Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

U.S. Business History: Identity and
Marketing

History of Advertising

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Joh McDonough and Karen Egolf, editors. New York, Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. 3 vols.
Entries focus on advertising history, including histories of specific advertising agencies. Outstanding reference work; includes information not available elsewhere.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA REF. HF5803 .A484 2003
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Thomas Riggs, editor. Detroit, Gale Group, 1999.
CAMDEN, CARR REF. HF5837 .E53 1999
19th Century Advertising: A Taste of the Advertisements Found in the Pages of Harper's Weekly
The Art of American Advertising: Trade Cards
The Baker Library at Harvard has created digital images for 1,000 trade cards from their collections. Trade cards were one of the most popular means of advertising in the 19th century. Images can be searched in a variety of ways, including by product, industry, or company name.
The Advertising Century
Advertising Age chronicle of the advertising industry in the 20th century. Includes their choice of "Top 100 Campaigns" and "Top 100 People."
All-American Ads
Decade by decade pictorial history of advertising in 20th-century America.
  • 1900-1919: All-American Ads. CARR HF5813 .U6A13 2005
  • 20s: All-American Ads. CARR NC998.5 .A1A12 2004
  • 30s: All-American Ads. CARR NC998.5 .A1A153 2003
  • 40s: All-American Ads. CARR HF5813 .U6A15 2001
  • 50s: All-American Ads. CARR NC998.5 .A1A155 2001
  • All-American Ads: 60s. CARR NC998.5 .A1A65 2003
  • 70s: All-American Ads. CARR NC998.5 .A1A15 2004
  • 80s: All-American Ads. CARR HF5813 .U6A17 2005
Ad*Access
Search or browse over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. A project of the Digital Scriptorium, Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the U.S. From collections in the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History at Duke University. Site also includes an advertising history timeline
Fifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Advertisement: Highlights from the Motion Picture Archives at the Library of Congress
"A variety of television advertisements, never-broadcast outtakes, and experimental footage reflecting the historical development of television advertising for a major commercial product."

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.