Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Lusophone Language, Literature and Culture: Author Biographies

Use this guide to aid your research in Portuguese, Brazilian and Lusophone Africa Studies

Biographical Databases

Core databases

Literature Resource Center

World Biographical Database

Secondary databases
(more limited coverage of Portuguese-language authors.)

Contemporary Authors

Literature Online (LION)

Biographical Sourcebooks

Portuguese writers / edited by Mônica Rector and Fred M. Clark. Detroit : Gale Group, 2003. ALEX REF PS88.D57 v.287

Dicionário mulheres do Brasil : de 1500 até a atualidade : com 270 ilustrações / organizado por Schuma Schumaher, Erico Vital Brazil. Rio de Janeiro : J. Zahar Editor, c2000. DOUGLASS REF CT3303.D53 2000

Dicionário de autores de literaturas africanas de língua portuguesa / Aldónio Gomes, Fernanda Cavacas. Lisboa : Caminho, c1997. ALEX REF PQ 9900.A52G66 1997

A new bibliography of the lusophone literatures of Africa = Nova bibliografia das literaturas africanas de expressão portuguesa / Gerald Moser & Manuel Ferreira. London ; New York : H. Zell Publishers, 1993. ALEX REF Z3874.L5M595 1993

Dicionário cronológico de autores portugueses / organizado pelo Instituto Portugûes do Livro ; coordenação de Eugénio Lisboa. Mem Martins, Portugal : Publicações Europa-América, c1985- ALEX REF PQ9027.D5 1985 v.5

Notable Latin American women : twenty-nine leaders, rebels, poets, battlers, and spies, 1500-1900 / by Jerome R. Adams. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c1995.  DOUGLASS REF CT3290.A33 1995

Latin American writers on gay and lesbian themes : a bio-critical sourcebook / edited [and compiled] by David William Foster.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994. ALEX, DOUGLASS PQ7081.3.F62 1994

Indice biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica (IBEPI) Munich : K.G. Saur, c1997.  ALEX REFCOM CT1345.I532 1997 (CD-ROM)

Latin American mystery writers : an A-to-Z guide / edited by Darrell B. Lockhart.  Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2004.  ALEX REF PQ7082.N7L352 2004

Jewish writers of Latin America : a dictionary / edited by Darrell B. Lockhart.  New York : Garland Pub., 1997.  ALEX REF PQ7081.3.J49 1997

Notable twentieth-century Latin American women : a biographical dictionary / edited by Cynthia Margarita Tompkins and David William Foster.  Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2001.  DOUGLASS REF CT3290.N68 2001


 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.