Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Mission Course of Douglass Residential College: Douglass History

This guide is for students in the mission course of Douglass Residential College.

Images from Rutgers Collections

Mabel Smith Douglass 

Images with Caption

Image Gallery (downloadable images)

Images from Rutgers Collections

Pro-Coeducation 

Anti-coeducation 

 

Sample Subject Headings

Douglass College

New Jersey State Federation of Women's Clubs

Women's colleges

Women

Education (Higher)

History

Social aspects

                                    

Sample Subject Headings

Coeducation -- New Jersey

Coeducation -- United States 

History -- 20th century

Sex differences in education

Sexism and higher education

Women college students

Women's colleges

Links

Douglass Celebrates a Birthday: 95 Years in 2013  by Linda Stamato in NJ Voices, November 13, 2013. 

Douglass Residential College

Associate Alumnae of Douglass College

New Jersey State Federation of Women's Clubs

Towards a New History of Douglass College lists essays by students in the Douglass Scholars Program (2003). Includes essays on Mabel S. Douglass and many of the early college traditions. 

Links

Towards a New History of Douglass College includes student essays on many topics, including coeducation, in the Douglass Scholars Program in 2003.

NJ.com article on first women who entered Rutgers 40 years ago.

Article from Rutgers Magazine titled "Trailblazers" on the first women who came to integrate Rutgers College in the fall of 1972. 

Debates on pros and cons of co-education still continues. Wilson College, PA made the decision to admit men in January 2013. The article about the process is here

Welcome

This page links to images, archival collection records, and other resources intended to help you explore the history of women's education at Rutgers University.  Enjoy!

                               

Published Primary Sources

 

Announcement (Includes requirement for admission, description of courses, tuition, etc.) 1956-1981. DOUGLASS REF LD7071.5.A15 and SC/UA.

Caellian. (Douglass College student newspaper). Index available for 1921-1955. SC/UA.

Douglass alumnae magazine. 1926-  Publication of the Douglass Alumnae Association. Bound Periodicals section, Douglass Library. 

Horn book magazine literary quarterly. (Student publication) SC/UA LH1.D6H67

Quair: Yearbook of Douglass College. 1922-2006 . (with gaps) Douglass REF LD6597.Q8 and SC/UA. 1922-1926 vols. are available online here.

"Red Book" Handbook of Information for Students. DOUGLASS REF LD7071.5.A32 1928-1943

The Early History of New Jersey College for Women: Personal Recollections by Dean Douglass. Douglass, SC/UA LD7251.N25332D68 1929 (reprinted from the 1929 Quair the Student Annual)

Twenty-five Years: Two Anniversary Sketches of New Jersey College for Women. Douglass, SC/UA LD7251.N25332M58

 

Everyday Life of Women in America, c.1800-1920 [Rutgers restricted]. Try a search using "education" as keyword. 

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs [Rutgers restricted] Click on "Search" on the left side (NOT quick search on top of the page) and do a keyword search for "college."  

New York Times Historical [Rutgers restricted]

Washington Post [Rutgers restricted]

Archival Collections

Records of the Douglass College. Office of the Dean, 1887-1973. See Dean Margery Somers Foster Papers (1970-1979)

Records of the Rutgers University Office of the President (Mason Welch Gross)

Rutgers Women: a Living History. a collection of interviews of women, Rutgers College 1976, the first coed class at the university. SC/UA.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a database with many primary sources in full-text. Do a search for "college" to find relevant material.