Dubno - March 2022

Formal Paper Assignment #4

As noted on your syllabus, we will be spending the remainder of this course working on your final research project (worth 25% of your grade). I say project, because you will not only be handing in the final, 6-8 page research paper, but also steps that lead up to it. The purpose of this research project is to gain a deeper understanding of the concept of love by referring to outside sources, to learn to incorporate your voice/analysis with those of experts, and to practice employing MLA guidelines for citation and documentation. As with all the other papers you’ve written this semester, you are writing an argumentative, not an informative research paper.

Sources:

The novels and short stories about love (i.e. Pride and Prejudice, Bonjour Tristesse, I Live on Your Visits, The Lady With the Little Dog, Haruki Murakami’s The Second Bakery Attack etc.) remain the primary sources for this project, which means you need to use one of them in a significant way. While your paper needs to incorporate 3-4 outside secondary sources, you are required to find 4-6 sources in total. You may use any type of source in your paper; however, as part of your 4-6 sources, you are required to find at least one of each of the following:

● An article from the Rutgers library database, and

● A reputable internet site.

● You may also use a video documentary, a book, published journal, or newspaper, but I won’t require these.

In other words, you cannot find only 4-6 Internet sources, or only 4-6 database articles. I want you to find a variety of sources, which will help improve the diversity and credibility of your paper.

ON April 13th, please send me your project proposal with 250 word description.

Your topic proposal needs to be 250 words, and needs to address, in paragraph form, these questions, in whatever order you see fit:

● What topic have you chosen? (Please discuss the topic at some length.)

● Why did you choose it? Why does it interest you? What ideas do you have about the topic going into the research? What will you try to prove?

● Who cares? Why is it important for others to read about this topic?

● Include the important quotes (at least 3) from whatever primary source i.e. fiction work that pertain to the topic, and briefly explain how they’re relevant/important to the topic.

● Includes links from two credible, online sources*

Read “Where to Begin” for some guidance on beginning a research paper. *Read these on how I am defining a credible source: "General Guidelines" and “Evaluating Digital Sources.”

Be sure you do some preliminary research before choosing a topic to be sure that information on your topic exists.

Researching:

The next step will be to conduct research and find your 4-6 sources. After we have provided a tutorial on using the Rutgers Library database, you will find at least two sources from the database, write a brief summary of them, and tell me how you will use the sources in your paper. This annotated bibliography will be due on April 25.

In your annotated bibliography be sure to reference both the content of the article and the methodology the writer uses. i.e. this is a feminist analysis of Ovid that discusses Ovid’s use of rhyming to convey feminism.

This is a philosophical text written in the existentialist tradition that discusses women's position is society and the social construction of gender.

Read “Evaluating Bibliographic Citations” for help.

Outlining, Drafting, and Revising:

Once you’ve completed your research you should have focused your topic into a thesis. This thesis, as well as a typed outline and Works Cited, is due on April 27. Detailed instructions will be given on how the outline should be written. Read “Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing” (Purdue Owl) and “Avoiding Plagiarism: Overview, Is It Plagiarism? and “Safe Practices” (Purdue Owl)

On Monday, May 2nd you need to come to class with a partial, typed first draft (3-4 pages) for peer review.

The final 6-8-page paper is due on May 5. (We do not have class on this day.)

In order to get full credit for this research paper, you MUST complete each one of the preceding steps thoroughly and on time.

The Academic Integrity Policy will be strictly enforced; therefore, no unauthorized assistance will be tolerated.

LIST OF TEXTS WE’VE READ 

· Ovid’s Ars Amatoria Book I, Parts I and II

· Bocaccio’s Decameron Story 3.10 and 4.2 or 4.9 (canvas)

· Andreas Capellanus The Art of Courtly Love

· Bonjour Tristesse by Sagan

· “Freud’s Theories of Love in the light of Later Developments” Martin S Bergmann.

· “A Lover’s Discourse” by Roland Barthes

· “She Walks in Beauty” Lord Byron (Canvas)

· “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud” and “Nutting” by William Wordsworth

· Pride and Prejudice

· “The Lady with the Little Dog” by Anton Chekhov (Canvas)

· “Elegy Before Death” by Edna St. Vincent Millay (Canvas)

· The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir, Introduction (Canvas)

· "You’re" by Sylvia Plath (Canvas)

· “Having a Coke with You” by Frank O’Hara

· What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver (Canvas)

· “The Second Bakery Attack” by Haruki Murakami (Canvas)

· “The Orange” by Wendy Cope (Canvas)

· The Dialectic of Sex by Shulamith Firestone “Love” (Canvas)

· Selections from Matthew Arnold (Canvas)

· “Bocaccio and the Boundaries of Love” Louise George Clubb (Canvas) (through p 192)

· Bell Hooks, All About Love

Example Outline

Question: Why is love at the center of Pride & Prejudice?

Thesis: Love is an excellent device to show class division. The novel allows a wider audience to read about– and empathize with– characters from different classes.

I. Pride and Prejudice various classes shown

a. “QUOTE FROM BOOK” p. 4

b. What I have to say about it

II. Example 2 : topic sentence

a. Quote

b. Thoughts