Skip to main content
Standards are written descriptions of the criteria for a specific product, process, test, or procedure that is agreed to by formal processes. Here lists several sites of standard databases.
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
It is essential for aerospace professionals and students to have access to the latest standards in the industry. Standards provide many benefits including best practices, economies of scale, expanded trade possibilities, and increased resource flow.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
Provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
ASHRAE develops standards for both its members and others professionally concerned with refrigeration processes and the design and maintenance of indoor environments.
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
The AAMI standards program consists of over 100 technical committees and working groups that produce Standards, Recommended Practices, and Technical Information Reports for medical devices.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted]
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.
IHS Global Engineering
Covers international standards (ISO, IEC) as well as national standards from many countries. Search by keyword in title or by document number. Papers must be paid for.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) [Rutgers Restricted]
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to IEEE standards, including superseded standards but not draft standards, dating from January 1988 to present.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 163 national standards bodies. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges. The site can be used to explore standards; however, payment is needed for full access.
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
Access to publications regarding current updates and changes to telecommunications standards.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration standards are available online at the OSHA website
Society of Automobile Engineers
SAE standards are internationally recognized for their role in helping ensure the safety, quality, and effectiveness of products and services across the mobility engineering industry. The more than 10,000 standards in the SAE database now include historical standards, and can be accessed through one of the targeted solutions listed. Users can browse standards but must pay for access.
Standards and Specifications written by Scholarly Societies
Sponsored by the University of Waterloo, the site links to standards-developing societies and associations from around the world.
U.S. Department of Defense (MIL-Specs)
The ASSIST database provides access to the full text of Defense and Federal specifications and standards available. Search by number, keyword in title or browse by subject (FSA - Federal Supply Class).