer than 1404 pieces of legislation related to immigrants and immigration had been introduced among the 50 state legislatures. From January to July 2nd 2007, 170 bills became law in 41 states." From the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.