Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Pharmaceutical Sciences Research Guide: Major Pharmaceutical Reference Books

Guide to resources in pharmacology

Major Pharmaceutical Reference Books

Alphabetical Title Listing:

AHFS
See American Hospital Formulary Service

American Drug Index
LSM/ REF/ RS355.A48

American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS125.A56

Applied Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacokinetics: Principles of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring
LSM/ REF/ RM301.5.A66

Basic Clinical Pharmacokinetics (Winters)
LSM/ RESERVE/ RM301.5.W56

British Pharmacopeia (multi volume)
LSM/ REF/ RS 141.3.B75

Clinical Pharmacology
Available Online for subscription or a free trial

Drug Facts and Comparisons
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS250.F33; in loose-leaf format
Rutgers University Libraries - available Online

Drug Information for the Health Care Professional
LSM/ REF/ RS 151.2.U86

Drug Information Handbook (Lexi-Comp)
LSM/ RESERVE/ RM301.12.D783

Drug Interaction Facts (Facts and Comparisons)
Rutgers University Libraries - available Online

[Drug Topics] Red Book
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS356.D75

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk (Briggs)
LSM/ REF/ RG627.6.D79 B75

Encyclopedia of Clinical Pharmacy
LSM/ REF/ RM 263.E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Technology (multi-volume)
LSM/ REF/ RS192.E53

European Pharmacopoeia (multi-volume)
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS141.28.E8

Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
Rutgers University Libraries - available Online

Guide to Parenteral Admixtures (King)
Rutgers University Libraries - available Online

Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs
LSM/ RESERVE/ RM671.A1H35

Handbook on Injectable Drugs (Trissel's)
LSM/ REF/ RM143.T74

Index Nominum: International Drug Directory
LSM/ REF/ RS356.I52

Martindale, The Complete Drug Reference (multi-volume)
LSM/ REF/ RS141.3.M4

Merck Index
Rutgers University Libraries - available Online

Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
LSM/ REF/ RM300.S53 and annual updates

MICROMEDEX family of databases (DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, IDENTIDEX, POISINDEX)
Not available at Rutgers University, only available at UMDNJ Camden Cooper

Mosby's Drug Consult
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS55.2.P48

PDR for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements and Herbs
LSM/ REF/ RS250.P5

Pediatric Dosage Handbook (Lexi-Comp)
LSM/ RESERVE/ RJ560.P387

Pediatric Injectable Drugs: Teddy Bear Book
LSM/ REF/ RM170.P47

Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach (Dipiro)
LSM/ REF/ RM263.P56

Pharmacy Library - Reference E-Books
Available online

Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR)
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS75.P5

Red Book (Drug Topics) [Includes drug pricing]
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS356.D75

Remington's The Science and Practice of Pharmacy
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS41.R4

Review of Natural Products (Facts and Comparisons)
Rutgers University Libraries - available Online

Teddy Bear Book
See Pediatric Injectable Drugs

Trissel's injectable drugs
See Handbook on Injectable Drugs

USP DI: USP Dispensing Information (multi-volume)
LSM/ REF/ RS151.2.U86/ (multi volume)

United States Pharmacopeia - National Formulary (USP-NF) (multi-volume)
LSM/ RESERVE/ RS141.2.P51

Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics
LSM/ REF/ RM122.W35

 

Medical and Pharmaceutical Sciences Librarian

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.