Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Physics and Astronomy: Mobile Apps

Mobile Apps

Google Sky Map Logo

Google Sky Map (Free for Android) Simply point your phone at the heavens and a map of the sky based on your location springs up, complete with stars, constellations planets and satellites.

LHSee Logo

LHSee (Free for Android) Developed by the University of Oxford LHSee is a mobile application that lets you view high energy particle collisions directly from the Large Hadron Collider, making it simple to understand what's going on at a glance. View live events, straight from the ATLAS Detector at CERN. Find out how to identify different particles.  Hunt for the Higgs Boson.


Mobile Observatory ($4.60 for Android) Mobile Observatory is the perfect tool for anybody interested in the sky's wonders, from the occasional sky gazer to the passionate amateur astronomer..


NASA App (free for AndroId and iOS) Developed by NASA, this app contains over 14,000 images and 10,000 videos of planets, stars, and satellites, along with information about all of NASA’s current missions and activities. You can also read the latest news stories about NASA, whilst live streaming their own TV and radio channels. You can even track the progress of the International Space Station and other Earth orbiting satellites.

Particle Physics Booklet 2012 Logo

Particle Physics Booklet 2012 (Free for Android) Developed by Igor Kreslo, a physicist from the Laboratory for High Energy Physics at the University of Bern, Switzerland. The Particle Physics Booklet provides information about a number of particles such as the muon.

Particle Properties Logo

Particle Properties (Free for Android) Developed by Igor Kreslo, a physicist from the Laboratory for High Energy Physics at the University of Bern, Switzerland. The Particle Properties app is an online database of elementary particle properties. When scientists study particle physics, they require some vital information, such as decay branching ratios. 

Physics Calculator Logo

Physics Calculator ($0.99 for iOS) Physics Calculator is a perfect tool for engineering students that want to make their difficult calculations in a short time, or for those who want to run the numbers again and see if they have made any mistakes when solving problems. 

Physics Handbook Logo

Physics Formulas (Free for Android) Physics Formulas has been developed and released to help users quickly refer to any Physics formulas for their study and work. 

Physics Full Course Logo

Physics Full Course ($1.99 for iOS) All of PHYSICS in one app: kinematics, Kepler’s laws and the principles of dynamics. The study of thermodynamics. Waves, acoustics and the Doppler Effect, optics and phenomena of refraction. Electrostatics and electromagnetism, Coulomb’s, Kirchhoff’s and Faraday – Neumann’s laws, Gauss’ theorem. Modern physics with the theory of relativity and Compton’s effect. All with exercises to do.

Physics Handbook Logo

Physics Handbook ($0.99 for iOS) The perfect app for learning and testing your knowledge! Physics handbook provides its users a service that is very important in school: useful and easy to obtain information. The application can also be regarded as a self-learning tool because you can test your newly acquired information by doing some of the app’s integrated quizzes.

Wolfram Physics I Course Assistant Logo

Star Walk ($2.99 for iOS / also available for Android for $2.52) Star Walk is the most beautiful stargazing app you’ve ever seen on a mobile device. It will become your go-to interactive star chart of the night sky, following your every movement in real time and allowing you to explore over 200, 000 celestial bodies with extensive information about stars, planets, satellites, and constellations that you find. Even if you’ve never been that into astronomy, Star Walk will surprise you.

Universe Splitter Logo

Universe Splitter ($1.99 for iOS) Having a hard time making decisions? Try Universe Splitter for the iPhone and let a quantum physics machine in Europe make the decision for you. This Apple Staff Favorite is actually endorsed by some famous physicists and is the ultimate in quantum humor.

Vernier Video Physics Logo

Vernier Video Physics ($4.99 for iOS) Video Physics brings automated object tracking and video analysis to iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Capture video of an object in motion, then tap to track automatically. Video Physics instantly creates trajectory, position, and velocity graphs for the object.

Wolfram Physics I Course Assistant Logo

Wolfram Physics I Course Assistant ($2.99 for iOS) Taking introductory physics or need a quick physics reference? Then you need the Wolfram Physics I Course Assistant. This app will help you work through your homework problems, ace your tests, and learn physics concepts. Forget canned examples! The Wolfram Physics I Course Assistant solves your specific physics problems on the fly.