Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

America and the World (510:363): Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the   button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text is the basic index for finding articles in the social sciences. SSI indexes over 550 of the core, English language journals in social science disciplines including sociology and social work, public administration, political science, public welfare, and urban studies. It indexes many journals back to 1982 and, beginning with 1995, includes many full-text articles.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access. | NJIT access

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database with indexing and full text for a large number of journal titles. Offers limit for academic (peer reviewed or scholarly) journal articles. 1990s-
Off-Campus Link | NJIT access

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.

Political Science, Public Policy, and International Affairs

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975- Index to over 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Public Affairs Information Service
1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
1991- Database of full-text working papers, research reports, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and journal articles relating to international affairs.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access