Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is the MLA International Bibliography?
Try some of the terms listed in the "Sample Searches" box below in these databases!
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database ideal for undergraduate students. Searches exact phrases. Will output references in MLA format.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
A massive database of databases in the social sciences. Will make an MLA or APA list of references automatically.
Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)
Indexes many items not commonly found in one place elsewhere. Lists PDF or indicates Full Text@Rutgers if readily available. Does not prepare bibliographic output; you must use a citation manager (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or the like) or other method to capture bibliographic information.
Full-text backfiles of important academic journals in many fields. WARNING: Most materials in this database are more than five years old.
Recent full-text articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Literature Resource Center
Excellent, full-text introductions to authors and their works, designed for an undergraduate audience.
Academic Search Premier
Contains some literature among its many subject areas. Searches exact phrases. Will output references in MLA format.
Literature Online (LION)
Provides more than 350,000 full-text literary works as well as author biographies, entries from reference works, and literary criticism.
MLA International Bibliography
One of the oldest lit crit databases, this offering from the Modern Language Association indexes criticism on the literature of all genres, all languages, and all countries, beginning in 1926. The EbscoHost format makes bibliography output in MLA format a breeze.
ATLA Religion Index
Database in religion and theology. Good for religious aspects of topics.
Covers material in philosophy, including ethics and morality. Good source for moral and ethical aspects of topics.
Try These Searches in Our Databases:
- nature AND nurture
- heredity AND environment
- genotype AND phenotype
- criminal behavior -- genetic aspects
- crime -- sociological aspects
- beauty AND (social OR society)
- romanticism AND (gothic OR gothicism)
- gothic horror OR dark romanticism
- social isolation