Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry Seminar - Fall 2021 (21:160:453 / 26:160:601): Nov. 3

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Huixin He's class - Fall 2021

Web of Science & Scopus

Learning objectives:

Students will learn how to search Web of Science and Scopus. Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. execute an effective search in the Web of Science index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  2. execute an effective search in the Scopus index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  3. export results from the Web of Science and Scopus indexes/databases to EndNote online/basic/Web
  4. compare and contrast the 4 indexes/databases they’ve studied thus far: SciFinder, Reaxys, Web of Science, and Scopus

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**

For additional information about Web of Science and Scopus, including where to go for help or to access training, look at the boxes below.

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, among others, with coverage strongest in the sciences. This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1900-present

Scopus

Scopus offers coverage in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles), health sciences (6,800+ titles), life sciences (4,300+ titles), plus social sciences and humanities (5,300+ titles). It is a citation and abstract database with over 50 million records. Patents from 5 offices are included. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1996-present

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.