Daniel Tanner Foundation Collection

"This book treats the subject of education in colonial America in so broad and diverse a fashion that it is, in effect, a history of American culture from 1607 to 1783. Professor Cremin begins by describing the intellectual heritage from which early American society drew its ideas and attitudes and then proceeds to analyze the interaction of education with society, politics, religion, and culture in England and America. He then goes on to describe the influence of the revolutions of 1689, discusses the bearing of denominationalism, utilitarianism, and republicanism on educational thought and practice, and explores the role of education in the movement for independence. A work of major and enduring historical importance, the present volume is the first of a three-volume history of American education."--Jacket

Told more as stories than history lessons, the biographies in American National Biography Supplement I recount the tales of all the different people who shaped America--leaders, composers, entertainers, entrepreneurs, writers, scientists, and outlaws. Each one written by an expert in the fieldand masterfully woven together to present the most accurate and up-to-date information, the entries bring forth a powerful narrative of America's past and some of the most important figures that went into its formation.As the first in a series, ANB Supplement I extends the coverage from the original ANB to include notables who died prior to the end of 1999. This adds another four years of captivating history to the original 24-volume print edition's cutoff date of 1995.Among the biographies in the Supplement are articles first published in the ANB Online. The result is hour after absorbing hour spent exploring the dance of Gene Kelly and the music of Ella Fitzgerald along with the lives of Revolutionary War General Peter Gansevoort and literary scholar FredsonBowers, among many, many others.With over 400 new listings, bibliographies after each entry, and a cumulative revised index of occupations and realms of renown, the Supplement continues the ANB tradition of bringing the people who have meant so much to this country to the forefront.

The evolution of clinical supervision -- Robert Goldhammer's clinical supervision -- Ralph Mosher and David Purpel's ego counseling and group supervision -- Morris Cogan's clinical supervision -- Arthur Blumberg's interpersonal intervention -- Elliott Eisner's aesthetic evaluation -- Keith Acheson and Metedith Gall's techniques -- Madeline Hunter's decision making -- Bryce Joyce and Beverly Showers' peer coaching -- Carl Glickman's developmental supervision -- Arthur Costa and Robert Garmston's cognitive coaching -- Reflective supervision -- Toward a learning community.

The interdisciplinary field of the learning sciences encompasses educational psychology, cognitive science, computer science, and anthropology, among other disciplines. The Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences is the definitive introduction to this innovative approach to teaching, learning, and educational technology. This dramatically revised second edition incorporates the latest research in the field, includes twenty new chapters on emerging areas of interest, and features contributors who reflect the increasingly international nature of the learning sciences. The authors address the best ways to design educational software, prepare effective teachers, organize classrooms, and use the internet to enhance student learning. They illustrate the importance of creating productive learning environments both inside and outside school, including after-school clubs, libraries, museums, and online learning environments. Accessible and engaging, the Handbook has proven to be an essential resource for graduate students, researchers, teachers, administrators, consultants, educational technology designers, and policy makers on a global scale.

Three hundred fifty articles examine Columbus, the times he lived in, and his legacy from different perspectives, from the Colombian encounter, to the blending of peoples and cultures that transformed Europe and the Americas.

Offers a creative, non-traditional approach to discipline in relation to the curriculum teaching, classroom ecology, pupil socialization, and the handling of disruptive behavior

Boundary work studies examine how boundaries of knowledge are formed, maintained, broken down and reconfigured. This text investigates the claims, activities and institutional structures that define and legitimate interdisciplinary practices.

Tells the fascinating story of the Progressive Education movement of the 1930s and 1940s.

With its focus on the application of theory to actual classroom practice, this book's treatment of the full spectrum of curriculum design and practice has set the standard for completeness for nearly two decades. Part I explores the historical roots of current curriculum issues and practices, emphasizing the assessment of leading efforts at reform. Part II offers a critique of changing concepts of curriculum, conflicting curriculum and educational rationales, and influences for and against change. In Part III, major crosscurrents in reform and reconstruction are discussed, including social crises, the "knowledge explosion," curriculum articulation, and emerging designs. Part IV focuses on curriculum research and improvement, paying particular attention to the roles of teachers, supervisors, administrators, and curriculum specialists in the process.

A practical, how-to guide to designing mixed methods studies. Combining the latest thinking about mixed methods research designs with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Second Edition of Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now covers six major mixed methods designs. Authors John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark walk readers through the entire research process, from formulating questions to designing, collecting data, and interpreting results and include updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from the social, behavioral, health, and education disciplines. New to This Edition: * Two new mixed methods designs--transformative and multiphase--are now covered. * New flowcharts detail the steps involved in conducting each of the six major mixed methods designs. * More detailed coverage of data collection decisions for each of the six major designs. * New topic coverage - The use of joint displays - Emerging discussion about validity - Newest thinking about the use of software in the process of mixed methods analysis * An example of a mixed method dissertation outline is now included in the set of guidelines for reporting mixed methods research in a proposal, dissertation, or journal article. * New and revised activities and exercises conclude each chapter. This text is intended for use in Intermediate/Advanced Research Methods, Mixed Methods, Research Design, and Social Research Methods courses across the social sciences.

Laurel Tanner examines closely the practices and policies of Dewey's Laboratory School from their inception to the current day. Dewey's Laboratory School: Lessons for Today provides a wealth of practical guidance on how schools today can introduce Deweyian reforms the way they were originally--and suc-cessfully--practiced. It is filled with fascinating excerpts from the school's teachers' reports and other original documents. It will be an indispensable text in graduate courses in foundations, curriculum and instruction, early childhood education, instructional supervision, and philosophy of education and for professors, research-ers, and general readers in these fields. Selected Topics: Dewey's Developmental Curriculum--An Idea for the Twenty-First Century * Dewey's School as a Learning Community * What Have We Learned from Dewey's School? * Looking at Reform the Dewey Way

"Once again Goodlad has his finger on the pulse of education. . . .Excellent reading for the professional educator." --Choice Goodlad picks up where he left off in Teachers for Our Nation'sSchools --providing the vision and rationale behind centers ofpedagogy that can bring schools and universities together in aclose, renewing relationship.

Raymond Callahan's lively study exposes the alarming lengths to which school administrators went, particularly in the period from 1910 to 1930, in sacrificing educational goals to the demands of business procedures. He suggests that even today the question still asked is: "How can we operate our schools?" Society has not yet learned to ask: "How can we provide an excellent education for our children?"

Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods.

This handbook not only presents the current status of research on significant topics in social education, but also includes discussion of formulating productive research programs. Topics include qualititative research; culturally diverse students and social studies; teacher competence; teaching and learning history; games and simulation in social studies education; writing for the social sciences and more.

"The first book of its kind, the Handbook of Research on Sport Psychology contains an extensive array of chapters on theories, research, and applications authored by a host of international experts." "This valuable resource not only covers what is presently known in sport psychology, but extends to the frontiers of investigation, where conclusions have yet to be drawn. The authors emphasize a comprehensive treatment of each research area cited and link findings and methods throughout the Handbook's entire research collection." "Ultimately, this book provides its readers with useful theoretical explanations for current findings in sport psychology and guides them to new areas of research activity." "The Handbook's forty-four chapters begin with a general orientation on research in sport psychology. The book goes on to cover a variety of specialized areas of research and influence in the field. The second section deals with assessment of skill acquisition, followed by a section on psychological characteristics and high-level performance. Another section deals with social-cognitive dimensions of motivation, leading to a discussion of research on popular psychological techniques that may enhance athletic performance." "Social factors such as socialization, moral psychology, and the impact of spectators on athletic performance are addressed, followed by a specific consideration of group structure, leadership, and group psychology. Also assessed are the connections between sport and life-span development, including age, gender, and enhancement of the quality of life. The coverage of specific research topics concludes with discussions on exercise and health psychology." "The Handbook goes on to explore research methodology in a stimulating section on psychometrics. Analyses of research paradigms and protocols typically used in sport psychology are provided, as well as suggestions on how to improve current research methods. The final section of the book addresses moral and professional-ethical issues in sport psychology and how they are being resolved today. Extensive bibliographies are appended to chapters throughout the book." "The Handbook of Research on Sport Psychology is an invaluable resource for every college and university library, sport psychologist, athlete, and coach. Sport psychology professors should also seriously consider the adoption of this text for their graduate classes and as a sourcebook for research in the field."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Jointly sponsored by the International Reading Assn. and the Natl. Council of Teachers of English, the Handbook contains some 70 original articles by authorities in the field of language arts. The articles are organized into five sections: theoretical bases for English language arts teaching, method

A survey of research in science education, compiled by researchers in this field. The handbook explores a wide spectrum of areas crucial to science education. Part I covers science teacher education, instructional strategies and laboratory instruction. Part II examines the epistemological foundations of cognition, alternative concepts in science and the effective dimension of learning. Part III examines problem solving research in each of the major science disciplines: biology, chemistry, physics and earth science.

Thesis (Ed. D.)--School of Education, Stanford University, January 1961.

With his books Horace's Compromise and Horace's School, Theodore R. Sizer tapped into a wellspring of concern about education and drew the admiration of reviewers, who called him " one of the finest writers among educators." Now, when the need for educational reform has never been greater, Sizer offers a firsthand and much-needed look at what works - and what doesn't - in the American high school. Horace's Hope, the third and final volume in his trilogy, is Sizer's personal meditation on the state of high school education today. How can teachers aspire to innovative teaching when it takes tremendous energy just to get through the day? How can schools revamp curricula when resources are scarce and class attendance hovers around fifty percent? In Horace's Hope, Sizer revisits classrooms in America's schools, some of them members of his Coalition of Essential Schools, and assesses the changes over the past decade and a half. While some schools are disappointingly unchanged, others have ma

Not since Feldman and Newcomb's 1969 landmark book, The Impact of College on Students, has there been a more comprehensive resource available on what is known about the effects of college on students. In this book, Pascarella and Terenzini take up where Feldman and Newcomb left off, synthesizing 20 more years of empirical research and over 2,400 studies, distilling what is known about how students grow and changes as a consequence of attending college.

The Fifth Edition of the best-selling How to Conduct Surveys guides readers through the process of developing their own rigorous surveys and evaluating the credibility of surveys created by others. Offering practical, step-by-step advice and written in the same clear and accessible style as her other works, author Arlene Fink centres her guidance on choosing the appropriate type of survey, writing survey questions and responses, formatting the survey, deciding on the characteristics and numbers of respondents to include, determining the frequency of surveying respondents, and analyzing and reporting the results. The Fifth Edition pays particular attention to the internet and online surveys, considering best practices and techniques for developing a thorough and effective survey.

Dissertation

"First published 20 years ago, "A Place Called School "is the revolutionary account of the largest on-scene study of U.S. schools ever conducted. Carried on over four years, trained investigators entered more than 1,000 classrooms nationwide to talk to teachers, students, administrators, parents, and other community members. The result is this report. Written by one of the nation's most astute and experienced educators, Goodlad's message of optimism and his agenda for improvement have only grown in importance since the book's original publication.

The Politics of the Textbook analyzes the political, economic and cultural factors that shape the production, distribution and reception of school texts.

Amid changing economic and social contexts, radical changes have occurred in public higher education policies over the past three decades. Public Policy and Higher Education provides readers with new ways to analyze these complex state policies and offers the tools to examine how policies affect students¿ access and success in college. Rather than arguing for a single approach, the authors examine how policymakers and higher education administrators can work to inform and influence change within systems of higher education using research-based evidence along with consideration of political and historical values and beliefs. Special Features: Case Studies¿allow readers to examine strategies used by different types of colleges to improve access and retention. Reflective Exercises¿encourage readers to discuss state and campus context for policy decisions and to think about the strategies used in a state or institution. Approachable Explanations¿unpack complex public policies and financial strategies for readers who seek understanding of public policy in higher education. Research-Based Recommendations¿explore how policymakers, higher education administrators and faculty can work together to improve quality, diversity, and financial stewardship. This textbook is an invaluable resource for graduate students, administrators, policymakers, and researchers who seek to learn more about the crucial contexts underlying policy decisions and college access.

Using in-depth qualitative interviews, authors Herbert J. Rubin and Irene S. Rubin have researched topics ranging from community redevelopment programs to the politics of budgeting and been energized by the depth, thoroughness, and credibility of what was revealed. They describe in-depth qualitative interviewing from beginning to end, from its underlying philosophy and assumptions to project design, analysis and write up. "This book is exactly what I was looking for in that it covers interviewing and analysis in depth."--Daphne John, Oberlin College "Students leave this book fully informed of the nuances and complexity of interviewing as well as excited about the promise interview research findings offer."--Hannah Britton, University of Kansas "The authors′ focus on the reflective process, question development, and procedural steps associated with qualitative research is rich and thorough."--Tracy M. Lara, Kent State University

The digital revolution has hit education, with more and more classrooms plugged into the whole wired world. But are schools making the most of new technologies? Are they tapping into the learning potential of today's Firefox/Facebook/cell phone generation? Have schools fallen through the crack of the digital divide? In Rethinking Education in the Age of Technology, Allan Collins and Richard Halverson argue that the knowledge revolution has transformed our jobs, our homes, our lives, and therefore must also transform our schools. Much like after the school-reform movement of the industrial revolution, our society is again poised at the edge of radical change. To keep pace with a globalized technological culture, we must rethink how we educate the next generation or America will be "left behind." This groundbreaking book offers a vision for the future of American education that goes well beyond the walls of the classroom to include online social networks, distance learning with "anytime, anywhere" access, digital home schooling models, video-game learning environments, and more.

A core text for the Social Foundations course, this book provides an analytic framework that shows how and why certain school-society issues first arose in this country and changed over time. It also contains readings at the end of each chapter, which the student critiques using the same analytic framework as the authors employ in the text. This edition will expand the treatment of educational minorities and women, and will further refine the section on the the professionalism of teaching. The third edition will also include contemporary issues such as school choice, charter schools and privitization. Other new coverage includes: the role of technology in the literacy chapter, current data on education and schools in the United States today, legal and extra-legal issues like school law, and extended case discussion of contemporary American Indian education.

Contents: Introduction -- Education as a science -- Education as an art -- Borrowed techniques insufficient -- Laws vs. Rules -- Science of education not independent -- No intrinsic educational science content --Special sources -- The last published words of John Dewey -- For the creation of a democractic society.

Behind the scenes, a revolution is taking place in primary and secondary education. Once thought sacrosanct, the principle of local lay control has come under growing attack. In the 1970s and 1980s, governors sought greater influence by promulgating academic standards and even taking over failing schools. Mayors soon followed, with some wresting control of struggling local school systems. Atop this, the president and Congress greatly extended their reach into U.S. classrooms with enactment of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, which requires annual reading and math tests in grades 3 through 8, tougher yardsticks to measure whether pupils are making sufficient progress, and penalties for schools that persistently fall short. The result is a spider's web of responsibility. It is difficult, if not impossible, to figure out where accountability lies. Not only have municipal, state, and federal authorities reasserted control over the separate education government that the nation long ago created, but an array of other institutions--including the courts, community-based organizations, and education management companies--are also deeply involved in school decisions. These trends have created a growing gap between those who make education policy and those responsible for the results. What's more, they have contributed to widespread confusion about how to fix public education. In Who's in Charge Here? some of the finest minds in education cut through the confusion to analyze key issues such as the Constitution's role in allocating responsibility for education, the pros and cons of growing federal control, how to ensure a supply of talented teachers for the underprivileged, the impact of the school-choice movement, and the expanding non-academic role of schools. Other chapters explore the history of U.S. education governance and propose principles for creating a new system that especially benefits the children who are most in need. The question of who should be in charge of America's schools is likely to occupy the nation for years to come. Based on extensive scholarship and practical experience, Who's in Charge Here? is an important contribution to this critical debate.

This book provides valuable insights into a dynamic structural change that is being experienced but not completely understood by educators and policymakers alike--the transfer of power from the local to the state and national levels. What will become of our public schools in this new era of leadership? The author traces the origins of this process, examines the implications, and considers where these changes might lead. This extremely timely volume: Explores the direction of education policy and the ways in which both policymakers and educators can adapt and provide leadership in this new landscape. Offers a concise, accessible summary of a multitude of specific programs and policies, helping us to think more systematically about the shifts in power relationships among education governance levels. Presents an outline of actions that can be taken at the local, state, and national levels to help facilitate better working relationships and to help improve schools. Examines the new federal role and recent federal legislation, including the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.