Library Research - Sociological Resources and More

Just need the full-text of a specific article you are looking for?

How do I get my article?

Locate an article you have identified.

How do I know if RU has a particular journal?

Once you know where an article was published, use these step-by-step instructions to find out if Rutgers has access to that particular journal via RU Library Catalog.

Still no luck? Contact me (see below) or any librarian at Ask Us

Search for articles based on you topic keywords in some of these major sociological databases:

• Sociology Collection (ProQuest)
• Sociological Abstracts
• Google Scholar [off campus alert - connect from the libraries website to get access to full-text of subscribed journals]
• Academic Search Premier
• ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
• Ethnic NewsWatch
• Family and Society Studies Worldwide
• PsycINFO (including PsycARTICLES)
• ScienceDirect
• Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
• Social Services Abstracts
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Women's Studies International
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
• Other sociology related databases from the libraries

For more complete list of all databases click here.

The following multidisciplinary indexes cover popular and scholarly articles in a range of subject areas.  Use the option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

QuickSearch

Use QuickSearch to find materials available from the Rutgers Libraries, including books, journals, articles, music, movies, and more.

Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.

Web of Science (Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences)

Indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.