Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

Business Databases: Quick Guide

This guide will lead you to many of the Rutgers-restricted databases (as well as a few Web resources) which are useful for business research on companies, industries, markets, and topics.

Case Studies

 
  Case Studies  
 
 

Case studies offer insight into how a company or industry handled a threat, risk or crisis in order to stay viable. 

HBR Case Studies

Some Harvard Business Review case studies (not all) are available through Business Source Premier. Type JN "Harvard Business Review" and case study in the search box.  

Access to case studies NOT available through Business Source Premier can be done via HBR coursepacks.  Harvard Business Publishing has a usage policy that forbids the use of articles published in the Harvard Business Review as required readings in academic and corporate courses unless it is done by creating coursepacks through "Harvard Business Publishing for Educators."  Coursepacks can be created for free, but students must pay to access the content, which includes case studies, books, articles, chapters and notes.

Faculty can also set up a free educator account which allows HBSP (Harvard Business School Publishing) case studies and notes to be made available to students at a discount.

Other Sources

Here are two places that offer free, open access case studies:

  • MIT Learning Edge -  A free learning resource for management educators and students from MIT’s Sloan School of Management, with a focus on entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability and system dynamics.
  • Stanford Graduate School of Business - available for free to registered educators at thecasecentre.org. Topics include entrepreneurship, strategic management, social innovation, global supply chain, and international business.

Also try:

  • Bloomberg for Education - Bloomberg Businessweek Case Studies are designed to align with Intro to Finance textbooks and the Bloomberg Terminal. Topics include financial statements, mergers & acquisitions, raising capital and equity valuation & analysis. (Registration required)
  • Business Source Premier - Use the Business Searching Interface as an alternative way to search Business Source Premier that makes it easier to find case studies, as well as company profiles, country profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. 
  • Google Scholar - type "business case studies" into the search bar. You can then filter by date or relevance and/or narrow these results by adding key words for a particular topic or industry such as management or banking to your search.
  • Marketline (Rutgers-restricted database) - includes analyst insights and themed reports on cross-sector megatrends and company and industry case studies.

  • Sage Business (Rutgers-restricted database) - includes access to a variety of business resources, including:

Consulting Firms

In addition, free case studies and analyst insights covering a variety of topics and industries are available from these consulting firms:

Of particular note:

  • Deloitte Insights provides information via WSJ's CIO Journal 
  • Frost & Sullivan offers a selection of industry reports as recorded teleconference presentations in their Analyst Briefing Archives (registration required).