South Asian Studies

Click here for all South Asian Studies Databases

Area Studies: India : a collection of digitized primary resources, told from a British colonial perspective, that document the political, social, and cultural history of India from 1712-1942. 

Artstor: art database with South Asian Art in their collection.

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online: a collection of reports, working paper series, and journals from Asia's most prestigious research institutions, covering business, economic, government, political, and social issues related to the nations of the Asia-Pacific region.

Bibliography of Asian Studies: major multi-disciplinary index for the study of East, Southeast, and South Asia. It contains citations for Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings, chapters in edited volumes, and Festschrift published worldwide that relate to the study of Asia.

Cambridge Histories : a collection of reference works on various subjects like history, philosophy, religious studies, music, and arts, which is published by Cambridge University Press. Also includes resources on South Asian history, religion, agriculture, and many more. 

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange : the collection brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. These commodities, transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Global Press Archive  : contains digitized historical news sources on South Asia from 1850-1992. It includes materials with Full Text availability. 

Hindi Cinema: Histories of Film-making : a collection of videos, on-set footage, photographs, and film posters, that document the history of Bollywood cinema from 1950-2010. 

South Asia Commons : a platform that provides multitude of materials, such as ebooks, journals, government resources, images, newspapers, and more, related to South Asian history and culture. 

South Asian Open Archives (SAOA) : a open-access database that collects digitized primary materials pertaining to South Asia. It includes sources on  South Asian arts, humanities, and social sciences. 

Rutgers provides access to South Asian journals through Browzine, which gives access to South Asian journals such as: The South Asia Economics Journal, South Asian Popular Culture, History and Sociology of South Asia, Contemporary South Asia, among others.

Browzine can be downloaded for iphone and android and you can save and export journal articles from it to such services such as DropBox, Medeley, RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero.

However, not all journals are available on Browzine so make sure to go to the Rutgers Journal search too. (The journals on Browzine can be found through the Rutgers journal search as well.)