Research Guides: Black Power: More Primary Sources

Image Collections

Artstor: A digital image library of over 2 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Registering for a personal account will allow you to download images, save images into groups, share your groups with other Artstor users, view groups created by other users (such as collections set up by course instructors), add notes to individual images, set personal display options, and export citations. Rutgers-restricted Access

AMICA Library: Over 100,000 digital images of works of art held in museums. Rutgers-restricted Access

Library of Congress: Digital Collections: The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.

Digital Public Library of America: Over 40 million "images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States."

OAC: Online Archive of California: Detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

African American Communities: "A collection of primary source material related to African American community life from the mid-19th century through the late 20th century. It focuses on communities in Atlanta, Chicago, and Brooklyn and towns and cities in North Carolina." Rutgers-restricted Access

Archives Unbound: Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s: "A collection of the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation)’s previously classified files on prominent radicals and radical organizations from 1956 to 1971. The files include material such as newspaper clippings, meeting transcripts, internal bureau memoranda, and reports of special agents." Rutgers-restricted Access

Archives Unbound: Federal Suurveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984: "A collection of the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation)'s previously classified files on prominent African Americans and African-American organizations. The files include a variety of materials, such as newspaper clippings, transcripts of public meetings and speeches, reports on private meetings infiltrated by the FBI, and reports of special agents." Rutgers-restricted Access

Black Drama: "The full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the 21st century by over 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. The collection includes more than four hundred previously unpublished plays." Rutgers-restricted Access

Black Thought and Culture: Full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing (articles, essays, books, speeches, interviews, pamphlets and correspondence) by leading figures in African American life and culture. Primarily 20th century materials, although includes some materials back to the 18th century. Includes a complete run of the Black Panther newspaper, 1966 through 1980. Rutgers-restricted Access

Declassified Documents Reference System: Full-text database of documents that have been declassified by the U.S. government. Includes CIA, FBI, State Department, National Security Agency, and White House documents, among others. Largest coverage beginning after World War II, although some earlier documents are included. Rutgers-restricted Access

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: "A collection of digitized primary sources that document women's activism in United States public life. The collection includes books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, publications of state and local commissions on women, and ephemera...The database contains over 130 Document Projects, each of which consists of an interpretive question and a series of primary source documents that address that question." Rutgers-restricted Access

FBI Electronic Reading Room [The Vault].: Digital documents from the files of the FBI. You can use the A-Z Index, or browse through categories of documents including "Civil Rights," "Gangs/Extremist Groups," and "Popular Culture."