Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Archives and Historical Documents

Guide to library resources in Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Digital Archives

Finding Archival Collections

ArchiveGrid

WorldCat

Archives in Latin America Guide (LANIC)

 

Local Colletions

Princeton University Guide to Archives and Manuscripts Related to LAS

Princeton University Library Latin American Ephemera Collection

New York Public Library Manuscripts and Archives Division

Hispanic Society Department of Manuscripts and Rare Books

Guide to Puerto Rican archives in the National Archives, New York City

 

Guides to Other Collections (Check the Rutgers Library Catalog or WorldCat to locate a copy)

Archivo General de Indias. Catálogo de las consultas del Consejo de Indias. Sevilla: Diputación Provincial, 1983-.

Archivo General de Indias. Independencia de América : fuentes para su estudio; catalogo de documentos conservados en el Archivo General de Indias de Sevilla, 1. serie. Madrid : [Estab. tip. de la Sociedad de publicaciones históricas], 1912.

Archivo General de la Nación, Mexico. Argena II <computer file>: documentos coloniales. Mexico, D.F.: Secretaria de Gobernacion, Archivo General de la Nacion; Colima, Col.: Cenedic, Universidad de Colima ; <Mexico City> : Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnologia, 1995.

La Nueva Guía General del Archivo General de la Nacion (Mexico).

Bartley, Russell H. Latin America in basic historical collections: a working guide. Stanford, CA: Hoover Institution Press [1972].

Benson Latin American Collection. Archives and manuscripts on microfilm in the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American collection : a checklist. Austin, Texas : University of Texas at Austin, General Libraries, 1980.

Columbia University. Rare Book and Manuscript Library. A guide to the manuscript collections in the Rare Book and Manuscript Library of Columbia University.
   
Faulhaber, Charles. Medieval manuscripts in the library of the Hispanic Society of America : religious, legal, scientific, historical, and literary manuscripts. New York: The Hispanic Society of America, 1983.

Grieb, Kenneth J., ed. Research Guide to Central America and the Caribbean. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.

Guía del fondo Rul y Azcárate / coordinadores, Eduardo Flores Clair, Cuauhtémoc Velasco Avila ; colaboradres, Félix González Muñoz ... [et al.].
México, D.F. : Instituto Nacional de Antropología e História, Dirección de Estudios Históricos : Archivo General de la Nación, Dirección del Archivo Histórico Central, 1987.

Guide to Latin American pamphlets from the Yale University Library : selections from 1600-1900. New York : Clearwater Pub. Co., 1985.
   
A Guide to manuscript sources for the history of Latin America and the Caribbean in the British Isles. London: Oxford University Press [for] the Institute of Latin American Studies, University of London, 1973.

Guide to materials on Latin America in the National Archives of the United States. Washington, DC:U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1974.
   
Hanke, Lewis. Guía de las fuentes en el Archivo General de Indias para el estudio de la administración virreinal española en México y en el Perú: 1535-1700. Koln; Wien: Bohlau, 1977.

Hilton, Sylvia L. Fuentes manuscritas para la historia de Iberoamérica : guía de instrumentos de investigación. Madrid : Fundación MAPFRE América, Instituto Histórico Tavera, 1995, and Supplement, 1997.   

New York Public Library.  Colonial Latin American manuscripts and transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection : an inventory and index. [New York] : New York Public Library Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations, 1978.
   

Selected Document Collections in the Library

General

1492--discovery, invasion, encounter : sources and interpretation / edited, with introductions and an essay, by Marvin Lunenfeld. Lexington, Mass. : D.C. Heath, c1991. Camden E101.A15 1991

After Coronado : Spanish exploration northeast of New Mexico, 1696-1727 : documents from the archives of Spain, Mexico and New Mexico / Norman, University of Oklahoma press, 1935. ALEX, Carr F799.T454A

Britain and the independence of Latin America, 1812-1830; select documents from the Foreign Office Archives. Edited by C. K. Webster. New York, Octagon Books, 1970. Carr, Dana F1416.G7W4 1970


Colonial Spanish America : a documentary history / edited by Kenneth Mills and William B. Taylor. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, c1998. ALEX F1412.C642 1998

Cross and sword : an eyewitness history of Christianity in Latin America / H. McKennie Goodpasture, editor. Maryknoll, N.Y. : Orbis Books, c1989. Newark BR600.C765 1989

Latin America and the United States : a documentary history / Robert H. Holden, Eric Zolov. New York : Oxford University Press, 2011. ALEX, Dana F1418.L354 2011

Letters and people of the Spanish Indies, sixteenth century / translated and edited by James Lockhart and Enrique Otte. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1976. ALEX, Douglass, Camden F1411.L58

New Iberian world : a documentary history of the discovery and settlement of Latin America to the early 17th century / edited, with commentaries, by John H. Parry and Robert G. Keith ; with the assistance of Michael Jimenez. New York : Times Books : Hector & Rose, 1984. ALEX, Camden, Dana F1411.I18 1984

The quest for change in Latin America; sources for a twentieth-century analysis, edited by W. Raymond Duncan and James Nelson Goodsell. New York, Oxford University Press, 1970. Carr, Dana, Camden F1414.D85

Spanish & Mexican records of the American Southwest : a bibliographical guide to archive & manuscript sources / Henry Putney Beers. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, c1979. ALEX Z1251 .S8 B4

Brazil

Brasiliana da Biblioteca Nacional : guia das fontes sobre o Brasil / organização, Paulo Roberto Pereira. Rio de Janeiro : Editora Nova Fronteira : Ministério da Cultura, Fundação Biblioteca Nacional, 2001. ALEX F2510.B53 2001

Children of God's fire : a documentary history of black slavery in Brazil / Robert Edgar Conrad. University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, 1994. Dana HT1126.C575 1994

A documentary history of Brazil, edited, with an introd., by E. Bradford Burns. New York, Knopf, 1966. ALEX, Douglass, Carr, Dana, Camden F2521.B88

Early Brazil : a documentary collection to 1700 / edited by Stuart B. Schwartz ; translated by Clive Willis and Stuart B. Schwartz. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010. ALEX, Dana F2524.E275 2010

História documental do Brasil. Pref. de Delgado de Carvalho. Rio de Janeiro, Distr. Record [1969] ALEX F2523.9.C34

Chile

The Pinochet file : a declassified dossier on atrocity and accountability / Peter Kornbluh. New York : New Press, 2003. ALEX F3101.P56K67 2003

Cuba

The Cuban missile crisis, 1962 : a National Security Archive documents reader / edited by Laurence Chang and Peter Kornbluh. New York : The New Press, 1992. ALEX, Camden, Dana E841.C845 1992

Cuban revolution reader : a documentary history of 40 key moments of the Cuban revolution / edited by Julio García Luis. Melbourne ; New York : Ocean, 2001. ALEX, Dana F1788.2.R47913 2001

What happened in Cuba? a documentary history. New York, Twayne Publishers [1963] ALEX, Douglass, Carr, Dana E183.8.C9S62

Guatemala

Quichean civilization; the ethnohistoric, ethnographic, and archaeological sources, by Robert M. Carmack. Berkeley, University of California Press [1973] ALEX, Douglass, Carr, Dana F1465.2.Q5C27

Mexico

The broken spears; the Aztec account of the conquest of Mexico. Boston, Beacon Press [1962] Douglass, Camden F1230.L383

Documentos históricos de la Revolución Mexicana / editados por la Comisión de Investigaciones Históricas de la Revolución Mexicana, bajo la dirección de Isidro Fabela. México : Fondo de Cultura Economica, 1960-1976. ALEX F1234.D737

Documents on the Mexican Revolution / edited by Gene Z. Hanrahan. Salisbury, N.C. : Documentary Publications, 1976- ALEX F1234.D738

Electronic texts and concordances of legal documents from Colonial Mexico (1561-1647) : selected from the archives and the Biblioteca P~blica del Estado de Jalisco / edited by Sonia Kania. Madison, [Wis.] : The Hispanic Society of America, 1999. ALEX STACKS-COM KGF7407.7.E44 199

Mexican history : a primary source reader / edited by Nora E. Jaffary, Edward W. Osowski, Susie S. Porter. Boulder, CO : Westview Press, c2010. ALEX F1203.M49 2010

Here in this year : seventeenth-century Nahuatl annals of the Tlaxcala-Puebla Valley / edited and translated by Camilla Townsend ; with an essay by James Lockhart. ALEX F1219.54.A98H47 2010

The Mexican-American war : an annotated bibliography / compiled and edited by Norman E. Tutorow. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981. ALEX, Dana Z1241.M4

Relatando México : cinco textos del período fundacional de la colonia en Tierra Firme / Roland Schmidt-Riese. Frankfurt am Main : Vervuert ; Madrid : Iberoamericana, 2003. ALEX F1230.S36 2003

Victors and vanquished : Spanish and Nahua views of the conquest of Mexico / edited by Stuart B. Schwartz. Boston, Mass. : Bedford/St. Martin's, 2000. ALEX F1230.V52 2000

Panama

Background documents relating to the Panama Canal / prepared for the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, by Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress. Washington : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1977. Carr, Camden F1569.C2U67 1977

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.