Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Physics and Astronomy: Indexes & Databases

Rutgers Restricted Indexes & Databases

See a full list of Indexes and Databases available at Rutgers, click here.

The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library(IEL) is a collaboration between the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)in the US and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) in the UK. It covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering. The database allows for full text access to over 140 journals, over 800 conference proceedings and 800 standards from more than 36 not-for-profit IEEE societies and IEEE.

INSPEC provides the leading English-language bibliographic access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, and information technology. In addition, there is significant coverage in materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. The database contains over ten million bibliographic records taken from 5,000 scientific and technical journals and 2,000 conference proceedings. Approximately 675,000 new records are added to the database annually.

View a tutorial on searching in INSPEC on the new guide from IET.

MathSciNet is the most comprehensive resource for the international literature of mathematics and statistics. Coverage includes the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.

SciFinder is the electronic version of the print publication "Chemical Abstracts". SciFinder comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc. It may be useful for research in chemical physics.

Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals, as well as find articles about topics in physics.

Science Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, covers original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, abstracts, and more from over 6,650 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines including physics and astronomy.


Freely Accessible Indexes & Databases

arXiv is a pre-print repository that provides open access to over 1 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

ADS is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. It maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.5 million records: Astronomy and Atrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.

HEPDATA is a database containing numerical reaction data such as cross sections (differential and total), polarization measurements, structure functions, fragmentation functions etc.

SPIRES HEP is a joint project of SLAC, DESY & FNAL as well as the worldwide HEP community. Besides HEP search, it also offers search for HEPName, Institutions, Conferences, Experiments, Jobs, and Videos.

The Particle Data Group is an international collaboration charged with summarizing Particle Physics, as well as related areas of Cosmology and Astrophysics. The Review of Particle Physics is published on even-numbered years. There are tables, reviews, plots, and others availbale to download on the website.

​SCOAP3 is an acronym for Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics. "SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of thousands of libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in more than 40 countries. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors." Rutgers contributes to SCOAP3.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a free database on the web and provides access to many full-text articles, especially when you access Google Scholar from a computer with Rutgers IP address. It enables users to search articles from many academic publishers and preprint repositories. The "citations citing" feature is similar to Science Citation Index in Web of Science. Google Scholar should be used as a supplement for Web of Science and Scopus.