Indexes & Databases
The following are useful databases which can help you identify articles relevant to various biology-related topics. Where Rutgers has online access to relevant citations, you will be able to click and link directly to the online article.
For additional databases, please view the list of Biology/Botany/Zoology databases accessible via Rutgers University Libraries.
- BioOneBioOne is the product of collaboration among scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. It brings to the Web an aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of these titles are published by small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers. BioOne provides integrated access to interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
- BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science)BIOSIS Previews indexes international journals, published meetings, symposia, workshops, patents, book and software reviews. It is multidisciplinary covering, e.g.,Zoology, Behavior and Ecology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Physiology, and Plant Sciences.
- CAB AbstractsCAB Abstracts is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food, and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.
- MEDLINE (via OVID)Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- ProQuest Biological Science CollectionA collection of databases which can be searched separately or together. Included are: Bacteriology Abstracts, Biotechnology Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, Toxline and other useful databases.
- PubMedPubMed is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.
- ScopusScopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles) and health sciences (6,800+ titles), followed by the life sciences (4,300+ titles), and finally the social sciences & humanities (5,300+ titles). Patents in Scopus come from five patent offices: US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is an enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, e.g., Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors through the "Cited Reference Search" and allows subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription covers 1984 to the present.
Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to always display Get it @ R by customizing your library links settings. This will allow you to access library subscription content even if you don’t start your search from this page.
If you encounter an article to which Rutgers University Libraries does not have access, submit an article delivery request.
Use the lefthand menu to narrow your search.
Use the Cited By link to related articles which have referenced a title you found relevant.