Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (22:355:102): Virtual Class

This page supports research instruction for English 102 using the novel Frankenstein.

Intro: Academic Analysis; Scholarly vs. Popular; Starting the Research/Writing Process

Welcome to our virtual class.  We are going to begin with the idea of academic analysis.  Analyzing academically is a skill you will need in any writing assignment during college, and it is one of the biggest differences between high school and college research/writing.  Another big difference is the use of scholarly literature instead of, or in addition to, popular sources.  We will include helpful information about scholarly vs. popular articles and how to use library databases to pick a workable topic.  Here are the three videos for the first part of our class:

 

1.  Winning at Academic Research:  Analyzing Academically

2. .Research Minutes: How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles (Cornell University Libraries)

3. Picking Your Topic IS Research (North Carolina State University)

 

After viewing the videos, you will be ready to start or continue thinking about your topic.  Planning research/writing involves thinking deeply about what you want to write  plus choosing appropriate keywords for database searching. 

Producing a finished college-level research paper requires:

  • writing and organization,
  • researching useful sources, and
  • documenting everything you are going use. 

Sounds complicated, but with the databases we have available, both discovery and documentation of scholarly sources can be fairly easy;. To get started with the process, take a look at our research worksheet:

Searching Databases; Finding Sources; Making a Folder or List

Before you begin searching, look at this video about Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT):

Building Search Strings, Part 1: Boolean Operators  (OSLIS)

Searching QuickSearch for books:

How to Look for a Book on a Topic/Subject   (Advanced Search)

Search tips for Academic Search Premier and other Ebscohost databases:

Using Academic Search Premier

Advanced Searching on Ebscohost  (Ebsco)

Searching tips for ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection (University of Newcastle, UK)

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Documenting; List of Works Cited

Use the folder or list  function in most databases to make a list of works cited.

"Instant" MLA Bibliographies from Ebsco

Subject Librarian (Newark)

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Interim Nursing Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton@rutgers.edu
Website

More Information

More on scholarly sources:  Click on the EVALUATE SOURCES tab.

More on the research process:  Click on the RESEARCH PROCESS tab.

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.