Research in the Disciplines–Research Skills Flipped Lesson (ENG 01:355:201:J3)
Step #3 Finding Statistics
- Scan the page.
- Watch the video, “Introduction to Finding & Using Statistics” answering the questions in the video.
- Prepare your answer for Discussion Question #3 which you will post in Canvas at the end of this lesson.
Background information has given you a general understanding of the issue. Statistics can provide evidence that a problem exists and describe its effects.
Take Note: As you search for evidence of the problem, you may come across examples of solutions.
IMPORTANT!: Please watch the video to the end when you see the "submit" button
Discussion Question #3
Identify a possible data source for your paper. What makes it an authoritative source for your topic?
International Resources
- The Association of Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
ARDA is a free source of online information related to American and international religion.One of the primary goals of the archive is to democratize access to academic information on religion by making this information as widely accessible as possible.The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA. There are over 1,000 data files included in the ARDA collection. - Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Statistics
ITU collects and disseminates vital data and carries out world-class research to track and make sense of digital transformation globally. - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
This is the largest repository of social science data in the world. Major datasets in ICPSR include the General Social Survey, World and European Values Survey, American National Election Studies, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, Health and Medical Care Archive, the International Archive of Education Data, and many more. - OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data. - UNdata
UNdata is a multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. The resource also includes estimates and projections. Areas of coverage are: agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade and tourism. - World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators is a complete and authoritative collection of annual statistics on countries, regions, and economic groupings of the world, as collected and presented by the World Bank. Data is sourced from national statistical organizations, World Bank's own data collection group, and other authoritative sources of information. Data series include extensive economic, demographic, social, environmental, educational, and cultural indicators.
National Data Resources
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
BJS's mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. - Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
DBASSE is part of The National Academies of Sciences Engineering & Medicine. It advances the behavioral and social sciences and their application to policy and practice. - National Center for Education Statistics
IES is the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education. IES is independent and non-partisan. - National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the U.S. population. - The National Renewable Energy Laboratory
NREL is a national laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, operated by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC. It advances the science and engineering of energy efficiency, sustainable transportation, and renewable power technologies. - Transportation Research Board
TRB is part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. - U.S. National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM serves as a national information resource for medical education, research, and service activities of Federal and private agencies, organizations, and institutions. - U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
USPTO is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
New Jersey Data Resources
- The State of New Jersey Departments & Agencies1. Go to above link & ask yourself: "Which agency would care about my topic?"
2. Visit the agency website to see if there is some connection to your topic and the responsibilities of the department or agency
3. Contact the appropriate department or agency by PHONE. Explain your project, and ask for the information you need. It is very easy to ignore an email but not a phone call. Several students have had success with this approach. Be respectful of the worker's time and have your questions prepared. If possible, have information sent to you so you can cite it in your work. - NJ State Police Uniform Crime Reporting UnitUCR provides most recent data on crimes voluntarily reported by local police departments. Not all towns and city police departments participate.
- NJ Data BookNJ Data Book provides historical statistics about New Jersey and the most current data available in a wide range of topic areas.
County Data
- County Health Rankings and RoadmapsThis site has a compilation of statistics about health and various economic and social factors affecting health.